Search
< Back to Product

Reliance Controls Q310A Manual Transfer Switches Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$380.57
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Reliance Controls Q310A Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (9)
High Quality (8)
Easy To Use (7)
Easy To Install As Each ... (6)
Price (6)
Cons
Expensive (2)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
50 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Chris
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/15/12
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Transfer Switch & Good Service
First, I want to thank EGD for their excellent customer service and fast shipping.

Its amazing to me, that the hardest part of installing one of these switches is the mounting of the unit and channeling the conduit. Especially if your load center is flush mount. That part took me the better part of 2.5 hours and a trip to the hardware store. Connecting the wiring was the easiest part done in about 45 minutes.

The nice thing about this switch is you can run one heavy duty appliance with... more
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
203
Tony
Tullytown, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/24/11
Total Reviews
9 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
32 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Good Example Of An Inter-changable Model
Installation was pretty easy... Planning ahead on which circuits to use will help quite a bit.

If you double click on the Transfer box, the far left came as a double pole 30 amp breaker.I removed it swapped over two 15 amp breakers. If we had an electric water heater, it would have stayed.Also replaced 5 of the 6 -15 Amp breakers with 5- 20Ampers. Electrician friend and I swapped. We kept the double pole 20Amp for a thru the wall large Air Conditioner..24Kbtu.
Electric stove, washer, dryer... more
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
122
J.w.
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
54 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Switch!
Local power outages lately seem to coming more often, and of longer duration. In July 2012 west suburban Chicago had a huge storm, and we were out for 5 days.

I wanted / needed a transfer switch for safety, and ease of hook up (the wife might need to hook up sometime).

Jim helped me select a Reliance Q310C, and Iím very satisfied with the choice. It covers all my essentials, and delivers power to hard-wired items like the furnace, well, bathroom and kitchen lights. No more extension... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
90
Mike
Danbury, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/11/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best 30-amp 10-circuit Transfer Switch
We ran 60 feet of #8 wire from the our shed to this transfer switch (in schedule 40 pipe), then had an Electrician buddy wire the panel for me- it was a lot easier than you would think. Just make sure you distribute the loads evenly. He was impressed with the versatility of this unit because the wires and unit were clearly labeled.

We needed a 30 amp double pole to power the 55 gal. electric hot water heater and this was the only transfer switch we found that had a 30 amp circuit. (You just... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
92
Lonny Wagener
Greensburg, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/18/10
Total Reviews
7 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
35 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Piece Of Equipment
I have a 6500 Watt generator and own a home with geothermal heat and electric water heater, and a gas fireplace for backup heat.

This 10 circuit switch is a tad bit large for my generator, but I wanted the capability to have lights, microwave, sump pump, and refrigerator circuits powered, or by turning these circuits off during the day, I can turn the hot water heater on to heat our water.

Once the water is hot, I can shut the 220 circuit off and turn all eight of the remaining circuits... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
50
Rich
Newton, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/6/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Customer
I purchased my Reliance Q310A transfer switch from Electric Generators Direct after hurricane Irene left us without power for five days. It arrived earlier than promised and impressed me as a well-made and well thought-out product. After watching Relianceís on-line instructional video and determining which circuits I wanted to route through the switch, the actual installation took only a few hours. The Q310 has interchangeable circuit breakers and I had to swap out a few of the supplied ones to... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
85
Michael Young
Weaverville, NC
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
American Made With Pride
Reliance Controls has helped to restore my faith in AMERICAN and MADE with PRIDE.

It is high quality, built well, and functions perfectly as advertised- well worth the investment.

I give it a five star rating... I made my own hinged plexiglass cover to prevent dust intrusion from the shop.

Excellent experience and service from Electric Generators Direct, I would definitely purchase from them in the future.
View Image
Was this review helpful?
20
Thomas Newton
New Haven, KY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/10/09
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I installed this unit without a hitch. I recessed the switch in the wall.

I took the NEMA Plug out and Hard wired the switch. The directions were good.

Don't mind the patchy drywall. It is temporary until I get a new sheet to cut a one-piece replacement.

I would buy Reliance from this website again.

