Your Cart @ Electric Generators Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Winco HPS6000HE Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,782.50
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock$2,082.50
No Sales Tax* (Except CA)
Visit Site
 
$1,782.50
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Winco HPS6000HE Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Quiet (3)
Features (3)
Durable (2)
Easy To Store (2)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Bad Instructions (1)
Unreliable (1)
Low Quality (1)
80% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
16 Reviews  Sort by 
 
manufacturers review image

Josie
Marketing
From The Manufacturer
Hps6000he
The HPS6000HE is EPA certified to run on natural gas and gasoline only. WINCO understands the need for reliable power, which is why we have equipped this generator with a Honda GX340 commercial grade engine.

The HPS6000HE also features a 7 gallon fuel tank, full receptacle package with circuit breaker protection, 100% copper windings and has less than 6% total harmonic distortion which is safe for sensitive loads.

Our multi-fuel generators are perfect for taking up to the cabin,... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Hans K.
Toms River, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/28/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Transaction
Product was delivered in good shape in a timely manner.
Hans Recommends This Winco Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Cesar E.
Randolph, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/24/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Quality Control Problems...
I was super excited about purchasing a dual-fuel generator (NG + Gasoline), especially after experiencing fuel supply issues last fall with super storm Sandy. My house has a properly installed transfer box, as well as a brand new NG supply line, especially installed for this unit. All up to code. Don't do a backfeed or modify your genny with an aftermarket conversion kit, you will void your warranty, and you are putting your home and loved ones at risk. Get a unit like this one, that is... more
View Image
View Image
Pros: Features, Quiet, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Expensive
Cesar Does Not Recommend This Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Cesar,
Thank you for providing us this information we will be updating the site shortly to reflect the changes.
more
Was this review helpful?
174
Colter
Falls Village, CT
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Follow Up From March...big Nasty Fall Snowstorm/power Outage
Well...I wrote back in March that I Loved this gen/set, but had never had to use it much. Well, we got hit here in CT a Big Wallop over Halloween weekend. 750k folks w/o power, some for a week and more. 16 inches of tree bustin wet snow...BAM !!..Had just changed the oil on the Winco. Limbs down all around, cut my way out of the driveway 400 feet.

But FIRST...Started the Winco and was worry-free. Funny thing, just last month I had thought to myself "Will this thing EVER get used... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Bill K.
Garfield, AR
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/11/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Winco
Purchased this generator 3 years ago. I have it wired to a transfer switch. It has more than exceeded my expectations. Installed a ghost trickle charge and after using a gas model for about 20 years the lp gas operation is great. The area I live in has many ice storms and snow fall so I use it quite often. A great product and has made my life a lot easier.
Pros: Features, Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet
Bill Recommends This Winco Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Steve
Park Ridge, IL
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Thing We Had The Generator
We bought the Winco Tri Fuel generator two years ago, broke it in and stored it in the garage for two years. Then we had a major power outage and needed to power some lights, two refrigerators, and most importantly our marine-battery backup sump pump. We pulled the generator out and it started right up and saved the day (and nights). Good investment for peace of mind. Plan to hook it up to natural gas.
Was this review helpful?
30
Joe
Pittsgrove, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/7/10
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
High Marks
Winco generator works great! High marks for product.Instructions (especially for wheel kit) leave alot to be desired. Really took a great deal of my handy man skills to figure it.
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Joe,
Winco has technical support available @ (507) 357-6831
more
Was this review helpful?
30
James Hackney
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2007
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Winco Hps6000he - 5500 Watt Dual Fuel Generator W/ Electric Start Honda Engine Review
I recently ordered and received a Winco 6 KW tri-fuel generator from you,
with low-pressure solenoid, wheel kit and cover. I can't say enough good
things about your service or the quality of the product. My product
questions prior to ordering were anwered promptly and completely by email.

