Free Shipping On Electric Generators (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Ariens 986061 Portable Generators Gas Generators Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
Ariens 986061 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (16)
Price (13)
High Quality (13)
Easy To Use (11)
Reliable (7)
Cons
Heavy (7)
Unreliable (2)
Bad Instructions (2)
Registering product (1)
Oil fill port location. (1)
91% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
22 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike, the Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10816 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

This is a very good sized generator for emergency backup power. It also comes with electric start which is a huge plus so anyone can start it during an emergency without having to try to use a recoil start.

It's affordable and will power your fridge, sump pump and a few other items during a storm. This peace of mind if worth every penny!

This Ariens portable generator has a 390cc Honda GX engine that is always dependable.

We think this machine is a great item!
Mike Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
25361
Kevin N.
Warren, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/18/17
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens 7500 Watt Electric Start Portable Generator W/ Honda Gx E
Very Powerful Generator, Only used it a couple of times to experiment with but it has worked and started each time no problem. Has plenty of power to Handle a 5000 watt electric dryer no issues. Heavy so use the handles provided to help move it around. Seems well built. Not too hard to assemble if you have the right tools. I was missing the required socket size to attach the front feet but other than that no issues assembling, Engine oil is included. ONE issue is the oil dipstick is not marked... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
Kevin Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Roger P.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/2/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
It Broke Down After About 100 Hours
I bought two generators one Ariens and another Winco needless to say the Winco is still running strong.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Roger's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"A great experience with this company."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Jerome G.
Cleveland, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/14/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens 7500 Watt Purchase -- Thumbs Up!
Be sure you know where you will sit the generator before delivery as it comes in a box that is too much for one person. Once out of the box it is a simple matter of putting the wheels on - a 10 minute session. You, like me, will have this question after unboxing it. Why does it come with two (2 ) oil holes, one on each side of the machine? One oil hole has the regular cap with attached measuring stick. The second oil hole has a plain black cap with no measuring stick. From the... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, No written info on having two oil holes, why, or how to use.
Jerome Recommends This Ariens Product
Jerome's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This was a very smooth transaction with delivery on the day stated. The delivery in my case was wonderful as the driver used his power gate to lower it to the ground, then used a hand cart to take it into my garage. This generator is solid, husky, heavy, and backs it all up with fine service by means of the Honda engine. I could not be happier, especially after talking to the manufacturer in South Carolina about the machine. Good luck on your purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
72
Harold F.
Woodstock, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/7/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Generator
Pleased with the generator. Like that it comes with a Honda motor. Worked great. Handles my well pump, furnace blower, refrigerator and multiple small draws rather easily.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Harold Recommends This Ariens Product
Harold's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Good communication. Smooth transaction. Free shipping was good but didn't have lift gate as described in details for delivery. Thankfully wasn't needed where it was delivered. If lift gate service is needed confirm it. All in all I was pleased."
 more
Was this review helpful?
72
Ron N.
Portland, ME
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/8/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Great Product And A Great Price.
Building a home for my daughter and this generator keeps up with all my contractors. Honda motor revs up and down a little but it doesn't affect its permormance at all. 50 hours in the first 2 weeks and I love this generator. Excellent on fuel as well.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Reliable
Cons: Motor revs up and down a lot
Ron Recommends This Ariens Product
Ron's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"4th major purchase from Power Equipment Direct and they are fantastic. Ships right away, lowest price I could find, great equipment."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jeff S.
Beavercreek, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/4/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Price And Watts
Product was very easy to put together, connecting the battery was by far the most difficult thing and that was because I have large hands. Product was well boxed up. Cutting it out of the box I sliced one of the grips but that was 100% my fault for not looking first. I little duct tape and nothing worry about. I exchanged several emails with Electric Generators Direct, they were prompt in all responses and answered my questions. The generator started right up once put together and fluids... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Jeff Recommends This Ariens Product
Jeff's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have no complaints, I even called them after getting my generator to tell them there was an error on their website. It listed the warranty for commercial as 90 years not 90 days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Kevin K.
North Chili, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/14/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Great Product At A Nice Price! It's Packed With Value.
This is a great machine. The 11HP Honda engine is smooth and powerful. The set-up is minimal. This a great buy. This will last for years and will be a known workhorse.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Durable, Features
Cons: Heavy
Kevin Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Troy D.
Gray, ME
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/4/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Rough Start With The New Generator
I've had this for about 3 weeks now. I started up the first day and the engine was pulsing up and down with the throttle and after 15 min the pulsating went away. However I started it today to test it for the upcoming nor'easter coming and the pulsating is back and hasn't gone away. I called electric generators direct for some kind of support and they were not very helpful at all. They transferred me to ariens customer service which was all automated and not helpful at all. The automated... more