Fast shipping, no problems.
View Image
Was this review helpful?
00
Norman
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/1/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Q310a
After about 6-8 weeks on back-order status, it shipped. Arrived in good order. Next job was to line up a qualified electrician to install it

I know other posters have installed this unit themselves with seemingly little expertise and minimal stated time expended, but I did not want to take any chances of a costly or dangerous mistake and so hired an electrician. No regrets. He had 30 years experience and indicated that he was seeing more and more customer transfer switches being installed... more
Was this review helpful?
80
George M.
Randolph, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/28/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Reliance Transfer Switch
My Electrician hooked it up in less than an hours time and it covers mostly everything except the BIG electric items....STOVE, DRYER and Washing Machine and 3.5 TON A/C Unit.Otherwise, the entire house is wired including the oil fired heating system, Sump Pump, 2 refrigerators, lights, TV's and computers. It is a medium sized Split roughly 2,500 sq. ft. All of this on 10 circuits.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Price, Exceeded Expectations
George Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Myron A.
Greer, SC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/7/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Good My Electrician Wanted One
I ordered this switch when it was on backorder, but it was shipped and received as promised.

I already had a six circuit transfer switch on my 200 amp home service and a reliable 6500 generator. My intent was to upgrade to whole-house by using manual load sharing, including my high efficiency 3 1/2 ton Trane air conditioning that covers my 2400 sq ft residence, using the dual 30 amp breakers to do so.

I had abandoned the idea of putting in a whole-house natural gas standby... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Robert
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Reliance Panel
This was any easy installation . Everything is labeled and very simple . The watt meters are handy to let you know if your overloading Your generator as your switching in your circuits . All and all it was a good Experience . I give Reliance an AAA +
Was this review helpful?
30
Tom G.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/27/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Piece Of Equipment
Only had one 3 day power outage since my purchase and it worked great. Did have a problem with the 30amp circut running my hot water heater but found out later it was due to a time of day switch that my electrician corrected by changing a couple of connections. I guess I should have hired him to make the instalstion to start with.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Easy To Install As Each Circuit Was Clearly Marked, Price
Tom Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Richard
Barrington, RI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/15/10
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Unit - I Like The Interchangeable Breakers
I decided to install a transfer switch so that I could connect a generator when needed to power critical circuits such as the boiler and freezers. I installed the transfer switch during the winter with the expectation of buying the generator the following summer. My wife wasn't sure we really needed this, but went along with me anyhow. The generator arrived the following summer and that fall there was a hurricane and we lost power for several days. We grow a lot of our food and freeze it. The... more
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Install As Each Circuit Was Clearly Marked, Easy To Use
Richard Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Doug B.
Silver Spring, MD
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Transfer Switch Has Worked When Called Upon
I bought the transfer switch in October 2012 and have used it a few times since then and it has performed exactly as advertised. My installer said the installation was straight forward and easy to do. After he was done I had to switch a couple of breakers and had no problem. I bought this model because of the 10 circuits on the two different lines so I could divide my furnace and appliances. There are just a few circuits on my house panel that didnít get switched over (microwave,... more
Pros: High Quality, Features, Price, Easy To Use
Doug Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael C.
Belvidere, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/30/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Install
I installed the unit myself in about 1 & 1/2 hours . It was easy as each circuit was clearly marked .

