Your Cart @ Electric Generators Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
< Back to Product

Reliance Controls 30216A Manual Transfer Switches Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$239.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$239.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$263.35
(as of 06:02 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$234.66
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Reliance Controls 30216A Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (1)
Fast (1)
Price (1)
Easy To Use (1)
Cons
None to display.
13 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Russ
Port Republic, MD
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Transfer Switch For The Money
(THIS IS ONLY AN OPINION, I AM NOT A CERTIFIED ELECTRICIAN), But, if you can wire an electric socket and or switch, you should be able to handle this without much difficulty. Although there are a couple of items that should be covered for clarification of installation.

1. To install the provided "male plug" into the switch front housing, you may need to remove the (2) two front bottom screws on the transfer switch, so you can find the (4) four wires needed to hook up the plug. (2... more
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
41
Russ
Port Republic, MD
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Transfer Switch For The Money
(THIS IS ONLY AN OPINION, I AM NOT A CERTIFIED ELECTRICIAN), But, if you can wire an electric socket and or switch, you should be able to handle this without much difficulty. Although there are a couple of items that should be covered for clarification of installation.

1. To install the provided "male plug" into the switch front housing, you may need to remove the (2) two front bottom screws on the transfer switch, so you can find the (4) four wires needed to hook up the plug. (2... more
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
31
Edward W.
Ypsilanti, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/21/14
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Install. Easy To Use.
I previously used extension cords running through the house with the generator, but had no way to run the furnace. A furnace transfer switch is about half the cost of getting a multi-circuit switch, and you need to use an extension cord to run it. So, I purchased this 6-circuit switch to power the furnace, sump pump & chest freezer, refrigerator, TV & cable, and two circuits of lights. No more messing around with cords! The installation was easy and looks clean and professional.

I'm... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Edward Recommends This Reliance Controls Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Matt
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/9/13
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
30 Amp Control / Switch
The product seems well made, I installed it myself after reading the instructions. Install was easy. Tested it a few times and it seems to work correctly. Luckily we haven't needed it yet, also we are using a 5500 watt gen, with a inside hookup and a 40 ft. 10 gauge cord. The shipment was fast. I was happy with the purchase.
Was this review helpful?
40
Robert Fawcett
Evansville, IN
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Midwestern Ice Storm- February 2009
When the ice storm hit the midwest we were without power for two weeks.

This transfer switch provided power with a 5000 watt generator to run our refrigerators, microwave, gas furnace blower and water pump- and it kept the pipes keep from freezing. We could live like civilized human beings again.

It was easy to install with online video (www.reliancecontrols.com). Once installed, we just plugged in the cord through a window and started the generator, then flipped switches from line to... more
Was this review helpful?
40
A. T.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/1/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Sevice... Great Price
I bought a generator locally, and ordered these parts for installation. My electrician friend told me what to buy, and the BEST PRICE (including box stores nearby) was Electric Generators Direct.

Even after delivery charges...........THIS WAS CHEAPER AND IDENTICAL TO THE PARTS available locally. The items were VERY WELL PACKED, and arrived JUST AS ADVERTISED.

Overall, A GREAT EXPERIENCE WITH ELECTRIC GENERATORS DIRECT.
Was this review helpful?
10
Ron
Uniontown, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/12/10
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Test My Reliance Transfer Switch
Just had it installed, hooked up the generator and everything worked just fine.

Hope I never have to hook it up again, but if I do, it is ready.
Was this review helpful?
10
Bill
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Switch
I have this switch and it works well. It's a breeze to install, hardest part was finding a place to mount it to be honest. I have a Generac 5500 watt generator and they work well together. I easily could have driven an eight or ten breaker unit, that would be my only comment, I should have gotten something a little bigger, but that was my fault, this switch is great.
Was this review helpful?
00
Victor
New Bern, NC
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied
The Reliance Panel met all of my expectations for use. It was shipped in a timely manner and well packaged. I would recommend EGD to a friend.
Was this review helpful?
00
James Leach
Damascus, OR
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/5/10
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
26
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Will Buy From Egd Again
I love the electric start, it makes it very easy for my customer to start it and the transfer switch is user friendly.

I placed my order and was updated with shipping info daily. I will be buying from Electric Generators Direct.com again.
Was this review helpful?
00
Victor
New Bern, NC
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied
The Reliance Panel met all of my expectations for use. It was shipped in a timely manner and well packaged. I would recommend EGD to a friend.
Was this review helpful?
01
Peter L.
Camano Island, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/4/10
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
6 Circuit Transfer Switch
I like the product, but if I were a novice at electrical I would have had difficulty with the installation instructions. They are very poorly written and nowhere in the instructions could I find the NEMA numbers for the connectors needed. Yes they're on the connector, but hard to see. All in all a good product. Nice touch on having the wires stamped with the circuit numbers.
Was this review helpful?
01
Thomas Lutz
Bowie, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/3/09
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2009
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Initial Review Reliance 30216a
When I placed my order I knew it would be a little while before it was shipped; I did not however, expect it to take a month which I found to be a bit disappointing.

The product, though not installed or tested, appears to be very well manufactured and I'm glad to be able to buy American (USA).

I was also very disappointed that a schematic was not included with the documentation and I was unable to locate one on the Internet.
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
The manual provided with the transfer switch is available online and shows step by step instructions with photos that are easier to follow than a schematic. You can ask Reliance to send you a schematic by pasting this link into your browser: http://www.reliancecontrols.com/Support.aspx?contact

When multiple natural disasters occur across the country (in this case an ice storm in New England and record snows in the Western States) it may take a while for the supply to catch up to the demand. Reliance worked very hard to produce their product as quickly as they could while still maintaining their quality. We apologize for any inconvenience the delay may have caused.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Reliance Controls 30216A manual transfer switche reviews.Compare our Reliance Controls 30216A ratings. Find the Reliance Controls 30216A manual transfer switche that is right for you.