Free Shipping On Electric Generators (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Generac RS5500 Portable Generators Gas Generators Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$699.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac 6672 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (11)
Price (10)
High Quality (7)
Features (6)
Easy To Store (5)
Cons
Unreliable (2)
Needs noise suppressor (1)
Little loud, but managea... (1)
Loud (1)
95% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
19 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike, the Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10740 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

Generac RS5500 5500 Watts comes with PowerDial. This convenient feature streamlines the start-up process by not having separate run, fuel or choke controls. This eliminates the search for separate controls during an emergency.

This model comes with a 6.7 Gallon fuel tank that allows for up to 11 hours of run time at load and comes with a 20-foot 30-Amp convenience cord that splits your power from one cord into 4 outlets.

Great features for a great price.
Mike Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
30763
Richard H.
Kingman, AZ
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Generator
I bought this because I was moving to the mountains where there's no electricity and I needed a generator while I setup a solar system to power my home. Needless to say it's getting a workout, now I didn't get carried away but I am using a microwave, furnace, refrigerator, water heater, lights and home entertainment system complete with a DVR. I've learned to be conservative with my electric needs but this generator has, is running like a champ. I keep the oil changed regularly and use Dura... more
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality
Richard Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
124
Peter K.
Iron Mountain, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/15/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not A Happy Customer
Everything came in and no damage, filled with gas and oil and -1- pull it started right up and ran perfect, then I plugged in a drill to try it and nothing, I had no voltage any where. I tried everything, called Generac people 2 times and nothing worked, I had to bring it to a Generac warranty center and see what is wrong with it. Dropped it off and they said they are 3 weeks behind. So I have a new generator and it is at the warranty center for who knows for how long.
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Unreliable
Peter Recommends This Generac Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Peter,
Sorry to hear that you're having trouble with your generator. Hopefully the problem is minor and the Warranty center will have it fixed for you soon.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Peter,
While we are disappointed to learn of your unfortunate experience, we completely understand your frustration. All things considered, we are glad to know that you have taken the unit to one of our independent authorized service providers for applicable warranty coverage. If you have any questions about the product, its warranty policy or alternative servicing options in your local area, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722); we are available 24/7.
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Marc B.
Reisterstown, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/4/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Disappointed
Would not start until I disconnected low oil sender, not sure about all in one knob hopefully it will hold up over time, mat be I'm just old school but think I would rather turn gas on and choke and kill switch myself.
Pros: Price
Cons: Unreliable
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Marc,
Sorry to hear that you're having issues with your generator. Generac provides a 2-Year warranty on this model. I would suggest taking it to a service center to have the issues resolved. You can find your local Generac dealer by contacting Generac directly @ 888-436-3722.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert Y.
Williamsburg, KS
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/20/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement For Older Generac
Decided to get another generator since my Generac was getting old-early 2000's. This is the upgrade of the same model. The old version still starts w/1or 2 pulls and runs and works like it should. The new model has a much easier start procedure with a dial and no extra moves to hook up the fuel tank. The handle was a great addition as the old one has wheels, but is a little difficult to move around.

After I got the wheels and handle attached, oil and fuel added I gave it a test run. Started... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Fast, Easy To Store
Robert Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Kevin D.
Suffield, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/24/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Generator
I looked around for awhile and I stayed with Generac due to the name brand..I am very pleased with the unit, especially the easy controls that my wife has no problem using as well. The service from EGD was very good they shipped the generator to me in a very short time and the delivery company put it in my garage without hesitation..Highly recommend the product and EGD..
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, Reliable
Cons: Little loud, but manageable
Kevin Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Richard S.
Lancaster, SC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/11/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
Very impressed with the quality of this product. After assembly and topping off the oil and fuel, started on first pull. The best feature is the choke, run and shut off all by a single controller
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Richard Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
84
Jon G.
Harbor Springs, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/9/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just The Generator I Was Looking For
Product arrived on schedule, properly crated and in excellent condition. Simple assembly took about 20 minutes. I added gas and it started on the third pull. No problems with this very nice unit.
Pros: Price, Durable, Easy To Use, Features
Jon Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Charles H.
Hunters, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/17/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Portable Generator
The General 5500 watt portable generator is a replacement for my Gererac 4000 watt unit I purchased in 1995, which gave-out this year. This is why I purchases the new 5500 Generac.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Features, Reliable
Cons: Loud, Needs noise suppressor
Charles Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Carl B.
Louisburg, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/5/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Generator
Great generator, easy assembly, after filling it with oil and gas. One pull it was running, the quality made me feel I made no mistake choosing this generator
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Carl Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Bob H.
Polk City, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/17/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Made, Excellent Product
So reassuring to have this generator on hand for the next storm. Excellent quality, very reliable.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Features, Easy To Store
Bob Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
31
William M.
Grant, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/13/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thanks I Love It
Excellent value & Great Product!! Thanks Again! I will definitely recommend it to anyone!
Pros: Price, High Quality, Durable, I'd Buy It Again
William Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Rene R.
Baton Rouge, LA
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Product Ever
Put gas and oil in it and it started by itself. Not really first crank and it started. I then tried two 110 air-conditioners and it ran for one hour with no problem. As a matter of fact it look like it could take more. Very pleased with just generator .
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Store
Rene Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Phyllis C.
Coats, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/4/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
As a single female, wanted a product that I could start on my own. After researching decided on a Generac. Brother helped me assemble and it started on the first try. Fast shipping. Ordered on a Monday and received three days later.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Phyllis Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles W.
Auburn, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/3/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Backup Ac Power Supply For Home Use
I recently decided to purchase a generator for occasional home use as a back up generator. The unit shipped within 1 day of my online order confirmation. It arrived intact within 3 days and offloaded at my home with the lift gate truck I had requested at the time of the order.

The unit required minor assembly of a wheel kit, and handle which took about 10 minutes with the recommended hand tools suggested in the directions. The unit shipped with the generator oil that was required prior... more
Charles Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
153
Keith Q.
Winder, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/10/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Starter
Gives me what I wanted. Easy start and shut off. No fuel valve to mess with....it's all controlled with one knob.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
Keith Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
133
Walter F.
Sugar Grove, NC
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding Generator
On July 9th this year (2016) we here in Sugar Grove, North Carolina had a storm cell come through our area with 65 to 75 mile an hour winds that felled trees and downed many power lines. We of course had no power, this was on a Friday and it lasted for three days. I was quite worried about all the food in our refrigerator and the freezer, not to mention that we had no water source due to our well pump not on line. I work every weekend as a supervisor at a long term care facility and saw the... more
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, Price
Walter Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
1710
Victor P.
Valley Stream, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/3/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Pull
The Generac showed up as promised, I unloaded it, put the wheels and handle on. Filled it up with gas and oil.
Set the knob to start, pulled the cord and it started right up. I was amazed it started that easy. Great generator, would highly recommend this generator
Victor Recommends This Generac Product
Victor's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great site, gave me all the info in easy to understand language."
 more
Was this review helpful?
104
Arthur K.
Buffalo, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/7/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Machine
One pull out of the box. It's running. Easy to handle. Good service all the way around.
Arthur Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac 6672 portable generators gas generator reviews.Compare our Generac RS5500 ratings. Find the Generac 6672 portable generators gas generator that is right for you.