I live in North West Jersey and two years in a row we were without power for 12 to 14 days , now I can rest easy when we get a BAD weather report .
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Easy To Install As Each Circuit Was Clearly Marked, Easy To Install As Each Circuit Was Clearly Marked
Michael Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
20
John F.
Huntington, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/8/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I ordered this MTS to replace a 20 amp unit when I upgraded to a 5000w Honda generator. With 10 circuits I can power many more circuits in my home. It's well made, rather heavy, and some may not the space required to install it next to your Main Service Panel. Price wise it's rather expensive, however it's worth the money to install a portable generator the correct way. As the saying goes, a quality purchase only hurts once!
Pros: Features, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
John Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
John Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping and excellent customer service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ken
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/7/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready For The Next Storm
After Sandy, I figured it was time to get a generator and transfer switch. Bought this unit because I have a 100% electric house and need a 30 amp twin breaker for the 50 gallon hot water heater. I took my time and installed the unit little by little until complete. Probably took about 3 hours total over the course of 2 weekends. I have basic residential electrical knowledge, but this unit is unbelievably easy to install. Hardest part for me was mounting the unit because the conduit is too... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Doug
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/4/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Easy, Even A Knuckle-dragging Mechanical Engineer Can Do It
Bought this transfer switch after the June 2012 VA land hurricane to hook up my Generac 6500 to the house. Haven't had to use it yet (spending the $$$ seems to be the best 'outage insurance' available), but the installation was MUCH easier than I expected. I bought some butt splice connectors at Lowes, which seemed to work better than the typical 'wire nuts' used to join wires together. The wiring was totally straight-forward and easy. The only hard/frustrating part was mounting the switch... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Dave C.
Olympia, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/9/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tranfer Switch Q310c
Sorry it took me a while to respond as I purchased the box in early Oct. and had it installed the end of October. Thank you for sending me installers in the area, however I did not use any. I was a little taken back at the cost estimates from local companies to install the box. I know that these are professional and command a healthy fee however for a 2 hour job the lowest bid was over $1000 dollars and Mr. Sparky clocked in at $1700.

I contacted my local service provider Puget Sound... more
Dave Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael S.
Seattle, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/21/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Supurb Product
Even if I never lose power, this product and my Honda Eu700iS generator have given me peace of mind.

If I ever do lose power, all I have to do is start up the generator and flip on the circuits I want to use.
Michael Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
10
William O.
Pottsville, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/18/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
All Electric House
This product will allow me to have heat and power during outages. I don't look forward to needing it, but it will provide lots of piece of mind if I never do so.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, High Quality, Easy To Install As Each Circuit Was Clearly Marked
William Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
William Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery and fair prices."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert O.
Charlestown, RI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/27/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
One Comment
The only problem I had was figuring out how to connect the transfer panel for a three-wire "home run" set of wires. That is where a 3-wire cable is used to provide two 115 volt circuits to the far corner of the house. The directions on this are not clear but I figured it out.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Robert,
Reliance always suggests if you're unfamiliar with an installation like this, it would be best to contact a licensed electrician for installation.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
P H.
Wake Forest, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/24/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Flexible!
I needed only one 220V circuit and all the others single in 15 and 20 amps. All the "fixed" switches offered two 220v circuits which cut down on the single ones I needed. This unit offers such flexibility!

A quick trip to Home Depot buying one 15 amp breaker and one 20 amp breaker for about $7 total enabled me to convert a 220v circuit to two single circuits. This was exactly what I needed - a custom transfer switch to match the needs of my home instead of matching the home to... more
P Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
P's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Advice given on the phone by EGD before purchase was PERFECT! I explained my needs and they matched my needs right to the appropriate transfer switch. I say that AFTER installation. Perfect about EVERYTHING! I racked my brain trying to decide on all the models of switches from various websites. Would this work or would that work. Wish I had called Electric Generators Direct first and saved myself some headaches trying to find the right switch. Shipping was prompt."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Janet G.
San Diego, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/10/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
For Internal Use
The description did not say for internal use and we ended up having to purchase a weatherproof box to install it in.
Janet Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James A.
Crandall, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Install Generator Transfer Switch 10 Circuit
Installing the transfer switch was easy just follow directions takes about 3 hours, also very impressed with PED on shipping. Was fast and fair priced and product was as described.
James Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
James's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick shipping at a fair price, plus they had best price around."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry B.
Elgin, IL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/29/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy-to-use And Install
My customer purchased a generator and asked me to supply the rest of the items needed. I researched several manufacturers and system. I found the Reliance system suited all the needs of my customer. After my customer determined which circuits were to be connected to the transfer switch the hardest part of the install was done. If another customer needs a generator setup I will be purchasing a Reliance system again.
Larry Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John C.
Westlake, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/19/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready For Any Power Outage...
Just what we needed. I now have the whole house wired so if the power goes out, we are covered!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Easy To Use
John Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/1/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Peace Of Mind...
Many of my electrical customers who want to " prepare for battle" with 2013 hurricane season, rely on me to get them as ready as possible with transfer switch, generator installations. The Reliance transfer switch gives them peace of mind that they wont be left in the dark. The product is easy to use, no concerns of back feeding the grid.

