Search
< Back to Product

Honeywell 6037 Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$799.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$799.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$925.00
No Sales Tax* (Except NY)
Visit Site
 
$799.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$799.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Honeywell 6037 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (2)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
High Quality (1)
Durable (1)
I'd Buy It Again (1)
Cons
None to display.
75% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
18 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dianne M.
Hampden, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/15/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!
So far, so good. Delivered on time, went together easily, started right up hope I never have to use it, but I love having a security blanket that as a 73 year old woman, I can move it, easily add oil and gas and Just push a button to start it!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Dianne Recommends This Honeywell Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles P.
Seymour, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/10/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Effortless to set up, quiet, seems as quiet as units priced double!
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Charles Recommends This Honeywell Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel
Westbrook, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/1/13
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Honeywell 5500 Electric Start
Well this site Electric Generators Direct shipped it to me fast. The battery on the generator came fully charged and started up on 1st try. It is a lot quieter than my old generator which won't keep my neighbors up. I highly recommend this model. Oh and yes 3 year warranty.
Was this review helpful?
200
Geri L.
Newtown, PA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
36 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Have No Idea What I'm Doing & I Got This Generator To Work
My kids bought me this generator for Christmas 2011 because I get water in the basement and need to keep my sump pump going in a storm. I have the electric start and I had a transfer switch installed. I have never been near a generator before much less used one!

Hurricane Sandy came a calling, and the power went out. I fired up the generator (I had checked the oil and put in gas in the days before the storm's approach), attached the power cord, flipped the transfer switch circuit breakers... more
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Geri,
How long the tank of gas will last depends on how much electricity the generator has to provide. The fewer things that are plugged in, the longer the tank will last.
more
Was this review helpful?
190
Geri
Newtown, PA
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
36 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Follow Up
I had a chest freezer, refrigerator, outlets in the family room, TV, cable box, telephone, Internet, sump pump, and water pump on the generator. It ran for 9 hrs... no problem. I turned it off.

When I refueled, it took about 4 gallons, so it would have run longer.

NICE!!
Was this review helpful?
170
Gene
Whitesboro, NY
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Generator
Received generator today and packaging was excellent. This generator came with a quart of oil and even had a charged battery. After puttiing the wheels and handles on, i filled it with oil and gas and it started right up.

This generator is not very loud for the size of this motor that is around 13 HP. I would buy this generator again and i believe they are made by Generac. Excellent Company
Was this review helpful?
152
Jeff
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/15/13
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Emergency Generator
Ordering was a breeze, delivery was no problem, put it together, added oil, and gas and it started right up. I had a question about using synthetic oil and EGD answered right away. Good experience all the way around.
Was this review helpful?
131
Don
East Hampton, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/21/12
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Generator Review
Power outages several times a year but usually repaired within a few hours. Storms more recently caused us several 3 -5 day outages. Water, freezer, refrigerator, furnace and a/c? our concern. Honeywell was mid price, my error thought it had remote start so wife could use it when I'm not around. But overall started up fine and with the 10 circuit panel will do the job great. The electric start is also a feature we will use as I nor the wife can pull start equipment.
Was this review helpful?
100
Dave
Glastonbury, CT
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Worked Great
Power was out for 4 days and I bought the first generator I could so I did no investigation before buying it. I have to say however that it came with oil (which is great since I had no time to go shopping for it) and started right up after I filled it with gas.

I had no time to connect the handles, wheels or electric start battery so the fact that it started on the second pull was a relief. The generator ran steady and consistent the entire time I had it on. It powered everything in my... more
Was this review helpful?
112
Diane D.
Wingett Run, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/13/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Gift To My Sister
After the June 29th storm that hit Ohio, my sister lost all of the food she had just purchased and placed in her freezer. Her power was off for 7 days in SE Ohio, and the temperature went passed the hundred degree mark for the next week! Her insurance paid for about a third of the cost. My husband decided that, when we came into a few extra bucks, he was going to buy her a portable generator so that would not happen again.

He looked and looked at the local stores and in the catalogs and... more
Was this review helpful?
71
Brian N.
East Brunswick, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/9/12
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
11
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Receipt Of Purchase
I received my Honeywell 6037 generator on time when promised. Delivery was made to my house. The driver took my package to garage.