The order was processed, shipped and received promptly. I was kept informed
about the order status. And, the generator and accessories were installed
easily and the system worked beautifully the... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Robert I.
Monroe Township, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/2/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Unit
Generator is for emergency back-up only, terrific out of the box dual fuel ng/gas. No aftermarket modifications voiding warranty.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Robert Recommends This Winco Product
Robert Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Terrific generator but adding required parts is an additional hassle, should have wheels and folding handles, battery, elec cord and ng hose ( at an additional cost) purchase a universal wheel kit for 40.00 with folding handles and if you are handy installation is no problem."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
John S.
Kenilworth, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/25/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Purchase
I am pleased I chose EGD to purchase the generator and necessary switchgear I needed . Everything went flawlessly & being the generator was on three month backorder, no advance billing to my CC by EGD.

Being a mechanical tradesman, I was able to properly install and wire the 10 circuit Reliance transfer switch, remote PIB and NG connection myself while waiting for the generator to come off backorder. I did check & verify my NG pressure and pipe sizing before placing the order. I do... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Bi Fuel Capable
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
John Recommends This Winco Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
John,
This product had been updated over the summer. Seeing that your order was placed all the way back in June, you have have saw some outdated information.

The battery required for this model is.. BCI Group 20 or 24HL, 12-volt, 300 CCA battery.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Carleton W.
Pullman, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/2/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Owner's Review
This generator with its Honda engine appears to be of good quality. It arrived undamaged in a timely fashion. The dolly kit which I also ordered, fit with impressive precision. It was obviously well engineered as the case also appeared to be with the generator.

My confusion and difficulty was associated with the instructions and Owner's Manuals that were provided with the generator.

Two Owner's Manuals were provided with the generator. One is entitled "HOME POWER Owner's... more
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Carleton,
The Manuals are handled by the folks at Winco; please contact them directly at (507) 357-6831 with your suggestions.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/27/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Quality
It was delivered on time, it's good quality, and works perfectly on natural gas. I have not tried gasoline or propane.

It's not too big for me to move around.
Was this review helpful?
10
Rick
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/9/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Use
My Winco HPS6000HE arrived on-time and in good condition. I installed the crankcase oil, 'dolly kit' and a battery, and fired it up w/o any problem. Recoil starter is easy to use for 'pull-starting'. The documentation is well-written and complete.

I made a lifting attachment eye so that the unit can be hoisted into a pick-up truck. My only suggestion is that the factory should provide a lifting hard point.
Was this review helpful?
10
Colter
Falls Village, CT
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Winco's A Winner
This machine has been on standby for 12+ years. I fire it up on gasoline about 2-3 times a year, switch it to propane, back to gas and let it run dry. I change the oil infrequently and make sure it's never dirty. I've needed to replace the battery like any normal unit every 3-4 years.

Starts right up and puts out the juice every time. It has NEVER failed me. Glad it's there. BTW, I paid $1500+ 12 years ago, somewhere else. Great Price from these guys !! I am glad I was directed to this... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Simon C.
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2007
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Winco Hps6000he - 5500 Watt Dual Fuel Generator W/ Electric Start Honda Engine Review
I'm very impressed with this unit.

We have it wired to the house on a manual switch, but also have a 4-way cable for it in case of other need.

We've had it for a year, and it still starts first time, even when cold. Electric start is a dream, and useful to have cord-pull backup.

Great power/economy balance.

Very solidly built. Great documentation.

This is a quality unit.
Was this review helpful?
00
Herbert
Decatur, AL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/4/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleased With The Generator
I have not had a chance to really use the generator yet, but when it arrived I was very pleased with the quality of the machine.
Started easily and runs good. The machine is quieter than I expected.

Time will tell if it was a wise choice, but I fully expect that it will prove to be a wise choice.
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Winco HPS6000HE portable generator reviews.Compare our Winco HPS6000HE ratings. Find the Winco HPS6000HE portable generator that is right for you.