Free Shipping On Electric Generators (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
Welcome | Sign In or Contact Us
Your Cart @ Electric Generators Direct Cart:
< Back to Product

Briggs & Stratton Q6500 Portable Generators Gas Inverter Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$1,499.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,499.00
(as of 12:52 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Briggs & Stratton 30675 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (14)
Price (11)
Light Weight (7)
Features (6)
Easy To Use (5)
Cons
Low Quality (3)
No cons yet (1)
Could be easier to start... (1)
Durability (1)
We would buy another one... (1)
85% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Brian A.
St. Croix Falls, WI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/1/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Buy, Good Product
For the money, this is a great product. Is it as quiet as a Honda ? No, but you pay a lot less. So far it has started every time on the first or second pull. It runs 3 hot wells, one cold well, a fridge, motor, lights and a water pump in my food trailer. The only thing I have to unplug once every thing gets going is the water heater. It is much quieter than a conventional generator and more fuel efficient. Shipping was fast And FREE! One thing I don't like is having to take the side cover off... more
Pros: Quiet, Price
Brian Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Thomas M.
Dade City, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/13/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Wont Run Rv Ac
I got this generator to power my 30ft towable camper when dry camping. Problem is whenever I turn on the AC it trips the breaker on the generator. Also not as quite as other inverter generators.
Pros: Price
Thomas Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
Sorry to hear that you're having issues with your generator. This generator has the wattage available to start most RV AC units. You might want to check to see what else is also being powered when your tried to start the AC. If you think the generator is not providing the rated output, I would suggest contacting Briggs & Stratton to find a servicing dealer in your area to have the generator looked at. Briggs can be reached directly @ (800) 743-4115.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jim A.
St. Johns, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/25/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
Very good generator- runs much quieter than others. Gas really seems to last a good amount of time. I love the generator.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Wheels work great. It is a little awkward living but nothing ove
Jim Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Jim's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy purchase with accurate representation of what the product was and was not."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark M.
Dwight, IL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/16/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Camping Power As Required
We are enjoying the generator at our campsite- works great.

It is a bit loud in comparison to the other camper's units- would like it quieter. My wife is not able to start it, not sure why but it seems that you have a long pull to get it fired up. I am hoping it starts better when broken in a bit.

It is difficult to get ahold of to pick up and put in truck or 5th wheel. I would like to see a lifting handle on both sides at the top to grab an pick it up.
Pros: Light Weight, Features
Cons: Dificult to start
Mark Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Mark's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"All Good."
 more
Was this review helpful?
63
Jose N.
Canovanas, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/1/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tremendo Generador
Un generador que por el precio está súper bueno . Bastante callado en cuestión de ruido . Muy fácil de moverla por sus ruedas . Recomendada !!
Jose Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Jose's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John L.
Cape Coral, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/21/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No New Wheel
Generator delivered promptly. However, one of the plastic wheels was broken. This was not due to shipping as I examined the carton when delivered . I called Briggs & Stratton they said they would send me a new wheel. A wheel arrived in a few days but it was the wrong wheel.(much to big) So I called Briggs again the person I talked to in Utah said I needed a case Number which first Briggs person did not give me. Unfortunately, your representative of Briggs & Stratton kept raising her... more
Cons: Low Quality
John Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
John,
Our apologies regarding the broken wheel on your generator. Just to clarify, we are an online retailer. You were speaking to the manfuacturer's customer service during these calls, these were not "our" representatives. We do appreciate that you brought this to our attention and we will forward on this review to our rep at Briggs & Stratton.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
corner.kaitlin@basco.com

