Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Yamaha EF3000IS Recreational Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,799.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,799.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Yamaha EF3000IS Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
5.0 out of 55.0 out of 55.0 out of 55.0 out of 55.0 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (9)
Easy To Use (8)
High Quality (7)
Reliable (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Cons
Heavy (5)
Expensive (2)
Need Long Thin Funnel To... (1)
Not As Quiet As I Hoped ... (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
26 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Hamlin B.
Manhatten, KS
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/26/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Order Of A Ef3000is Yamaha
Ordered on 4 sep 1016 , delivered on 9 sep 2016 in perfect condition at my home address.
Hamlin Recommends This Yamaha Product
Hamlin's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sorry I did not order this unit earlier."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank M.
Rockville, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/12/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
R2 Unit
The generator was back ordered for a few weeks, but showed up in perfect working order, the delivery people worked with me on the delivery because I could not be home at the time. Started on the first pull of the rope (after adding oil and gas).. very quiet running...my wife and I can easily pick it up to put it in my truck and the wheels are nice on my concrete driveway.. All in all a good buy. My wife, a Star Wars fan calls it our R2 (D2) unit...
Frank Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Vito L.
Staten Island, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/3/13
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
82 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Started On 3rd Pull In 20 Degree Weather
After running 60 days ago and having a threat of heavy snow I went out to start the Yamaha 3000. Expecting to pull and pull I was pleasantly surprised to have it start on the 3rd pull. After it warmed up I turned on ECO mode and it was so quiet I almost forgot it was running. I used it to start my snow blower. No Problem!!

I always use gas stabilizer and Sea Foam and turn off the fuel valve to make it think it ran out of gas before storage. I also have a honda EM5000 which as far as I am... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Vito Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
293
Joe
Dayton, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/31/12
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Pull Starting
I have used this model on two camping trips. It runs my 13.5 BTU A/C unit no problem. Runs about 8 hours with A/C going before fueling up again. Super quiet and super easy to pull start, my 9 year old daughter can start it.
Was this review helpful?
200
Don M.
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value For A Yamaha
I use this unit primarily for home backup power. Very quiet and long running. The cost of quiet and long running is that this is a big, heavy unit for its 3000 watt model. But I easily roll it in and out of the garage. The only reason for an electric start is remote operation. Anyone capable of moving and fueling a generator can easily pull start this unit. It's no harder to start than a quality lawn mower.

I don't believe that the boost model is necessary unless a large single load is... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Don Recommends This Yamaha Product
Don Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No problems at all with order."
 more
Was this review helpful?
203
Mark
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/12/12
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Value
This is really the best value out there if you want a generator quieter than most, and durable.... you get all the extras that Honda would charge you extra for, for free. One thing I like better about the Yamaha is it's built on a frame that goes throughout the generator. You can find videos on YouTube where people take them apart for basic servicing and its clearly evident that the handles are welded to a frame that goes through the whole generator. This is a big plus if you plan to chain... more
Was this review helpful?
192
Jon
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet Is A Blessing
I bought my Yamaha inverter from E. G. DIRECT. This was the best purchase that I made in 2012 . It was delivered in perfect condition when it arrived. I couldn't wait to open it and get that bad boy running.

A quart of oil and a gallon of gas later,I pulled the starter chord and it started smooth and easy. So quiet I couldn't believe it. First thing I plugged in was my circular saw and my hammer drill.

Full power on both and the generator barely raised a decibel. I bought an inexpensive... more
Was this review helpful?
160
Thomas M.
Fallston, MD
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Mighty Little Blue Generator
This little blue yamaha is so easy to use and has very good output. I lost power, ran it for two days straight. Very happy it ran the heating unit to my 4,000 sq ft home plus frig. ect. Whats not to like about little blue.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Reliable, Price
Thomas Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
130
Bill
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/27/12
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ef3000is Inverter
This inverter is as advertised. This is a good quality inverter that starts easily, is easy to maintain and is solidly built. This is why it is heavy at 140 lbs.

The wheels seem small when rolling over the lawn. Economy mode is great on gas and it steps up for a heavy load.
Was this review helpful?
130
Bryon
Middletown, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/30/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I'm In Love...
What more can I say. My Yamaha EF3000iS is awesome so far.

I put gas and oil in, pulled the choke and pull starter, and off she went. Quiet- you want to talk about quiet, this runs at a low hum in Eco mode. It's a bit louder when running at full draw, but quieter than I would have ever expected.

It's a bit hefty, but that should be expected. The built-in wheels make it easy to move around by myself. Plan on a friend or strong wife to help get it in and out of your truck.

It's great... more
Was this review helpful?
90
Mario J.
Coral Springs, FL
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bullet Proof
I've had mine for nine years. It has never let me down. Easy maintenance. The wheels work great and they were included in the price.

It runs almost 20 hours at 25% load or around 8 hours at full load. I have used it to power window shaker A/C's, refrigerator, TV's toaster, & microwave during power outages- it doesn't even blink. It runs my 15,000 BTU RV air, no problem.

I can't ask for anything more. It just works, year in and year out.
Was this review helpful?
123
A. K. A.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/7/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
I am very satisfied with this generator, & Electric Generators Direct has the best price.

This is the second generator I have bought from Electric Generators Direct. We had a Yamaha 1000 we used for camping with our pop-up trailer, and now we have a trailer with A/C, microwave & other features that need more power. This unit was the right choice.