I assembled the wheels and handles, filled with oil that came with the product and also filled it with some gas- the product started right up.

It ran for several minutes while I checked for leaks and any visible damage. Everything seems to be good. I have no problems with my purchase at all.
Was this review helpful?
104
John
Chalfont, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/30/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Buying Experience On Line That I Ever Had
I want to say that the people i dealt with at Electric Generator were so pleasant and cordial people also they knew their product ve it was shipped on time and they informed me of the way to track it. Also the R&L trucking co. was really great. They called me when they were ready to bring it to my house and the driver could not have been nicer. From start to finish it was a great experience. I will always go to Electric generator first for all my generator needs. The generator was a snap... more
Was this review helpful?
62
Jeff
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/8/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
6037 Review
I bought this just in case, since everyone around me seem to be losing power.

The set up was fairly simple and it starts right up without using the choke. I have it hooked into a transfer switch and it worked like a charm.

I have not had a chance to run it for an actual power loss so I don't know what the gas and oil consumption are like, but am satisfied with it so far.

It is loud, but I have a feeling that unless you fork out $2000 or so for a Honda, they are all loud. Luckily I'm... more
Was this review helpful?
62
Dennis C.
Camas, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/27/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied Customer
Received my Honeywell 5500E generator yesterday. Got it all set up fired right up on first try, Will make the wife happy since this is an electric start.

She could not pull the cord on my old generator. Being used as a house backup during power outages, the only negative is that the spec sheet said it had a hour meter and it does not, other than that I am satisfied with the performance.
Dennis Recommends This Honeywell Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Gary
Athol, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/9/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Receiving And Unpacking Generator
Free shipping is great but when I was not home for the delivery I had to call the number of the trucking company to set up a time I would be home.

Anyway after unpacking everything look great it started right up but was spilling gas out of the carburetor. I called the 800 number for help and all I got was do you have a paper and pencil handy I said yes. Then she gave me two numbers of stores that repair for them. I thought I was going to get some help right off saying maybe the gas needle... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mark
Union Mills, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/15/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Very Good
I was extremely disappointed in the Honeywell generator I just bought from Generators direct. To start off with, it was made in China. I have absolutely no faith in Chinese quality control from personal experience. It looks cheaply made , the welds on the frame are bad and the tires might as well have made out of cardboard. Generator Direct asked for an honest opinion so here it is: BUY SOMETHING ELSE NOT MADE IN CHINA!
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Mark,
Due to the current manufacturing landscape in the USA, almost all portable generators, regardless of the manufacturer, are produced, assembled or have components from China. Honeywell stands behind their generators and provides a 3 Year Limited Residential Warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
87
Thomas S.
Bliss, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/6/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
I Am Deisappointed
I had another 5500 Watt generator I could not start it because it was not electric start. My health is a problem I am disabled I can't crank on it by hand. I bout the Honeywell because it is electric start, It started and runs ok. BUT the engine has no chargeing system to charge the battery. Haveing to hook a 110 volt charger to household power is a big bother. When I bout it I thought it had it's own chargeing system for the battery. The battery charger that came with it. works but you have... more
Thomas Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Thomas,
We are sorry to learn of your frustration. Please know that the product's owner's manual explicitly states that running the generator will not charge the battery; this documentation has been made available to the general public via our website: http://www.honeywellgenerators.com/service-support/owner-support . Considering this, you will not "lose" an outlet when the product is in use, as the battery should only be charged when the product is not being operated. As detailed in the owner's manual, the unit should not be charged for any longer than 48 hours at a time. If you have any other comments, questions, or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 855-GenInfo (855-436-4636). We hope you find this information to be helpful.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Mark W.
Union Mills, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/15/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
What Warranty?
A three year warranty may make you feel good before you buy a Honeywell generator but what good does it do when you loose power at home and your generator won't work. Chinese quality control is non existant, and its a long way off when you are watching the food in your freezer thaw out and then rot. The warranty won't pay for the food. Spend whatever you have to to buy American made. It will save you money in the long run.
Was this review helpful?
55
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Honeywell 6037 portable generator reviews.Compare our Honeywell 6037 ratings. Find the Honeywell 6037 portable generator that is right for you.