Hi John - Apologies about the issues you experienced. I work in the marketing department for generators here at Briggs & Stratton & just walked down to our engineer's desk to get an extra Q6500 wheel from a test unit. Could you please email me (my email address is above) your address and I will send this wheel to you as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience. - Kaitlin
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Daniel G.
Gainesville, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/19/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Purchase
We live in Florida and just survived hurricane Irma. We may not have had it as bad as others but after 18 hours with no electricity I decided a generator was in order. I have had other generators in the past which have done the job, this one has proved to be well worth the money.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Features, High Quality
Daniel Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Daniel's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very easy and simple transaction."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Raymond S.
Eastham, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/9/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
B&s Q6500 Inverter Generator
Arrived in excellent condition - securely packaged! Added oil, gas, and started on second pull. Have run the inverter a few times since it arrived and no problem starting and is very quiet at idle. I have not yet run any appliances through the transfer box but I purchased this unit to safely run a new high efficiency gas boiler and other sensitive electronics. My boiler would not operate with the "dirty" power my old generator put out!
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Price, Easy To Use
Raymond Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Jason S.
Tignall, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/7/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Got Us Through Hurricane Irma
The Briggs inverter works great. We were without external power for 5 days. The inverter ran the whole time. It powered our freezer, fridge, some lights, 2 fans and our 220v water well pump. Compared to all the other generators running in the area, the Briggs is pretty quiet. I was also pleased with the gas usage. We used about 5 gallons / 13 hrs.
All in all, this was a good purchase.
Pros: Light Weight, Features, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: It can be a bit hard to start
Jason Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Jason's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The customer service rep was very friendly and understanding."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Norman C.
Greenville, SC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/5/17
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Q6500/initial Review + Some Useful Stats On Output
I've had the Q6500 for about a month, done with break-in, oil change, etc. No issues so far. Factory packaging was very good, no problems with arrival condition. Read the Quick Start guide, very simple, added 1 qt oil, had it running in 10 minutes. Use full choke (1 sharp pull)+ half choke (1 pull), always starts on 2nd pull, at 70 degrees.

