Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Yamaha EF4500ISE Recreational Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$3,059.10
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$3,059.10
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$3,059.10
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Yamaha EF4500ISE Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (5)
High Quality (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Easy To Use (3)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Heavy (2)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
13 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Connie M.
Greenwood, DE
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/5/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Our Yamaha
Purchased this generator about a month ago. Just got to use it. In fact , it is running right now. We are at Eldora Speedway in New Weston, OH. Working great, quiet, doing the job!!!
Connie Recommends This Yamaha Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Connie,
Congratulations on purchasing the quietest, most reliable inverter generator in the industry. The EF4500iSE is one compact powerhouse! With a runtime of 15.2 hours @ 1/4 load on only 4.5 gallons of gas you won't find that with any box store brand. And, Yamaha has the only generators in the industry with a EPA rating of 500 hours.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Doug D.
Edgewood, NM
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/8/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For Our Application
Purchased for our car hauler and hunting camper. Very powerful and quiet. Runs AC and Microwave with only 2/3 showing on the power meter. Only used 3/4 tank of gas overnight.
Doug Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom Skowronski
Glendale, AZ
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2008
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Way To Mount A Portable Generator
I purchased this generator for my travel trailer. I am running a 15,000 BTU air conditioner and the unit I had did not have the capacity to satisfy the trailer's electrical needs.

This unit performs tremendously! It is quiet, starts with the turn of a key and maintains clean voltage. The drawback ( that cannot be helped) is the weight: 194 pounds dry. My wife and I are 55 years old and my days of lifting ridiculous amounts is well in my past.

We have to put this on the pick-up bed, so we... more
Was this review helpful?
310
Robert S.
Columbia, MO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/7/13
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than I Expected
I hooked up the 4500ise to my Trailer. I started it then turned on the AC, Microwave, all the lights, the TV and the radio with all speakers loud. The power use bar showed 80%. It powered all the electrical items in the trailer with power to spare. I had It hooked directly to the 30A generator outlet, not the 20A outlets. I did have to buy a couple of ramps and an electric hoist to get it in and out of the truck, other than that Its a great generator. Also, Generators Direct shipped the Yamaha... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Robert Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
230
Charlie
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/5/12
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready For Action--yamaha 4500ise
My Yamaha EF4500ISE looks great sitting in my garage. I have had the "hard wire" done to my house circuit breaker box. I am now going to buy a "trickle down" battery charger for my generator.

Frankly, if I never have to use the generator for an emergency, I will be happy---my kids can have it after "I no longer need it". The main thing is to be "ready" for any emergency.
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Charlie,
While running the unit will maintain the charge on the battery. Due to the type of battery the unit has, and typically only a local Yamaha dealer can recharge the battery if it no longer maintains a charge.

This generator is equipped with a VRLA (Valve Regulated Lead Acid) battery. There is no need to check the electrolyte or to add distilled water.

To charge a VRLA battery, a special (constant-voltage) battery charger is required.

***Using a conventional battery charger will damage the battery.***

If you do not have access to a constant-voltage battery charger, have a Yamaha dealer charge the battery for you.
more
Was this review helpful?
275
William C.
Buffalo, MO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/28/15
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator! Battery??
Generator arrived as planned. Filled with oil and prepped the constant volt battery. The manual states the battery is a constant volt battery and the appropriate charger must be used or simply take to your Yamaha dealer so they can charge it for you. Wow! That's convenient! The manual states that if a constant volt charger isn't used it will result in battery damage. Well, I live in a small town and nobody has heard of such a type of battery as this so I hooked it up to a trickle charger... more
William Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
120
James B.
Albany, GA
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Big Jim Bow Company
This is an absolutely awesome generator. Incredibly quiet and very reliable. I have no regrets other than not buying it sooner. We are about to complete our third full season since purchasing it.

It would be nice if they would come out with an extended run kit for this...although it will run a long time 10-14 hrs depending on if you are using A/C or not, but we rarely turn it off and having extend fuel available would be a bonus.
Pros: Quiet, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
James Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
153
Paul H.
Leavenworth, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/21/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Perfect Answer
We live off the grid and although we can usually depend on our solar panels, in the dead of winter or during cloudy weather we need the added boost of a generator. Our old generator was noisey.

I've learned to follow directions and these were clear. Out of the box was easy. I purchesed the remote attachment which also had clear installation instructions. It took about an hour to unpack, install the oil, install the remote module and gas it up. I can now start and stop it from my... more
Paul Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
60
David M.
New Richmond, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/10/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet!
At Bristol , TN. At track , awesome fuel efficient and quiet. A lot quieter that Honda's. Period!
David Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Ken
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Just Bought The Ef4500ise
Just received the generator last Friday. It arrived without any damage and today I put oil in it. By the way, had to buy that separate. Then put electrolytes in battery, hooked it up and bam it started, with first turn of the key. Super quite. Will update review after a few months of use. Wish it had a pull start in-case the battery went dead
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Ken Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Clyde F.
Austin, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/30/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sweet!
This thing is quiet, does the job, easy to set up all good. Not small or light, but it's a 4kw. Easy transaction with these folks and delivered on time. No complaints.
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Clyde Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
64
Robert P.
Forft Edward, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/26/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Decision
We were looking for a quiet generator for our camper and all our research wound up with Yamaha. The best price was with Electric Generators Direct. The delivery was delayed because of the shipping company which delayed delivery for two more days than it was scheduled. The generator is still a good buy.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Robert Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
65
Ronald P.
Kansas City, KS
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/28/15
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yamaha Ef4500ise 4000 Watt Elc Start Inverter
Delivery was good, on time and the tail gate serv. Was great. Driver used his fork lift jack to put it in my garage ( 175 lbs). Read up on battery and put oil in it, en voila assez. Started right up works great so far. Haven't had a chance to test on running my rv.
Ronald Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
33
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Yamaha EF4500ISE recreational portable generator reviews.Compare our Yamaha EF4500ISE ratings. Find the Yamaha EF4500ISE recreational portable generator that is right for you.