Search
< Back to Product

Yamaha EF6300ISDE Recreational Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$3,689.10
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$3,689.10
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$4,100.36
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Yamaha EF6300ISDE Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (6)
Easy To Use (4)
High Quality (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Reliable (2)
Cons
Expensive (6)
Heavy (4)
Not Maneuverable At All (1)
91% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
12 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8905 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

Yamaha is one of the only manufacturers to offer a 5500 Watt inverter generator.

We recommend the EF6300iS because of the "Inverter Technology", it's not your average 5500 Watt portable generator. Basically, it has the ability to generate clean power to run sensitive electronics and the extra wattage will be able to run most 15,000 BTU RV A/C Units.

Yamaha has been manufacturing quality power equipment for a long time, you can't go wrong with this inverter.
Jared Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
9021
Sammy
Orlando, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/18/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sweet
Just got this bad boy loaded and ran 8hours. saved $4 on Gas :) It should pay for itself in no time! Thanks guys.
Sammy Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Billy B.
Santa Roas, CO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/21/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Ground Stud Is A Joke
Just bought this generator. Its very important to ground these if you don't want someone harmed. The 3/16" grounding stud on the plastic shell is a joke. It came loose simply by attempting to remove the tiny nut in order to attach a grounding wire.

Plan to change the crank case oil? Well plan for oil all over the interior of the plastic enclosure bottom despite the fact there is a theoretical second drain opening in the case.

I have no idea of it the generator is of any quality. ... more
Was this review helpful?
37
Rodney M.
Gillette, WY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/18/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Oil Level Check System Bad!
Needs better system for checking engine oil!
Rodney Recommends This Yamaha Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Rodney,
If you think there is an issue with the low oil sensor, I'd suggest contacting Yamaha @ (800) 962-7926 for your local service center.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Rodney,
Please contact your local Yamaha Dealer who will be happy to help you out with any questions you might have regarding your Yamaha generator.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Preston S.
Ellensburg, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/17/12
Total Helpful Votes
40 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Could Use Caster Wheels
This generator has four straight-axle mounted wheels. Two on one end need to be castered. As is, to turn when moving from place to place you have to pick up one end and move it sideways.

The screws securing the side panels need to be captive. They are lost screws waiting to happen.

The unit starts easily and runs quietly.
Was this review helpful?
4011
Susan E.
Plano, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/23/13
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great For Our Rv
We used this generator with our 34 ft RV, it ran two 15,000 btu AC units and we had lights, water pump etc. very impressed! It used 4.5 gals of fuel in 6 hours on economy and kept the RV at 69' in 102' weather. It's quiet and looks great, only issues are its heavy, especailly if you have to lift it in and out of the truck, and it can't be used in the rain!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Susan Recommends This Yamaha Product
Susan Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Arrived very quickly and was well packed!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
2810
David T.
Staten Island, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/25/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Buy!!
Very very nice upgrade from what I had. Very quiet and great piece of equipment. Huge draw back is wheels are fixed, hard to move around. Love it...
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Features, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
David Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
196
Gerald B.
Middleburg, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/14/13
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hunting Camp Power Supply
I purchased the Yamaha generator for the familys RV when using on our hunting grounds. Nice and quiet and you can't beat the quilaity of Yamaha.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Gerald Recommends This Yamaha Product
Gerald Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"What a great company, my order was processed and delivered in just a few days. Your customer service department is fantastic. I will definetely recommend Electric Generators Direct to anyone interested in your products."
 more
Was this review helpful?
2210
Frederick V.
Delmar, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/6/14
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Piece Of Machinery
Love it except one thing...NOT maneuverable at all unless it is a straight line. PLEASE add castors for the front and lockable castors for the rear.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable, Not A Gas Hog
Cons: Expensive, Heavy, Not Maneuverable At All
Frederick Recommends This Yamaha Product
Frederick's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Took it camping a few times now and it very quite compared to the others in the camp ground..."
 more
Was this review helpful?
177
Ed C.
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product But Has Mobility Issues
I have this model and it works as advertised - which is it's great product. My issue is with the wheels. They are fixed and that means they do not swivel which (also) means if you need to change direction of where you're pushing, you need to pick up one end or at least drag one end sideways. It weighs 200+ pounds so that's no easy task especially for the ladies... I've made this feedback available to Yamaha (in 2012) and they did not seem to care...

I'm considering putting it on a dolly... more
Ed Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
105
George S.
Fayette, MS
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Generator I Own
Bought this generator used from someone and have been using it for the past 2 years with no issues. Use it to power my RV which it does with no problem.

In 100 degree weather here in Mississippi it runs the ac unit and maintains 60 plus degree temp at all times. I recommend anyone thinking about buying this unit to stop thinking about and go ahead and buy it you won't regret it.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
George Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Jay M.
Exit 2, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/26/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
I bought this model in 2012 from Generators Direct. I have used it a few times since, but never more than a few hours at a time. I bought it for emergency home backup and have it tied to a transfer switch for critical items when I need it. Well pump, fridge, furnace, etc. Plus I run extension cords to it with power strips for other areas of the house not tied to the transfer switch. Powers everything I need easily. It won't run my 30,000 BTU AC units, but that's okay.

Well this week it is... more
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Jay Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
65
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Yamaha EF6300ISDE recreational portable generator reviews.Compare our Yamaha EF6300ISDE ratings. Find the Yamaha EF6300ISDE recreational portable generator that is right for you.