Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Yamaha EF1000IS Recreational Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$791.10
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$791.10
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$791.10
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Yamaha EF1000IS Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (7)
Reliable (5)
Quiet (4)
Durable (3)
Light Weight (3)
Cons
Expensive (2)
Durability (1)
I Have None (1)
Unreliable (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
27 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8924 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

We recommended Coleman Powermate camping generators for years.

Now, those little Mega Pulse generators are equivalent to dial-up Internet service.

New Inverter technology is making the traditional camping generator obsolete. They are smaller, quieter and produce cleaner electricity. Until now, they've been expensive too.

Yamaha is one of the best units when it comes to inverter generators. Consider this little 900 watt version as the "broadband" of new camping generators.

Jared Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
6420
Joel C.
Troutdale, OR
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Complete Review Of The Yamaha Ef1000is Generator
As an electrical & electronic engineer and technician I review the Yamaha EF1000is inverter generator and explain why I added this unit to my stable of 5 generators. I explain how this is ideal for use with my RV alongside the existing 3.6kW onboard Onan and why much information on generators is often wrong - or most often just over hyped.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy To Store
Joel Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Frank M.
Pavilion, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/16/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Yamaha Ef1000is - 900 Watt Inverter Generator
Generator is lightweight, easy to use and runs good.
Sometimes what have plugged into generator vibrates out or comes loose. Not sure if its something I'm doing or not. Vent cap for gas tank works but have to twist a couple of turns to open or close. Biggest complaint I have is oil fill and drain, could be a better design. All in all generator is of good quality. These are minor complaints. Anyone would not go wrong in buying this generator.

I own two 2000 watt inverter honda generators... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight
Frank Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Scott T.
Golden, CO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/22/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ef1000is Yamaha
I use this with a teardrop out here in Colorado. Connected to the main power cable, it powers up the fan motor, on the A/C unit (tripped protection fault with the compressor on), and a 19 inch television without any picture interference whil both running at the same time. Runs the battery charger easily. Light weight, Japan Yamaha. It's quiet, and easy to use and put away. Last weekend ran it at 7,500 ft elevation, and it started easily, and ran smooth.

I seems to have a little more... more
Scott Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
10
George G.
Sun City, AZ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/23/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Experience W/ Electric Generator
I'm a novice when it comes to generators. I have a small trailer and want to be able to use it where there are no electric hookups. The EF1000iS is light enough for me to lift with my back problem. It took me two weeks to figure out how to get the generator started. The oil fill port is hard to get to, and requires a funnel with a flexible spout to fill. It was impossible to tell when there was enough oil until it began to overflow which made a mess.

Once that was done, starting the... more
George Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James D.
Phoenix, AZ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/3/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I bought through Electric Generators Direct and I am VERY pleased with the customer service and product. I would recommend you to anyone who is looking!
James Recommends This Yamaha Product
James's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fantastic EVERYTHING!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Darrell P.
Sun City West, AZ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yam-gen
Bought it for our camping trip.........almost perfect ! Just a LITTLE QUIETER and it would be PERFECT !!!
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Darrell Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Blythe J.
Cincinnati, OH
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Lot Of Usefulness In A Compact Package
Our generator is 3 years old, and still starts easily and runs quietly. We originally bought it just to run a blender during Jimmy Buffett concert tailgates, but we've used it more than we ever thought we would.

This little guy saved our freezer full of beef during an 8 day power outage, it's run a sound system for the Flying Pig Marathon, and charges everyone's i-Everything when we go camping... as well as running a huge fan to keep us cool and comfortable.

