Free Shipping On Electric Generators (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Generac GP8000E Portable Generators Gas Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$999.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,099.00
(as of 11:47 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac 6954 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (23)
High Quality (15)
Price (13)
I'd Buy It Again (11)
Reliable (9)
Cons
Heavy (5)
it does not have any (1)
Price (1)
Expensive (1)
Loud (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike, the Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10763 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

We like the Generac 8000 watt portable generator for four reasons.

1. Electric Start
Generators are often hard to start with a recoil rope. This Generac generator comes conveniently equipped with an electric start button and a battery. Simply press the button, and it starts like a charm.

2. It's Affordable

3. Low Tone Muffler
This feature reduces the noise level. If you have ever been near a portable generator while it's running, it can be very loud. This keeps the noise down.

4.... more
Mike Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
23063
manufacturers review image

Ben B
Marketing Communications Coordinator
From The Manufacturer
Get The Power You Need Where You Need It Most
Easily power electrical loads when you're at home or on the road with Generac's GP8000E portable generator. Featuring electric start capabilities and an integrated Start/Run/Off switch for easy operation control, the GP8000E is easy to use. The unit's Low Oil Level Shutdown mechanism helps to safeguard Generac's OHV engine from potential damage, while covered outlets keep receptacles clean and usable in the most rugged working conditions. The unit's hour meter also helps track maintenance... more
Was this review helpful?
1424
L B
Wilmington, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/6/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceeded Expectations
With proper cycling, powered both 2.5 ton split unit and 2.0 ton package unit simultaneously. Product performed exactly as described. Could not have been easier to assemble (10 minutes), add oil, add gas, connect battery, start generator.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
L Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
50
John Y.
Paw Paw, IL
Total Helpful Votes
26 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Made In China!
Apparently this is a new model from Generac. I had purchased a generator from them in 1999 and was pleased with it. I was always told, "you will pay more because its American made but they are worth it". The engine on that one still runs like a champ but there is no electrical output. The repair place told me Generac no longer makes the replacement parts and due to the fact I really wanted a higher output generator I decided to purchase this one. I felt cheated when I saw on the box... more
John Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
2611
John D M.
Youngsville, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/29/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed
This generator is everything favorable previous comments were postedby others...packing could have been eggs. Visible quality, just touched the starter and it fired up.....and stayed up..Good buy ..Oh ! couldn't believe how quiet it runs..
Thanks
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
John Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Beverly G.
Berlin, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/29/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
Very dependable product. Starts easily every time. Powered our home in the Caribbean, including 1 AC unit,fridge, ceiling fans, washer, lights, and water pump, without a problem. Very happy with this generator and would recommend highly.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Beverly Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike M.
Waverly, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/14/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Right
Purchased for my parents replacing a 20 year old 4500 watt that still ran but wanted just a little more power. Have not use it yet for an outage (which is good). Received gen in a timely fashion, easy to put together, added oil and fuel. She fired right up first time. Gen is built well sold with features. Want have long range use / review until next storm. But as far as the purchase, A#1, very courteous and professional service delivered right to the door. 2nd to none!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, Durable
Cons: Solid rubber tires would have been nice
Mike Recommends This Generac Product
Mike's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Bought 2, very pleased at this time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel A.
South Lyon, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/16/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gp8000e Generator
Generator came within days, some assembly required. Charged the electric start battery added oil and gas the generator started on the first try. I am very happy the unit is made well.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Daniel Recommends This Generac Product
Daniel's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good customer service answered the questions I had about the generator before purchasing . I would use them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael S.
Gadsden, AL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/6/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best On The Market
I bought a Generac because it's the best on the market. I fired it up when I got it and it purrs like a kitten. Just received the kit for change over when power goes off. This also increases the value of my home when we sell. Thanks Electric Generators Direct...................
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations
Michael Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeremy B.
Mechanicsville, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/3/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
By Far The Best Generator!!
Started right up and power was there in a snap!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, Quiet
Jeremy Recommends This Generac Product
Jeremy's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Electric Generators Direct is by far the best!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Billy S.
Nicholls, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/28/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Generator
Easy assembly cranked right up!!
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Billy Recommends This Generac Product
Billy's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Notified me when item was back in stock. Shipped quick."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Wayne M.
Grovetown, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/12/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Generator On The Market
Gased it up, poured in the oil, hit the starter, cranked right up. Ran for 3 days during power outage, no problems at all.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, Reliable
Wayne Recommends This Generac Product
Wayne's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience, I will buy again. Also I have a 5500 Generac."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin H.
Cape Coral, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/13/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator!
Great generator! Fast delivery and great price!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Quiet, Easy To Store
Kevin Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert T.
Murrells Inlet, SC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/10/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful Generator
With more storms coming every year I thought it was time for a generator. I looked into a standby unit and decided to go with a portable Generac 8000. This thing has plenty of start up power and power to run about anything you need to. I had a manual transfer switch installed and it also is a Generac. I have run the unit a few hours to get some break in time on it. Looks like ready to go if we get a power loss again. I would recommend this unit to anyone. Price was also right and delivered to... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Heavy
