Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Midwest Electric U030ND Power Inlet Boxes Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
Midwest Electric U030ND Reviews
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Rc Thompson
Meriden, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/31/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
28
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power Inlet Box Installation
Excellent product which did meet the local electrical code requiring a weather tight box and upward sloping plug in method features (rectangular boxes with spring loaded covers do not meet our local codes). However, the box did not come with an installed grounding lug, or a threaded hole designed for a pigtail ground.

I would assume that if continuous metal conduit is used to connect to the transfer switch and load center, a separate grounding connection to the box might not be required.... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
00
Jason Nichols
Laporte, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/28/08
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2009
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Well Built And A Great Value
This was a super simple installation with a well built box, and a great value, but a I did have a couple small concerns...

1. To use the most logical knock out on the back of the unit (at least for the clamps that I had on hand) you will need to put the clamp in on the inside and use a small spacer washer inside in order for the box to sit flush to the wall. It's not a big deal really, but odd design in my opinion.

2. This probably won't matter to most, but the opening in the bottom... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
00
Mariano T.
Stamford, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/27/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Midwest Inlet Box
I do not understand why this item is discontinued, it is a very good product and easy to work with. The angle of the plug connector is good. The cover, which will close on the connector and can be locked, is also good.
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Mariano,
Sometimes a manufacturer will discontinue a product because they have introduced a new part number or a new supplier; or made other improvements.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe P.
Bronx, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/9/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Joe
Installation of the box was easy. The side and bottom knockouts give additional water entry prevention and the lock hasp provides security.

One concern is that the bottom opening that allows power cord to be connected and secured. When not in use, it can provide a home for bees or other insects. Prevent this by placing tape over bottom opening when not in use. Maybe this is why this item has been discontinued?
Was this review helpful?
00
Les
Detroit, AL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/2/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product. Lid Issues However
The box is made the same as most breaker boxes- tough, heavy duty metal. There are several punch-out holes to choose from.

The only issue is the lid does not completely close off the compartment when closed. I suppose they left this so the generator cord could stick out. If so, that's OK, but when no cord is attached it should completely closed off so wasps and spiders can't make it home.

I modified mine with a piece of metal attached to the bottom to prevent insects from using it. I... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian
Arlington, VA
REVIEWED
AUG.
14
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Big Enough To Be Easy To Work With.
Nice external hookup box. Easy to mount and easy to wire. Lots of room to bend the wires.

I like that I could lock the box with the cord inside so it won't get lost.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jon
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/5/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice
This product makes the most sense in how it's set up. The connection is covered and the cord isn't bent at a right angle. Lots of space to make the connections.

If nothing else, sort the reviews from lowest to highest. There aren't any low reviews!
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Rockaway, NJ
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electrician Review
This is a well made inlet box. It has room for wire and an easy pre-wired ground terminal. Should last for decades.
Was this review helpful?
00
Maryann
Putnam Valley, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/3/12
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
30 Amp Inlet Box Easy To Install - Knockout Near Bottom Of Box
This Midwest Electric 30 amp inlet box worked out beautifully.

At first I thought it was the maybe too large and the wrong shape for my house because I was installing it from a crawl space. As it turns out the electrical knockout was near the BOTTOM of the box, so I was able to drill a hole just above the sill plate and mount the box vertically near the bottom of my cedar tongue-in-groove siding. It's a very good design. The Twist Lock Connector fit was perfect too.
Was this review helpful?
00
Craig
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/20/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Install For Outdoor Placement
This unit was easy to install outside, and provides easy access for connection and dis connection of cord.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/13/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Never Again
The Halloween snow storm was my 2nd time with losing power for 5 days. I will never again go without power again. Freezing, eating out, throwing out everything in frig and just the whole inconvenience of it. I purchased a Honeywell 6500 generator and had my house wired. This was the best insurance I have in case it happens again. I am very pleased with the generator and the price was great and delivery was right on time.
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/13/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Install
Great Product, Easy to Install
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven
Milton, NH
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Relief To Find One
High quality and easy to install. Well worth the investment.
Was this review helpful?
00
Steven
Milton, NH
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Relief To Find One
High quality and easy to install. Well worth the investment.
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve
Hartford, CT
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Box
I mounted the box in the garage. It was easy to mount and plenty of room for wires. I would buy again.
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve
Hartford, CT
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Box
I mounted the box in the garage. It was easy to mount and plenty of room for wires. I would buy again.
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Rochdale, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/13/09
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electrical Service Owner Review
This product allows for ample wiring room and is completely rain-tight while in use.
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Milford, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/14/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generators & Supplies
This is just one of many things I have ordered from this company. I had looked into being a Generac distributor and found it to be alot less expensive to buy from Electric Generators Direct than from Generac directly. As a contractor I have had only good luck with this company.

