Free Shipping On Electric Generators (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Electric Generators Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Generac 6515 Portable Gas Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$949.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$949.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$949.00
(as of 08:02 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$949.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$1,099.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Generac 6515 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (17)
Price (15)
I'd Buy It Again (10)
Features (6)
Durable (6)
Cons
Heavy (8)
Loud (5)
Unreliable (2)
Expensive (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
92% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
26 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike, the Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
9622 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

These GP6500 generators run like a champs. Very solidly built at an affordable cost. You can find cheaper generators, but no where near the quality of Generac.

This is our biggest seller during national disasters such as hurricanes as it will keep all of your essentials running. If you are concerned with making it through a storm without a flooded basement or a fridge full or spoiled food, this is the generator for you.

The large gas tank allows for up to 10 hours of run time when the... more
Mike Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
8441
manufacturers review image

Ben B.
Marketing Consumer Representative
From The Manufacturer
Gp6500e- Reliable And Easy To Start
Generacís GP6500E portable generator provides power on the go at the push of a button. Its single-touch electric start feature makes start-up easier than ever, and with 54.2 amps provided at 120v, the unit is more than capable of powering a variety of electrical loads. The low-oil level shutdown feature helps to prevent engine damage in case you forget to check the built-in hour meter for maintenance intervals, and its heavy duty, never-flat wheels make the unit easily portable. The GP6500E is... more
Was this review helpful?
149
Edward D.
Manahawkin, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/2/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Outstanding
I decided to get a jump on the upcoming hurricane season by getting a new generator, I already have two 4000 watt units that I'm giving to my children who own homes, so the GP6500E is for me, dealing with electronic generator direct could not have been easier, and the shipping was super fast, did I mention the price,the cost was approx $100.00 less than the other places I looked. And shipping was free and no tax, so it was a win win for me.

The generator arrived today, took a total of 15... more
Edward Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Dan T.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/14/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2017
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Had Three Weeks....cannot Get Needed Part...have Not Started It
Called Generac. Fuse is bad. They said they were going to send promptly. I have not received it yet. Cannot start with electric start.
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Lousy fact support
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Dan,
Very sorry to hear you're having issues with generator. Since you're already been in contact with Generac about the fuse, I would suggest following up with them. If you're still having issue, please contact service@electricgeneratorsdirect.com or give us a call @ 1 (800) 800-3317
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dan,
We are sorry to learn of your frustration. Please know that we do not sell parts factory-direct. If you would like to obtain parts immediately, please know they can be acquired through an independent authorized service provider in your local area. To locate an independent authorized service provider near you, click here: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?cid=frm-105-ab.

