Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Reliance Controls R30310B Manual Transfer Switches Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$429.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$399.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Reliance Controls R30310B Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Durable (3)
Features (2)
High Quality (2)
Cons
Expensive (1)
Over Priced (1)
No Useful Hardware (1)
Packaging (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
14 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Ronald Carlson
Houston, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/14/10
REVIEWED
JUL.
05
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No More Extensions Cord! Hallelujah!!!
For some reason, no one placed a review on this item, so I will.

I have researched transfer switches for quite some time now. I chose this switch for the ease of installation and the fact that it offered enough circuits to cover my home.

I have a 8KW generator that I purchased locally that peaks at 10KW. I have nine of the ten circuits connected to my old FPE split bus type breaker panel which is on the exterior of my home.

The switch does exactly what it is supposed to do. It does... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
50
Garry
The Woodlands, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/13/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Transfer Switch
I received the outdoor transfer switch, and although the installation looked straight forward I elected to have an electrician wire the switch to the electrical service. I did mount the switch to the wall next to my service and after watching the electrician I am sure I could have done the entire installation.

The unit is great and performed exactly as advertised. The electrician I hired also made the comment that this was a well built switch compared to some he has installed, and the... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Jay
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/22/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
10 Circuit Transfer Switch
Great product. Robust and waterproof. Installation was pretty easy and I'm not an electrician. It functions great. The online video did help.

The only gripe I have is on the conduit installation . The sales material said 16 or 18 Inch and implied 90 degree elbows on both ends. It came with straight conduit around 13-14" and had no elbows. The insructions said to we 1" knock outs on th breaker boxes but they needed to be 1 1/4". I would recommend NOT using universal... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Tony M.
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/20/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Outdoor 30-amp Transfer Switch
This outdoor switch is about 20 lbs and has quality hinges. The paint looked like it was thick enough to last a long time outside. I needed my friend Jim to help me mount it, we used vinyl siding blocks to make a firm mount to the house and it was a little tricky to hold up and bring the feed from the back of the box into the house and install mounting screws. It worked out very well.

They only give you a short piece of grey 1'' non-metallic seal tight and two 1'' connectors which we did... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Short Wire Leads
Tony Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Tony Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everyone I spoke to on the phone was polite and courteous. If they did not know an answer, they found out. They were also patient with me."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Chuck
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/14/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleasure Doing Business
I ordered a transfer switch wrong and when I realized my mistake I called customer service. It was so easy to get a return number back to EGD and best of all there was no restocking charge, even though it was my mistake. I did pay frieght back, but that's normal for any Company.

It was a pleasure doing business with you guys.
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/2/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tired Of Being Out Of Power
My Wife and I live in the Mountains. We have power outages if the wind blows.

I had an Electrician hook it up, it only took him a few hours. We tested it and it runs our Well, Lights, Fridge, Freezer, Computer, TV, Washer- all of our house.

We are very happy.
Was this review helpful?
10
Steven
Dinuba, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/20/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Just Like Its Supposed To!
First of all, Jim answered all my questions in a timely manner and was very helpful. I hired an electrician, he wired my box to the preset breakers, connected my generator and everything worked just like it was supposed to.

Over the next few days I plan on running the generator more to let my wife and I discover how much electric we will have and how it all works. But I see no problems ahead. I even realized if I want to change a connection that should be easy to do.

Very pleased with... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Don
Coxs Creek, KY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/11/11
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Safety Is Key
I am very happy with the box. I hooked it up and everything is fine. I have a 5000 watt generator now and I plan to buy an 8000 watt in the future from EGD. They have the best pricing on the planet and their shipping is super fast. I would absolutely recommend them for generators and accessories.
Was this review helpful?
10
Susan
Ligonier, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/13/10
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Made Grandpop Smile!
I bought this generator for my 86 yr old dad. He always envied the "dinosaur "Y2K generator we bought 12 years ago. NOT AN ELECTRIC START!

My son found this site on-line and EVERYTHING WENT SMOOTH.It was not only a professional buying experience, quick, FREE DELIVERY, but the accessories suggested take all of the guessing out of sizing(cover) and hook-up.

After consulting our electrician,he said the Reliance transfer case was a good deal,the cover fit perfectly. The electric... more
Was this review helpful?
10
John P.
Pioneer, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/16/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Not Bad
I bought this along with a backup generator. The box, switches and connector are pretty well built. The pre-cut wires are a little short. No instructions and the mickey mouse flex conduit and piece of hardware is absolutely useless (almost insulting).
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Features
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging, No Useful Hardware
John Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Alberto L.
Hockley, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/13/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Transfer Switch
Very happy with my purchase. Took a couple of days to install, but only due to limited daylight time after work. Had an issue with one switch not working when on electric company position.

Reliance Controls customer service was very helpful. They mailed me out a new switch with instructions on how to replace. When I opened the unit, it turned out that one wire on the switch had come loose.

I connected the loose wire and was in business. Very pleased with this purchase. No more... more
Alberto Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jason Z.
Edina, MN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/7/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
Very nice, well made switch.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable, High Quality
Jason Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John B.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/8/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Needed It & Found It
It worked out very well. No problem with the install and set up. Everything went super with the shipping it was at my house with in 5 days. Thanks
Was this review helpful?
00
John B.
Houston, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/28/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Transfer Switch
My wife and I just returned to Texas in order to be close to our daughter. And, in the greater Houston area, power outages are a common thing. So, I bought a good generator and transfer switch for our new home just to be prepared as I'm sure we'll need it living here!
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive, Over Priced
John Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
John Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I really like this transfer switch. After doing a lot of research I chose this unit, although it's way over priced for what it is. In my opinion it should be closer to $200. Still, I'm very happy with it and it works great with my Troy Built 7,000 watt generator and came with all the required items (conduit & fittings) to connect to my outside electric panel. With the exception of my A/C, I was able to run all my major circuits without problem. And, just trained my wife to do it which was easy too! Also, suggest you watch the installation video on YouTube which was a big help on the whole set-up."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Reliance Controls R30310B manual transfer switche reviews.Compare our Reliance Controls R30310B ratings. Find the Reliance Controls R30310B manual transfer switche that is right for you.