Cons: Difficult To Use, Unreliable, No support from generators direct
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Troy,
In most cases, the problem you described is fuel related. Make sure you're using fresh fuel. Also make sure the fuel line is not kinked and the fuel valve is open and there is fuel getting to the carb. As an online retailer, we are not a servicing dealer and would refer you to your local dealer for service.
more
Was this review helpful?
65
Robert F.
Port Saint Lucie, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/25/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator, Great Value
Reliable Honda motor at a great price.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: I haven't used it enough, but so far no cons.
Robert Recommends This Ariens Product
Robert's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great price & fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David T.
Aitkin, MN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/10/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product. Started Easily. Works Perfect. Great Price
High quality at a very good price point. I'm happy.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Heavy
David Recommends This Ariens Product
David's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Arrived on time, in good shape. No complaints."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank T.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/31/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
I bought this to replace a generator I bought 15 years ago. Quality is there I have other Ariens products I am very happy, price good... Thank you!!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Reliable
Frank Recommends This Ariens Product
Frank's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Loved the experience will definitely shop your site again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob M.
Stevensville, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/30/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow What A Machine
Easy to start, well made, does just what it was made for.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Bob Recommends This Ariens Product
Bob's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to compare machines, prices and customers rating."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark B.
Lake Mary, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/1/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value For The Money And It's A Honda Cant Get Any Better
Had a 4700 watt Coleman generator for over 30 years so it was time to upgrade and this unit is great!! Put it together and it runs great !! All ready for whatever happens! The old generator is still working and is still in the family .
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
Mark Recommends This Ariens Product
Mark's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy and friendly service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David R.
Millbrook, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/22/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Generator Is Well Worth The Money
It looks like a good generator and was easy to assemble and I was able to start because the battery was charged. The electric start is GREAT.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, High Quality
David Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James P.
Minocqua, WI
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
Easy to assemble and get running.
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Bad Instructions
James Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles S.
Houma, LA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/29/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good
Very good product. Easy to assemble, started right up. Had a real problem registering the generator with Ariens, but other than that this product is a great value.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price
Cons: Registering product
Charles Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joel M.
Exeter, NH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/10/17
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Generator
Initially, I had some difficulty with directions and the generator would surge and shut off. I thought the directions appear to indicate that the fuel valve should be in the horizontal position when running, but, at least on my unit, it apparently should be in the vertical position. Once that was corrected the generator was up and running, and powering my mobile home including an air conditioner. The Ariens seems to be an excellent generator for a great price.
Pros: Price, Features
Joel Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Allan S.
Hampton, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/4/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Machine
Well constructed. Easy to assemble except for location of oil fill port. Electric start makes this so easy to use.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Oil fill port location.
Allan Recommends This Ariens Product
Allan's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast and free shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Jamie M.
Marshall, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/31/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Generator
Nice generator. Easy to set up. Seems a bit loud, but maybe it's just me
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Heavy, loud
Jamie Recommends This Ariens Product
Jamie's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great to deal with."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Connie E.
Rochester, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/13/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Generator
My husband likes the generator so far. Incredible price.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Durable, Price
Cons: Cycles sometimes when running
Connie Recommends This Ariens Product
Connie's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very happy with the product."
 more
Was this review helpful?
12
Josef S.
Fall River, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/15/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Decision
What a great piece. Easy assembly, and battery for the electric start was fully charged. Just add the supplied oil and gas it up. The Honda GX390 started instantly!! I have not tied it into the house panel but I did test that it was pushing power to the outlets. I let it run for a few hours and it was flawless!!! Don't hesitate to purchase this unit. Made by a great AMERICAN company with years of experience in outdoor equipment.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Josef Recommends This Ariens Product
Josef's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have already recommend Electric Generators Direct to everyone that has spoke to me about my generator."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ariens 986061 portable generators gas generator reviews.Compare our Ariens 986061 ratings. Find the Ariens 986061 portable generators gas generator that is right for you.