The unit can be customized, removable breakers, to meet there specific needs. I will continue to install these units as they area high quality,... more
Pros: Features, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Tim Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Tim Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"EGD has been my companies "go to" supplier for transfer switches, gen cords, and whole house generators. EGD over the last few years of using them, has made good on all their products and any issues that have we have had (not their fault) has gone out of their way to make it right."
 more
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Tim,
Thanks for the kind words. We appreciate your business.
Was this review helpful?
00
Harry B.
Naples, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/13/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Preparing For Swf Hurricanes
We have the unit mounted adjacent to our circuit box. The generator will be positioned in the driveway. We have a 7500 unit. This Reliance Unit allows us to operate several bedrooms and kitchen.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Harry Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Harry Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"New.....Have not yet had a hurricane to test the unit."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Haskell
Cypress, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/16/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Transfer Switch
This transfer switch is a good quality product, and installed quite easily. Even swapping out two of the breakers was a breeze. No issues to report, and a thorough load test last week revealed no problems.
Was this review helpful?
00
Phil
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/18/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Transfer Switch Very Nice
Although it was back ordered for about 2 months, we didn't have any outages during the wait. The switch seems well built and the electrician thought it was well designed and was able to install it in short order. Has plenty of switches (of course, more would be better) but it was flexible enough.
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/8/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Now I'm Ready!
When I saw the power outages in NY and NJ after Sandy, I decided it was time to buy a generator and transfer switch. These storms that knock out power seem to be happening a lot more frequently, whether you believe in global warming or not so I'm going to be prepared. I did a lot of online research and decided on the Generac 7500E and the Reliance Controls 30 amp, 10 breaker transfer switch.

Very happy with both. I just finished hooking up the transfer switch today and it took about an... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Woody
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/28/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easier Than You Think
I was a bit intimidated by the sheer number of wires, but the actual wiring process is almost foolproof. And, the safety and convenience of the installed switches is great.

I would suggest that at least half of the included single pole breakers should be 20 amp rather than 15. In my case all but one had to be changed, but then they are not expensive.
Was this review helpful?
00
Stan
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/3/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Honest Product
This transfer switch is very easy to install yourself. If you know how to change a circuit breaker in your home's service panel then this job will be simple for you. The transfer switch is pre-wired and everything is labeled and color-coded.

I didn't need the included double-pole 20A breaker so I just went to the big box store and got myself 2- 20 amp singles for $3.50 each and inserted them in the sockets. Now I can control 8 circuits plus the 30A double pole for my electric water... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron P.
Medford, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/24/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Installation Went Well
Excellent product and workmanship on this Reliance control box. I found the price to be very fair, and it was very easy to install by the DIY-er if you have the basics.

Easy to read installation instructions are included. I am not an electrician by any means, and found easy to do on my own; it went very well with no problems or issues. I'm very happy and would tell anybody to use this transfer switch any day.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/4/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth The Price
The Honda generator wheel & handle kit was very easy to assemble and the owner's manual is easy to follow for generator operation. After set-up, the generator started right up. I tested it out with my newly installed Q310A Reliance Controls Transfer Switch. The generator works flawlessly. Now I'm ready for what Mother Nature can throw at me.

The Reliance Controls Transfer Switch instructions were very easy to follow and the switch was easy to install.
Was this review helpful?
00
Stan
Shelton, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/23/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gp6500e
The generator seems to fit my needs perfectly. I purchased an EMERGENCY unit since it will only receive limited duty but will have excellent care and maintenance. I do expect longevity of this unit using it as stated, time will tell. The customer service at EGD is nothing short of the best I've dealt with. Kris is extremely knowledgeable, polite, and most helpful with any and all questions asked of him.

The Century cable is capable of doing what it was designed to do.