It's a little more expensive... more
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Blythe Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
226
Glenn Hutchinson
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2007
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yamaha Ef1000is - 900 Watt Inverter Generator Review
I got this generator two years ago when my wife was put on a C-PAP for her sleeping disorder. I knew her machine was computerised and we would need clean power to run it.
I first looked at the Honda 1000 watt inverter and was seriously considering it, but I decided to do a little comparing of the different brands first. I'm glad I did! The Yamaha blows the Honda out of the water, longer run time less noise, engine runs at a much slower speed and the 12 volt DC cables are included. They cost... more
Was this review helpful?
310
Ken Parks
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2007
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yamaha Ef1000is - 900 Watt Inverter Generator Review
My Yamaha 1000i is the only one of it's type in my sailing club. Everyone else has a Honda. The Yanaha is by my follow sailing club members the LEAST noisy gernator in the club. We cruise often, and usually use generators to power AC accessories. My Yanaha uses far less fuel than the Honda's, and produces quite a bit less niose. This is especially true when the load is less than 75% of maximum. At full output, the Yamaha and Honda's are about the same noise level, with the Yamaha slightly... more
Was this review helpful?
344
Patricia
Lewisburg, WV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/19/12
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, Fantastic.
Running our new Yamaha EF 1000 IS generator 5 hours a day for two weeks now and it is a CHARM.

We are off grid more by default than intention. Even on grid, though, we would have a backup. Our 7000 watt generator has been great for three years of occasional demand, arranging our schedule to do everything while it was running -- construction tools, welder, washing machine and charging our house batteries along the way (which run our minimized refrigeration and house lights). It pushed... more
Was this review helpful?
200
Thomas Riemer
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2006
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yamaha Ef1000is - 900 Watt Inverter Generator Review
I purchase my Yamaha January 2005 andicipating the upcoming hurricane season. I live in South Florida and boy I am glad I made the purchase.

This little baby ran my 32" Sharp LCD tv, cable box, dvd player, notbook computer, internet & wireless router, 1 ceiling fan and my 18 cu/ft refrigerator. All while sipping on gas.

Best yet, it is quite as a curch mouse. All my neighbors were wondering why I had power. It served me well through both Katrina and Wilma.

It can... more
Was this review helpful?
212
Anthony
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/8/13
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
I originally bought the Honeywell 800 watt and had lots of problems. The Yamaha seems to have much cleaner power so far and even though it is only rated at 100 watts more than the Honeywell it seems to produce more power than the Honeywell. Also much quieter. The economy mode works great where it would surge on the Honeywell. very smooth on the Yamaha. Cant comment on reliability yet because it is new but will over time. So far very impressed. You get what you pay for. 3 times the price of the... more
Was this review helpful?
143
Vaughn Simon
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2006
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Yamaha Ef1000is - 900 Watt Inverter Generator Review
An absolutely amazing machine. This is the smallest, quietest, most gas-frugal generator you should ever consider for home standby use. Consider that the normal generator that you buy at a home improvement store is terribly loud and can drink up to one gallon an hour even with only a partial load. At $3 per gallon, that could be $500 per week! Now the EF1000is has much less capacity than those other generators, but if you are willing to live within its limitations, you will have a... more
Was this review helpful?
101
Jim R.
Gaithersburg, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/7/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Stands Up To My Kind Of Torture
The generator started 2nd pull out of the box and starts first pull most of the time. We took it 60 miles off shore in the boat on a rough day and it performed as advertised. I have not had any problems with it and it runs good. I like the fuel shut off. When I run the gas out of the carb. it's ready for the next time we use it and starts quickly. The only dislike is the oil fill, it's very hard to get to and even being careful you are bound to have a mess on the initial fill up. It only holds... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, Easy To Store
Jim Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
113
Gary Stockton
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2008
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Yamaha Ef1000is - 900 Watt Inverter Generator Review
Very nice unit and runs as adverised, but seems loader than the Honda unit which specs at the same decibles.