Robert Recommends This Generac Product
Robert's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have already recommended buying direct from Electric Generators Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tony H.
Macclenny, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/6/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For Emergency
Ordered for hurricane protection. Price could not be beat. Item arrived on time. Very well made. Called customer service with some questions and they were very helpful and usa based. Two year warranty is another plus. Free shipping and no tax win win. Order today.....you will not be disapointed.
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Features, Durable
Cons: none
Tony Recommends This Generac Product
Tony's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Could no be beat."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gary M.
Cantonment, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/6/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Best Bang For The Buck
This is a very good portable generator for those moments when you're about to lose everything in the freezer and are in the need of running a small a/c unit to keep you cool in those hot Florida temperatures while waiting for the power to come back on. Definitely a life saver, 'literally' for us elderly folks.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: N/A
Gary Recommends This Generac Product
Gary's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very fast service and reliability in getting the products out during moments of crisis when nobody else for 100 miles can meet your needs."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph D.
Middleburg, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/5/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gp8000e Did An Outstanding Job
The price was very good and the shipping was great (got here just before the hurricane. Easy set up took about 30 minutes, by myself, after reading the manual. Started right up did every thing I needed and ran quieter than most gens. Very good on gas, could run least 12 hours on one tank.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Joseph Recommends This Generac Product
Joseph's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website very easy to use. Very fast shipping very well packaged."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Brian J.
Navarre, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/5/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Can't Beat It
Splashed a little gas in it and turned the key. Voila! Electricity. Can't beat that!
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Brian Recommends This Generac Product
Brian's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I called on the phone to ask questions and OM Gosh! The guy handled everything and it was in my driveway in a few days. Can't beat it!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jerome D.
Brunswick, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/29/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No More Hurricanes
The Generac GP8000E done a great job. For three days after Hurricane Irma past it ran day and night only to shut it down to check the oil. I highly recommend the product. Only regret is I wish I had bought a large one.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: No Issues
Jerome Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James C.
Earl Park, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/17/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
We Now Have Peace Of Mind!
Delivered promptly. Easy set up . Started right up. Bought it to power my two story house in case of outage. My electrician was very impressed with it and said I will have plenty of power.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again
James Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
33
Penelope C.
Cope, SC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/13/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Great Product, Stands Up To The Job
Great product, easy for the wife use with the electric start. Would recommend this product to anyone.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Penelope Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
66
Chuck C.
Battle Creek, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/18/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy With Generac And Electric Generators Direct
First time making a major purchase over the internet and dealing with Electric Generators Direct (EGD). Both went off without a hitch. Have not had to use generator yet, but have been running with and without load to get some run time in. Would recommend EGD to family or friends.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Price
Chuck Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
12
Jay F.
Rexburg, ID
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/21/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good. I'm Going To Like This One
So far, very pleased. Starts instantly, runs smoothly. I think it will be great.
Pros: Easy To Use
Jay Recommends This Generac Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Jay,
Please keep in mind that any modification to the fuel system will void the warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
13
Charles O.
Ponca City, OK
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/12/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Value.
Worked great right out of the box. Started right up. Louder than I expected. Good value for the money. Perfect for my needs as house power backup for furnaces, fridge and freezer.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Price
Cons: Loud
Charles Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
35
James P.
Hermitage, TN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/29/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Generator
I oiled it, guided it, connected the battery and it started in about 2 seconds. Great unit.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Quiet, Reliable
James Recommends This Generac Product
James's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No issues! No problems. Delivery guy was great!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
14
Ronald R.
Denham Springs, LA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/7/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Generator
I gave you a detailed the last time but it didn't except it. I figured since I have done electrical for over 30 years but I'm not typing all this again.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price
Cons: it does not have any
Ronald Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
15
Mitchell K.
Franklin, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/7/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Product Great Questionnaire Not So
Easy pleasey so far.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, Easy To Store
Mitchell Recommends This Generac Product
Mitchell's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy- this questionnaire to too difficult to submit"
 more
Was this review helpful?
05
William H.
Buckley, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/26/16
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Loved Everything But The Price
We bought our generator a few months back and have not had occasion to use it other than to start it up, with all the power off, and it worked great.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Easy To Store
Cons: Price
William Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
29
Paul H.
Benson, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/27/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Handsome, Lightweight And Simple. I Take Comfort In Having This
Ran for a short time. Not actually used.
Pros: Features, Quiet, Light Weight, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Paul Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
312
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac 6954 portable generators gas generator reviews.Compare our Generac GP8000E ratings. Find the Generac 6954 portable generators gas generator that is right for you.