The Transfer... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael
Downers Grove, IL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/19/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bring It On!
And ComEd didn't let me down. Four days after having transfer switch installed, ComEd is down for six hours. Our neighborhood is cursed. My one practice run through after installation made things go perfectly. Generator fired right up, flipped a few switches and we had lights, TV, fans, freezer and fridge and peace of mind. Only house in neighborhood that had power. And I was worrying that I had talked my wife into a big ticket item that we would hardly use. She's Generac's biggest fan now.
... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Randolph
Wellsville, MO
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Installation Success
All purchases showed up quickly and in good condition. The pre-wired transfer switch w/ instructions were easy to follow and thorough to make the hook up with the main panel selected circuits complete.

After completion of the installation I did a test of the whole unit and we now feel more confident of not having a complete power failure in an emergency.
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard Chestnut
Palestine, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/22/10
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Q310a Transfer Switch
Electric Generators Direct came through with flying colors!! Ordered my transfer switch online and it seemed that almost immediately I had confirmation and order was showing shipped.

Arrived at my house a day earlier than predicted. It took two hours (at a comfortable pace) to install and test. I'm ready for the next power outage. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful?
00
Rusty Mason
Lake Stevens, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/13/10
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simple, Clean Looking Unit
I am very happy with our choice to buy from Reliance Controls. My purchase was easy and came on time with no problems. The Q310A was a simple clean looking unit to install.

The job went quick and looked nice when I was done. My customer was happy, my Electrical Inspector was happy and that's all I ask.

Thank you Reliance Controls, I will use you again.

Rusty Mason,
Owner Mason Electric & Construction
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim A.
Chicagoland, IL
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Set Up
Purchased this set up for occasional power outages.

Instructions are fantastic and easy to follow. The whole set up took me no more than 3 hours to complete and that included a trip to the local store for black, white, red, and green 10-gauge wire for the power inlet box, some 20-amp breakers because I wanted to change the box around a little and, some other small items.

Watch the videos on Reliance Controls web site as well as read the directions a few times prior to install and you... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank Fishbeck
Alvin, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/5/10
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
A very good product. It was very easy to install if you understand electricity and you are a good DIYer. It works just like they say it does and I'm very happy with it.
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald Dahl
Port Orchard, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/23/10
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty & Easy To Install
The transfer switch is heavy duty and easy to install. The instructions were simple and you can even see a connection video at the company site.

I managed to power up the entire house with the exception of the stove. If I run the electric water heater I obviously have to limit other loads.
Was this review helpful?
00
Alastair Russell
Bullard, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/15/10
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Class Equipment, Honest Company
I just want to pass along the excellent service and equipment your company provides.

I placed an order and within days the components started to arrive, and the generator was delivered right to my doorstep.

I received this equipment just as the second major snow storm arrived in Texas.

First class equipment and a wonderful, honest company- need I say anymore?!
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/2/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Best Transfer Switch
I bought this for my in-laws. They bought a Generac XG8000 and needed a transfer switch. They originally bought a six circuit from a bog box store, but it wasn't big enough.

Then I ordered this one and what a difference... great product and by far superior to what the big box store was selling.
Was this review helpful?
01
Steve
Moorhead, MN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/13/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready In Mn
I did alot of research on transfer switches verses an interlock switch. After deciding the transfer switch was the way to go, I looked at what my local stores and what the internet had to offer.

The Reliance internet site was the best I found and the video they have on installation was great. I then found Electric Generators Direct web site to be the best. The details, selections, and ability to email questions was awesome. Their prices were good and in my opinion the reliance Q310A is... more
Was this review helpful?
01
Tom N.
Ewing, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/9/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Buy
This unit is labeled extremely well which makes instillation a breeze.
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Install As Each Circuit Was Clearly Marked, Easy To Use, Price
Tom Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Burl T.
Boise, ID
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/22/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
Works GREAT.
Was this review helpful?
17
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Reliance Controls Q310A manual transfer switche reviews.Compare our Reliance Controls Q310A ratings. Find the Reliance Controls Q310A manual transfer switche that is right for you.