Free Shipping On Electric Generators (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Champion 42436 Portable Generators Gas Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$219.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$275.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$243.82
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$243.82
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$229.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Champion 42436 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
High Quality (3)
Price (3)
Reliable (2)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Cons
Difficult To Use (1)
No Cons (1)
Heavy (1)
90% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
11 Reviews  Sort by 
 
manufacturers review image

Champion Power Equipment
Champion Power Equipment
From The Manufacturer
Champion Power Equipment 42436 1200 Watt Multi Purpose Portable
The Champion Power Equipment 42436 1200 Watt Multi Purpose Portable Generator is the perfect “What if?” generator when you’re in a pinch or need “just enough” power – RV-use, camping, tailgaiting, boating, hunting, weekend trips, family vacations and small jobs around the house. The generator produces 1500 starting watts and 1200 running watts. This unit also makes a great solution for backup power during an emergency and will power the essential items you need in a power outage – lights,... more
Was this review helpful?
42
Wesley B.
Palm Coast, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/4/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Seems To Work Well
It is easy to start. It is not too loud for the cost. It was able to run 2 TVs ,3 ceiling fans, a coffee maker ,a mini fridge, several lights all at the same time. With the coffee maker and the mini fridge off it could run a full size fridge, or a small deep freeze. It used about a gallon of gas every 3 hours and the tank is only about a gallon and a half so about every 4 hours you need to refuel it. As in any small engine it is best to run non alcohol gas with Stabil mixed in it as well as run... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Wesley Recommends This Champion Product
Wesley's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was able to.order it on Monday night and get it by Friday."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin M.
Cape Canaveral, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/4/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Irma
I ordered my generator Sunday before hurricane Irma and elected generators direct delivered my new generator in just five days just before she hit Florida. After our power went out, our new generator supplied power to our refrigerator and fans during the next two days. Great little generator. Thanks.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Kevin Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
Mattydale, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/5/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Thing
Has all the power I need for the small things I do with it. Quiet, and a very good price.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Light Weight, High Quality
David Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Ralph M.
Jamestown, TN
Total Helpful Votes
24 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
4000 Champion Gen.
Got my first CHAMPION GEN several years back. Before starting it, I gave it a good inspection: oil level, and nothing jarred loose. Gassed her up short pull on choke, second pull start every time. EXCELLENT run time, 10 hr. plus med output 10 hr minus maximum output.. Run time very good. Start and run 10 min. every 6 to 8 weeks.

"GEN STOLEN," replaced with another Champion 4000 Electric start, same things apply for this one
Run time, craftsmanship, EXCELLENT! Electric start... more
Pros: Quiet, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No Cons
Ralph Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
243
Mike
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1500wt Champion
I got so tired of small gas lawn tools i.e. gas blower, pole saws, hedge trimmers etc, mixing gas , flooding, hard to start. With 20 acres and a 1/4 driveway on the side of a mountain, I use EZGO utility vehicle to haul tools and get around. Got so tired of loading the backpack blower, trimmers in and out having to crank them ever time and with those small motor one pull too many with the choke on and the equipment will not crank. Picked up this little 1500 watt Champion, it sits in the bed... more
Mike Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
130
John T.
Pearce, AZ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/5/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My Champion!
This is a slick little genarator. no frills, one outlet, 1200 watts and runs really smoothly with GREAT milage. it will be perfect for what i'll use it for.
John Recommends This Champion Product
John's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great! Thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
John T.
Shelby, AL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/20/15
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1200 Watt Generator
This generator is easy start, runs about 8 hours. It is the right size for my flea market sites. very pleased with the generater.
John Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
103
Donald S.
Graysville, AL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/20/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator Great Price
I have two generators a 4000 watt and a 8000 watt I needed something small to run a parade float. I looked at Honda and they are very proud of them. This generator did the job greatly and it runs pretty quiet for the forth of the price of a Honda of equal wattage.
Donald Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Robert I.
Princeton, LA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/5/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Generator
Break-in was carefully monitored, one hour long session and two 30 minute sessions. It performed as it should. It starts very easily and runs smooth. It doesn't use much fuel. It's not too heavy and not excessively loud. Time will tell about long-term reliability, but for now, it's just right for my needs.
Robert Recommends This Champion Product
Robert's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent communications, fast shipping, great price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Susan B.
Carson, NM
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/6/15
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
28
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Won't Start
I cannot turn this thing on. It takes a strong man to do it and even then more than 5 pulls on the cord to get it going.
I don't have that kind of strength.
Pros: Price
Cons: Difficult To Use
Susan Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Susan,
Although most of the portable generators are fairly easy to start there may be a few that are harder for some people than others. I recommend calling the manufacturer to see if there could be a solution to the hard starting and to see if they offer an electric start to add onto the generator. The number to Champion is (877) 338-0999.
more
Susan's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great site, great prices. But I can't start this el cheapo generator. My nearest neighbor is a ways off, so in emergencies I'm still stuck without power."
 more
Was this review helpful?
1016
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Champion 42436 portable generators gas generator reviews.Compare our Champion 42436 ratings. Find the Champion 42436 portable generators gas generator that is right for you.