I don't need the auto start or power boost that adds extra weight & cost. I can run everything I need to. It has the big amp... more
Was this review helpful?
102
Donald O.
Linesville, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/11/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Why Pay More?
Needed to get a decent quiet generator for concession trailer. Researched, narrowed down to a 3000, Honda or Yamaha. Not being one to follow the crowd (I disdain Apple) I bought the Yamaha, and very glad I did. Sat it next to friend's Honda 3000, mine was quieter, equally featured, AND $700 less. No questions, this is a great choice for anyone with this type of power needs.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price
Donald Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
92
Keith U.
Kalamazoo, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/7/13
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does The Job & Quiet
Very happy with the unit. Bought it for my 5th wheel and it does what I need. Runs the air just fine with the economy switch off. Not sure yet if it can handle everything (microwave, air, coffee pot, etc) at once, but not a high priority for me. Oh yea, I almost forgot - starts on first pull will little effort and it is quite - I mean very quiet
Was this review helpful?
114
Kevin S.
Puyallup, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/12/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Product
We have used this generator on four camping trips this year and it has worked flawlessly.

Yamaha makes a great product.
Was this review helpful?
92
Jgl
Bronx, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/2/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Jgl
I received the machine within three days of ordering it on line. A few days later I filled it with oil and fuel, pulled the choke and on the 3rd pull it started, I ran it for two hours with an air conditioner as a sustained load and it performed extremely well. I also checked the voltage for consistency and it did not vary one bit, 120V.

I did my research over an extended period and when you balance performance, quality, price and level of noise produced I concluded that it comes down to the... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Easy To Use, Price
Jgl Recommends This Yamaha Product
Jgl's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I would have liked more detailed pictures of the machine."
 more
Was this review helpful?
126
George S.
Clovis, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/25/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yamaha Ef3000is
I filled it with Mobile I oil and put fuel in the tank. It started easily on the first pull and has continued to do just that every time. I was disappointed at first that I had purchased a pull start only generator. But after starting it many times all on different days I'm glad I didn't purchase the electric start. I can't wait to go dry camping and give it a real test. For now it will sit in my garage.
George Recommends This Yamaha Product
George's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I received the generator one week after it was ordered. The delivery driver unloaded it with a pallet jack and put it into my garage. I took it off of the pallet and the delivery driver said he would take it. I cut open the box and inspected the generator, perfect not a mark on it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Robert S.
Cost, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/9/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Impression
If this generator continues to perform, it will be one of the best investments I have made. Started the first pull out of the box and is perfect for my air compressor and electric hand tools. Very easy to operate, quiet, and a child could start it. Thanks Yamaha!
Robert Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas M.
Rocklin, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/15/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
Put oil and gas into it, slight choke and it fired up no problems! Plugged it into my 5th wheel, and it powered the ac with no problem! Excellent product!
Thomas Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Paul F.
Oscoda, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/18/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far So Good!
It starts easy, runs relatively quietly, and has worked ok on the things I have tried with it. Haven't had a chance to run the house with it yet, but plan to do that as soon as the winter weather breaks in Northern Michigan.
Paul Recommends This Yamaha Product
Paul's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The delivery was quicker than expected and the driver was most cooperative in getting it from his semi to my utility trailer for the journey out to the hunting camp."
 more
Was this review helpful?
66
Peggy M.
Yellville, AR
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/5/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Second Yamaha In Our Family
My sister and brother-in-law have had the same model for 2 years without any problems. Love how quiet it is. I use it to supplement my batteries for solar panels when super cloudy. The cover is a bit tight and I have to really wrestle to get it on (and off)--but guess I won't have to worry about it blowing off!
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Peggy Recommends This Yamaha Product
Peggy Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Took 2 weeks to get the generator after I sent a check. Love that I got a discount for not using a credit card! More businesses should use this strategy!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
77
Milton B.
Lithonia, GA
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ef3000is
After doing some research for a month, I purchased the EF3000IS Generator Inverter. I Puchased the Yamaha EF3000 for a number of reasons such as the manufactory is a yamaha and I can take the generator in for maintenance, it has a 3 year warranty, it an inverter and can power most of my home appliances safely, such as flat screen TVs. It has a 1/4 run time of about 18 hours. It has idle control. I tested the EF3000IS 2X this week. It start easly 1,2,or 3 pulls on the cord. I was able to power a... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Milton Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Dario C.
Philadelphia, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/11/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Yamaha Generator
Can I store the generator for one or two years? Please let me know.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Dario Recommends This Yamaha Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Dario,
Yes you can. Please refer to the owner's manual for more information on storage of the generator.
more
Was this review helpful?
67
Wilber S.
Olivehurst, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/19/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yamaha Is The Best
Starts the first time, every time. Very quite.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Wilber Recommends This Yamaha Product
Wilber Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Worked out great."
 more
Was this review helpful?
35
Scott R.
Austin, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/18/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Reliable Product! Just Not As Quiet As I Hoped
A quality product. It's probably the quietest in its class but not quite enough to start up on a campground morning without disturbing neighbors.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Not As Quiet As I Hoped Too Noisy To Start Up On A Quiet Mornin, Need Long Thin Funnel To Add Oil
Scott Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
47
Michael E.
Reedley, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/4/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good But Damaged
I received my generator on time by R&L Trucking. I used it this past weekend at Famoso Raceway for the Hot Rod Reunion. Good generator, a little on the heavy side for me to pickup but with some help is manageable.
Michael Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
16
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Yamaha EF3000IS recreational portable generator reviews.Compare our Yamaha EF3000IS ratings. Find the Yamaha EF3000IS recreational portable generator that is right for you.