If you have any other comments, questions or concerns, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gary H.
Easton, KS
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/29/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Gp6500e
So far the generator seems ok, but I started the unit twice and one of those times the starter did not engage properly ( like the starter drive itself was bad!) I will have to see what it does in the near future. Not to sure that i like the metal fuel tank for the long run, corrosion ETC. I also did not like the fact that the oil supplied with the unit was not marked as to the viscosity of the oil!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Fast
Cons: Loud, Bad Instructions, Packaging, exhaust system
Gary Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James M.
Penfield, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/18/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great So Far
I received this unit yesterday, free shipping to my driveway was great. The unit assembled easily and took about 40 minutes. The instructions included were clear and easy to understand and follow. I tested it under load for about 2 hours before I lost daylight and it performed fine. It started right away and it is much quieter than I had expected, given some of the other write ups. I will continue to test it for another 4 or 5 hours and then replace the oil and put it in storage until our... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Price, High Quality
Cons: No battery charging while running, No way of knowing if battery needs charging
James Recommends This Generac Product
James's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy and straight forward. Delivery was great. I will definitely be buying from them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Steve H.
Clinton, TN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/22/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
We Shall See......
Great generator. Great brand reputation.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Loud, Will not self charge the battery, Battery arrived dead and defective
Steve Recommends This Generac Product
Steve's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The battery arrived dead and would not accept a charge. The 3 dollar charger that was included was outputting over 19 volts and I suspect that is what killed the battery. I have replaced both and the generator starts every time like a champ. Power Equipment has indicated that will reimburse me for the cost of both....stay tuned."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Michael L.
Middletown, RI
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Portable Generator
It's in and out of the shop. It's in the shop now. I do everything right. New gas, cleaner, tune up, Oil change. It's good when running. If you have a good one .Not all are good. I try everything to maintain it. Four batteries and forget the pull start you have to be Superman.
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy, Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Expensive
Was this review helpful?
32
D R
S, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/23/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Time Will Tell
Fairly easy to set up. A second person helps. Bought for the electric start. Started right up. Ran good. Have not used yet so really hard to give good rating. Hopefully electric start will work when needed.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy, Loud, Need better way of charging battery.
D Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Craig P.
Harrisburg, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/28/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gen 6500
Great product.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Craig Recommends This Generac Product
Craig's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Love this generator!! When it comes to performance, it's a beast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert S.
Yukon, OK
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/20/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
After assembly of legs, handle and rear wheels, I added the enclosed oil, then added non-ethonal gas, hit the starter button and it fired right up. 4-weeks later, just to be safe, I hit the starter button and again it fired right up. This product works great.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Robert Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David G.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/24/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
I bought this generator about a month-and-a-half ago from Electric Generators Direct. About four days until it was delivered very professional service. My grandson and I assembled the generator in about 15 minutes. Put gas in it, it fired up and ran just like I expected. I highly recommend Electric Generators Direct for any of your generator needs.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Loud
David Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Linda R.
Ballard, WV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/29/17
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy With The Product
It was purchased for electrical back up as well as farm work. So far it has proved to be dependable.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, Easy To Store
Linda Recommends This Generac Product
Linda's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was simple to order and they staff was very helpful and friendly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bernard F.
Sparta, WI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/26/17
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
From Ordering To Delivery To Operation Has All Been Smooth
It starts quickly with the push of a button which is much appreciated by the early morning turkey hunters. Is more efficient than smaller KW generators that I have. Continued high performance in cold weather deer season and beyond will be the deciding factor as to whether I would buy it again.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Bernard Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph P.
Windsor Mill, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/23/17
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
Great deal ! Could not be happier with my purchase.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Features
Cons: None
Joseph Recommends This Generac Product
Joseph's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great buying experience. Value, service, shipping all aspects of buying this generator was fabulous."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
William S.
Temperance, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/20/17
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ped Generators
The whole process with PED was excellent, the generator works great and the delivery company was very helpful and friendly. I would gladly do business with them again.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, Exceeded Expectations
William Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dean W.
Rush, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/18/17
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Product Looks Great
I received the generator on the day it was scheduled to arrive, Arrived in the packaging without any damage. Unpacked it and put it together. Have it ready to use but have not started it. This is a backup generator when needed so I haven't even put gas in it. My neighbor has the same model and I helped him out his together and started it. Runs great and fairly quiet. Highly recommend this model if you can catch it on sale.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Quiet
Cons: Heavy
Dean Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert S.
Yukon, OK
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/20/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
After an hour or so of assembly, I added the provided, poured in gas, hit the electric starter and it fired right up and ran beautifully. Also much easier to manuver around than my old one.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Price
Cons: Heavy
Robert Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas K.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/19/17
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Experience All Around
Can't beat the price, free shipping, quick delivery.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Price
Cons: Electric start could be a bit better quality but not a deal break
Thomas Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jaime A.
Rio Hondo, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/16/17
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Product, Very Impressed
Very impressed with gen. Works like a charm. Thank you so much, looking forward to buying more items.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Jaime Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John L.
Middletown, DE
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/26/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Got It Today
Just go this puppy today.......assembly was a breeze. Fueled it up and it started right up without the least hesitation.....as if it was saying, I been here and done that. I love the electric starter. Ran it for two hours and hooked up some electric yard tools and it ran them perfectly fine. I grabbed my electric meter and it was putting out 123 volts out of the standard outlets....better then the outlet in my house on utility electric which I tested my meter on first which was reading 118... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: on the loud side, thus it would be a challenge camping
John Recommends This Generac Product
John's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordering and delivery was smooth as can be from ElectricGeneratorsDirect.com.......Thank You!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mace G.
New Columbia, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/12/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Generator
Love it, have used it twice in storms and it runs perfect...
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Mace Recommends This Generac Product
Mace's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Wonderful experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Donald M.
Dearborn, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/25/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Generator, But A Bit Loud
The Generator was easy to assemble and started right up after the oil was installed. Quality looks good and it has the power and features we wanted. I went from a Honda to this unit, so it seems really loud to me.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, Durable
Cons: Heavy, Loud
Donald Recommends This Generac Product
Donald's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"The buying experience was easy and quick."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Mark S.
Leesville, SC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/28/17
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Unit
Very easy to assemble, started right up.
Pros: Price, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Mark Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Scott H.
Barrington, RI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/9/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Shipped on time. Started right up and ran nice!
Scott Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Thomas S.
Toledo, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/13/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I am happy with the GP6500E. I hooked It up to my RV and it worked great. I have not had to use it for a power outage yet. If it works as good on the house as it did on the RV, I will be happy. Great generator.
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: to loud
Thomas Recommends This Generac Product
Thomas's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had a very good experience dealing with Electric Generators Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
03
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac 6515 portable gas generator reviews.Compare our Generac 6515 ratings. Find the Generac 6515 portable gas generator that is right for you.