Search
< Back to Product

Reliance Controls TWB2005DR Transfer Panels Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$325.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$325.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Reliance Controls TWB2005DR Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Durable (4)
Easy To Use (3)
High Quality (3)
Price (2)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
Cons
Expensive (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
16 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike, the Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8934 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

The transfer panel includes a 200A main circuit breaker interlinked with a 30A - 125A generator breaker feeding a heavy-duty copper bus with feed-through lugs.

This transfer panel is suitable for service entrance and may be used as a main panel or feed-through to a sub-panel or main panel but is ideal for applications requiring the entire service panel to be available for generator power if you have 200A service.

This particular model is rated for outdoor use and can handle a generator... more
Mike Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
180
David M.
Wauseon, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/18/14
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Generator Transfer
We just purchased our place. The house and barn were both tied to the meter with no way to isolate from the utilities. I found this switch on the internet and was delighted with the quality and especially the price.

So in two hours a friend (licensed electrician) and I pulled the old load center out of the barn. Rewired from the meter to the supply side of the new switch. And out from the switch to the house disconnect. So I now can safely run the generator but keep the linemen safe.
View Image
David Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Christian W.
Hastings, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/1/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simple To Install
Installed this has the disconnect for my son and daughter-in-law's house . Simple installation. Hopefully we won't need to use it, but when we do, it will be easy to use.
Christian Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/16/12
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Makes Your Old Panel A Subpanel
To meet code (taking two inspections to get this signed off gives me some insight), you'll need to make your old panel a subpanel. That means running a 4 conductor SER (Service Entrance Round) cable with an insulated neutral from the transfer switch to your panel. It also means separating all of your neutrals and grounds in that panel and unbonding the neutral strips from the old panel case.

But to review the actual product - it works great. Can be used outside, but I installed my inside... more
Was this review helpful?
170
Lance D.
Hillsville, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/17/12
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power Backup Ready
We lost power in a bad storm back in July. It took the power company 6 days to get it back.

So, I ordered the 17500 Generac and the recommended accessories. It took awhile to install because of my work schedule and the fact that we wanted it in the barn. I ran an underground 2 AWG cable from the barn, to the house, to the TWB2005DR; then had the local electric guys run the meter to the TWB2005DR, then back to my main panel.

I installed the outdoor 50 amp transfer box that the genny... more
Was this review helpful?
80
Keith W.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/26/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
Purchased the Reliance 200-amp panel with the 15kw Generac as insurance against our typical summer tornado and winter storm outages. The wiring instructions and directions for various service setups are poor (inside panel has a little) or lacking all together. The only reasons I did not give it 5 stars were due to lack of decent instructions (although a licensed electrician is probably your best instruction). Once installed and approved by the inspector it worked like a charm. Even the... more
Pros: Durable, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Keith Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Keith Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The ordering is always simple and easy. Big box stores can't beat the prices and sales staff are far more knowledgeable and helpful than any big box store has ever been.Shipping has always been great. Recommend the curbside unloading--the extra few dollars is worth it. I've ordered some big stuff and each time the driver had a hand operated forklift and moved it right into my garage."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Will C.
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sturdy And Tamperproof
After being without power for 4 days on previous storm decided to be better prepared for next time. Careful planning recommended and qualified electrician should do the install. Works as described and has been used on two occasions since installed.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy To Use, Reliable
Will Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
40
John L.
Stanfordville, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/1/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly As Advertised
Installed in 2 hours. Now I have a generator outlet to run the whole house in case of emergency.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
John Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
John Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My electrician was very impressed with this product and will be recommending it to others on future jobs."
 more
Was this review helpful?
51
George Matos
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2006
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Reliance Controls 200-amp Utility/50-amp Generator Outdoor Manual Transfer Panel Review
installed a 150 amp with the feed thru and got it done 1.5 hrs it was great,thanks geo
Was this review helpful?
30
Frederick R.
Middleton, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/21/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Manual Transfer Switch / Panel
I love the ability to be able to select whatever circuit I need rather than the being locked into only 10 manual transfer circuits.
I also like the fact that the panel is listed for using mini breakers.
Frederick Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Thomas R.
Winamac, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/14/09
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Find
These are difficult to find, at this price especially.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
Thomas Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert
Tower City, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/30/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Needed
Just what I needed to tie in a government surplus generator to the client's service in a code-approved way.
Was this review helpful?
20
Luke W.
Stevens Point, WI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/20/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
The staff was very smart and educated about what I needed. They helped with tips on installation, and the transfer panel was well priced. Thank you.
Luke Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Luke W.
Stevens Point, WI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/20/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
The staff was very smart and educated about what I needed. They helped with tips on installation, and it was well priced. Thank you.
Luke Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris
California Foothills, CA
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Service!
Have not had to use the transfer switch yet, but, as usual the delivery service was great. Delivered as promised.

Bought a B & S a couple of months ago, it started up as promised.

Have not used it under a loss of power situation yet. But the delivery and shipping was great and also on time.
Was this review helpful?
11
Wayne M.
Pine Island, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/4/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
16
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Reliance Controls 200-amp Utility/50-amp Generator Outdoor Manual Transfer Panel Review
Wayne Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
08
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Reliance Controls TWB2005DR transfer panel reviews.Compare our Reliance Controls TWB2005DR ratings. Find the Reliance Controls TWB2005DR transfer panel that is right for you.