From 20 kw generators to small transfer switches --I would not hesitate to order from these people.
Was this review helpful?
00
G
New Jersey, NJ
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electrician
The product I purchased was shipped promptly at a good price and quality product. Very happy with my buying experience.
Was this review helpful?
00
G
New Jersey, NJ
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electrician
The product I purchased was shipped promptly at a good price and quality product. Very happy with my buying experience.
Was this review helpful?
00
David
Arlington, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/9/09
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Retired Master Electrican With 48 Years Of Experience
I really like this unit. It is easy to install and looks great on outside wall. I have had nothing but the best service anyone could ask.

Speaking of asking: when I asked Bob he was never in a hurry and gave me all the time I felt necessary to answer all my questions mostly about the Briggs & Stratton model #30471 generator I'll be buying sometime this week.

I'll be doing business with this company in the future. Hope this helps anyone who reads.
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom S
Deltona, FL
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thanks
After Striking Out Looking For This Item Locally, I Remembered Electric Generators Direct.
Great Price. Placed the Order. It Was Delivered On Time. No B.S. Thanks Electric Generators Direct
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom S
Deltona, FL
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thanks
After Striking Out Looking For This Item Locally, I Remembered Electric Generators Direct.
Great Price. Placed the Order. It Was Delivered On Time. No B.S. Thanks Electric Generators Direct
Was this review helpful?
00
Luis
Highland Lakes, NJ
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
30-amp Power Inlet Box
The box arrived sooner than expected, well packed and I installed it without any problems.

The big advantages this model has against the hardware stores models are the cover to protect the connection from the weather, the lock to restrict its access while is not being used, and the price that was great!

Thank You!
Was this review helpful?
00
Luis
Highland Lakes, NJ
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
30-amp Power Inlet Box
The box arrived sooner than expected, well packed and I installed it without any problems.

The big advantages this model has against the hardware stores models are the cover to protect the connection from the weather, the lock to restrict its access while is not being used, and the price that was great!

Thank You!
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruce S.
Lake Jackson, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/11/10
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Item For The Price
Very nice and well built. A snap to install.

Since this plug will usually be out of service, I like the fact you can place a padlock on it to keep little fingers from opening the cover and contacting the plug.

Also, you can even lock it with the cord plugged in. Great item for the price.
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry Boswell
Owensboro, KY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/20/10
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
I ordered two, and have installed one already with the other to be done shortly.

I recommended them to a friend who has ordered his and received it.

We are both very satisfied with quality, price, and design.
Was this review helpful?
00
Toos To
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2008
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Midwest Electric 30-amp (4-prong) Power Inlet Box Review
I bought this for my house. It is a serviceable box at a decent price. After installing it I think I might have been better off buying the more expensive Reliance version for $20 more, since I like their gasketed cover. Still, it did install fairly easily and I don't plan on changing it. I would call it "builders grade."
Was this review helpful?
00
Carman Electrical Service,inc West Babylon N.y.
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2007
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Midwest Electric 30-amp (4-prong) Power Inlet Box Review
We have installed this product on four jobs this past year.Easy to install and a install time saver.
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Midwest Electric U030ND power inlet boxe reviews.Compare our Midwest Electric U030ND ratings. Find the Midwest Electric U030ND power inlet boxe that is right for you.