Still relatively quiet and reliable. I have had it for almost a year now.
Was this review helpful?
93
Samuel B.
Orlando, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/26/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Quiet Unit
I wanted a quiet generator to use at the race track for over-nite camping and battery charging on the car, compared this to the Honda and settled on the Yamaha, cannot believe how "SUPER QUITE" it is.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: I Have None
Samuel Recommends This Yamaha Product
Samuel's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy online ordering and fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Ken K.
New Castle, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/4/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Genearator
great for night fishing it runs all my lights with no problem.Great little generator.the packing and shipping was great.I would recommend this unit to anyone.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Ken Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Brad
Bayfield, CO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/15/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Its Works Like A Charm
The generator works very well and it is quiet after it warms up and goes into the low mode. The only complaint I have on it is that every time you start it even to fill it with fuel it runs on high and not low for 3 minutes to rewarm itself and that would be not good if there is other campers near you at night.
Was this review helpful?
105
James B.
San Diego, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/4/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleased With My Generator
Hi, my generator arrived on time from Generator's Direct. I put it together following the directions. It started on about the 5th pull. It runs great, it's very quiet on econ mode.

I have a sail boat. To test everything, I put on both battery chargers, a fan, some AC lights and made toast. Putting on the toaster was a big load, it switched from econ to normal mode. But everything worked and I got my toast.

Now after that first time it starts on the first or second pull every time.
James Recommends This Yamaha Product
James's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I bought the unit on line, and it shipped right away and arrived on time, with no damage, and exactly as advetised. You can't ask for more."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Michael
Union, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/4/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Yamaha Inverter Generator
Purchased the generator to run my cellar "sump pump" in the event of lost electricity. Although I have not used it for any extended period, it was easy to set up and run and is not loud. It started up with 1 or 2 pulls. The only complaint I have is the positioning of the oil cap. It is on the "side" of the unit and that makes it difficult to fill without spilling oil. It also makes it difficult to determine when it is full. If it could have been placed on the top, then... more
Was this review helpful?
73
Ron V.
Bemidji, MN
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Failed In Second Ice Fishing Season
While powering a TV and a single lightbulb, stopped generating, while motor continued to run. I shut down, then tried to restart, but engine is too hard to pull to start. Oil level was fine, still could not pull over with plug removed. Would estimate that it has less than 150 hours on it. Has always had an issue of surging while in use.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Ron,
This Yamaha generator is covered by a 3-Year Warranty. Please contact Yamaha directly @ (800) 962-7926. They can direct you to a local service center.
more
Was this review helpful?
74
Sven
Deming, NM
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Buy The 1000is
We have a fly in only camp in Northern Canada, we bought a brand new Yamaha 1000 and had it flown up, freight cost alone came to $500,
Over the years we have had Honda's, and Chinese made Inverters, all was very reliable and run for hundreds of hours.
After checking the oil, gas etc. in the Yamaha we started her, I never heard a generator run so poorly, the rpm was fluctuating from almost stopping to high. We had this generator serviced with 0 hours on it cost us $500 to fly her out plus $500... more
Was this review helpful?
1411
Melvin B.
Bogart, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/30/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Built
I have used only one time, on a camping trip . It ran all night right next to tent . It was running a fan . The fan made more noise than the generator. Great Product, in my opinion .
Melvin Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael K.
Dillon, CO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/24/15
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Purchase Ever!
I recently purchased a Yamaha EF1000iS Generator from Electric Generators Direct.

I just used it for a week of remote camping out in the wilderness of Western Colorado. We have a pop-up trailer, and this unit provided us with a quiet & reliable power source to keep our battery sufficiently charged to run the heater/water heater, and charge our devices. We have been doing trips like this for almost ten years, and it's this first time I have been able to enjoy the benefits of owning a... more
Michael Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
31
David W.
Centerville, IL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/28/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Generator
I purchased the EF1000 for camping, This generator ran like a champ. I haven't used it around the house yet, I'm sure it will get the job done.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable, Durable
David Recommends This Yamaha Product
Was this review helpful?
53
Robert H.
Seattle, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/17/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready
The generator ran well during its break-in run, and is now packed away waiting for its services to be needed.
Was this review helpful?
33
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Yamaha EF1000IS recreational portable generator reviews.Compare our Yamaha EF1000IS ratings. Find the Yamaha EF1000IS recreational portable generator that is right for you.