Here are my techie findings that may be of interest to others considering this unit: Used a Fluke True RMS multimeter and a BAFX portable digital sound... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Needs lift handles on each side
Norman Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
21
Kevin R.
Crystal Lake, IL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/14/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Product / Nice Size For The Power
Best Inverter Generator that I could find that featured a great balance of price, size, power and features.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Store, Features, Fast
Kevin Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Kevin's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Extremely knowledgeable and helpful personnel both pre-sale and post-sale."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
David G.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/9/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sound And Size Matters
I appreciate the small size and lower noise levels. It's still not quiet but the enclosure and reduced power when the load isn't great makes a huge difference. Today's generators are unacceptably loud. This one brings noise levels to a sort of acceptable level where you can be in your home and not have it drive you crazy or the neighbors hate you. I wish there was a way to have it run on natural gas. But I guess you can't have it all. I got it on sale so it was ok but may not have... more
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store, Easy To Use
Cons: Expensive
David Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Marilyn B.
Lake Park, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/20/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than We Expected
My son was very impressed with this generator.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Features, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Haven't found anything bad about it., We would buy another one, when we need it.
Marilyn Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Marilyn's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I would use your company again, when needed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Samuel K.
Delray Beach, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/9/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
New Generator
The generator looks smart! A little bit of a challenge to start up though, looks like it will require attn to oil, filters and spark plugs each year, hope I never have to use it for hurricane!
Pros: Quiet, Price, Easy To Store, good customer support at Briggs & Straton
Cons: Could be easier to start up
Samuel Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Rickey J.
St Augustine, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/5/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Going To Power My Condo With This.
Have always trusted the Honda generator for my power needs but since both of my Hondas have been given to my children, I decided to try this Briggs unit. The unit is designed very well and runs well, especially in the fuel saver mode. Yes, the idle speed slowly increases as more power is required. I have it wired to send power to my condo, since it has the 220 volt capability. I have not actually hooked the gen up for that purpose yet, but I feel sure it will power everything except my central... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, Features, Easy To Store
Cons: No cons yet
Rickey Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Tom D.
New Haven, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/29/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not Good For Heavy Use....doesn't Travel Well
Well it's in the shop after 3 times of use. It's nice that it's light weight but it arrived with broken screw attachment so the pannals don't screw in tight.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Durability
Tom Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Tom,
Please keep in mind that this generator is designed for recreational/emergency use. While this generator can be used for other applications, it's really not designed to be a professional/commercial grade unit.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tom,
Thank you for the candid review. We’re working closely with shipping companies to improve the delivery process to ensure once the product leaves our facility, handlers do not tip the box, which can cause damage to the plastic housing. Please contact our customer service line at 1-800-743-4115 so we can assist in any replacement parts needed.
more
Was this review helpful?
03
Michael H.
Miami, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/12/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2017
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Buy Something Else
If your looking for briggs and stratton quality you will not find it in this one. Bought 2 of these units due to hurricane irma and maria and wanted something quiet. The units are NOT quiet! In real world application you can not tell the difference! the fist one died with ONLY 4 HOURS OF RUN TIME. and the only thing plugged in was my refrigerator The second one runs like it's about to die any minute and that's with ONLY 2 hrs of run time while I'm writing this. and being in the islands there... more
Pros: It look pretty and that about it
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Michael Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
Very sorry you experienced issues with your generators. It would be extremely rare that you would get 2 generators that have issues. Based on what you described, it might be the fuel that you're using with these generators. Unfortunately, since these generators were taken outside the continental US, there is really is not way to have these serviced. If these generators are ever brought back onto the US mainland, Briggs provides a 2-Year warranty on this model.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
I'm sorry you experienced a problem with the Q6500. This is indeed a rare experience and what you are describing may be a fuel delivery/bad fuel problem. We understand the frustrations of fuel related issues caused by dirt and/or additives in the fuel. There is a 2 year warranty time frame covering manufacturing defects and workmanship. Please contact our customer support center at 800-743-4115 for additional assistance, there may be an authorized Briggs & Stratton international dealer in your area.
more
Michael's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Generator direct sold me what I wanted to buy but what I bought was complete junk"
 more
Was this review helpful?
04
James M.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/6/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator With A Brain
This is my fourth generator in my garage. My Honda 2000 Inverter is a sweet unit but too small and only 120 volt. The 15000 Generac runs everything but it is too large and consumes too much gasoline. The Briggs and Stratton 5000 Inverter seem to be sized about right. Nice and well engineered unit by integrating the alternator and motor into one light weight unit. Briggs is first class when it comes to designing light weight engine aluminum castings. Their use of fins and thin walled castings is... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
James Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Was this review helpful?
617
Trevor B.
Kimball, NE
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/30/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Read The Specs Carefully
I purchased this generator for work. I was looking for a quiet gen for a better value. Upon first use I was very disappointed because I apparently did not pay close enough attention to the description. It has a 30 amp plug but will only handle 20.8 amps. My own fault after looking into it deeper. I was just in a hurry. It is nice and light and pretty quiet. It will be nice for my smaller projects. Just be warned the 30 amp rating for the plug is deceiving.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Max 20.8 amps
Trevor Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Trevor,
The surge watts on this generator is 6500 watts. 6500/240V = 27 Amps. That's why Briggs uses a 30A plug on this generator.
more

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Trevor's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Overall nice experience. Very quick shipping. Customer service was polite and knowledgeable even while dealing with a disgruntled customer. Will shop here again in the future."
 more
Was this review helpful?
621
Dustin K.
Milford, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/2/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best
Best product ever.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable
Dustin Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product

This customer received compensation for their review.   Read More

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

This customer recieved a small monetary compensation for their review. Customers are not required to write a positive review. The opinions they express are their own. This disclosure is in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

Dustin's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast and easy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
430
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Briggs & Stratton 30675 portable generators gas inverter generator reviews.Compare our Briggs & Stratton Q6500 ratings. Find the Briggs & Stratton 30675 portable generators gas inverter generator that is right for you.