Your Cart @ Electric Generators Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Honda EU1000i Recreational Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Honda EU1000IKC Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (10)
Easy To Use (8)
Light Weight (7)
Easy To Store (5)
High Quality (4)
Cons
Expensive (2)
None (1)
Heavy (1)
Could Be More Wattage (1)
Wish I Knew About It Soo... (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
41 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8476 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

Honda inverters are known for being very quiet. This inverter gives you the power to run a few small item, like a couple lights, a laptop, a fan or TV.

Another nice feature about this compact inverter is how quiet and lightweight it is.

Next time you are headed outside for a tailgate or a camping trip just remember that you don't HAVE to be totally roughing it!
Jared Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
5113
Ed S.
Springfield, VA
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
My EU1000i arrived in record time, filled it with synthetic oil and fuel, it started on the second pull. Very quiet, the 12VDC charging capability is a real asset.

Honda quality is always top notch and the unit is very quiet and fuel efficient. Electric Generators Direct is an excellent vendor, Great customer service, free shipping and no sales tax I will do business with them again.
Ed Recommends This Honda Product
Ed's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Best price I could find, great customer service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Liberty J.
Dunlap, IL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/20/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Versatile Like A Swiss Army Knife
I bought this for hunting to help pump out our goose pit when it floods. I've used the EU2000 but wanted something light enough to carry in a 1/4 mile when the ground is too soft to drive in. This generator works great for this purpose and has no problem pushing a 1/3 HP Utility pump.

Several weeks ago I found out how versatile this little generator is. We had 5 inches of rain and an ice storm knocked our power out for 24 hours. I used this to run the sump and it had no problem keeping... more
Liberty Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Chris M.
Chandler, AZ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/12/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rock Solid Design And Performance
Love this EU1000. It is a perfect compliment to my EU2000. Same level of sound from both units, just at a different pitch. My Mom lives in New River Az, kinda in the boonies and her power goes out frequently during our monsoon season. This EU1000 is the only pull-start generator she can start. She has arthritis and can't grip the handle well. Starts like butter. If I were to rig a pulley and rope she could pull down on, She could start a 2000 no problem. Honda, you get what you pay for.
Chris Recommends This Honda Product
Chris's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My experience only took a few minutes to get approved for a loan. It was awesome. I think you shipped the generator before I even got an official congratulations email from the lender. Thank you, well done."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John C.
Swoope, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/14/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
I use it to trim all the hedges and bushed in the yard. Also use it for the electric chain saw. Finally for fun, use it with my amateur radio in the field. Light, efficient, and solid.
John Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Owens B.
Kingstree, SC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/22/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Could Not Be Happier!!!
Have been looking at these for 10 years. Always wanted one but just never purchased until I saw the deal with Direct. Love it!!!
Owens Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ronald R.
Reno, NV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/3/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Little Generator
I have two of these little generators. They are very light and reliable. I would highly recommend these generators, but you will most likely need 2 due to the 1000 watt rating.
Ronald Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan
Total Helpful Votes
42 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Surprising How Much You Can Run
I have borrowed and used this model as well as the EU 2000 occasionally over a few years in power outages and in emergency communications exercises. I finally bought an EU1000 of my own.

This generator ran our refrigerator (700W max) as well as an LCD TV, FIOS interface, cable box, network router, laptop computer, and several lights, without a hiccup over a recent two day power outage.

It's very quiet and is stingy on gas. I run it with the eco-throttle feature enabled. All of... more
Was this review helpful?
420
Dave
Rochester, MN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/15/13
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Literally A Life Saver
As a licensed amateur radio operator, I go to disaster scenes to provide emergency communications. Often, that is the only form of communication available after incidents such as Katrina, the floods in Rushford MN, Cedar Rapids Iowa, and other disasters. Since we never know what accommodations are available when we go to disasters, I needed a reliable generator. Just as important, I needed a generator that delivers clean, smooth power, so noise isn't injected to the radio signal. Honda has... more
Was this review helpful?
276
Adam
Baltimore, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/20/13
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best
All the reviews are correct, very happy with this unit. We use this for our mobile office, it's so quiet we set it up 5-8 feet away and can answer phone calls and talk to customers easily.
Was this review helpful?
180
Michael S.
Sebastopol, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/9/14
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Eu1000i
Delivered 3 days early. Runs great and we kept our RV battery charged for 4 days on less than 3/4 gallon of gas. Starts at sea level and 7500 feet with no adjustment or problem.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Michael Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
140
Scott R.
Spokane, WA
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fits The Need
I have a camper and needed a little power. The Honda eu1000 was the answer. It was so quiet and starts on the first pull. It runs 8 hours on .6 gallons and the state parks rangers allow it when it is used for a medical reason. I am so pleased I'm telling everyone to only look at the Honda inverters. You will love it!
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Scott Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
153
Cynthia M.
Rio Rancho, NM
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/11/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product & Best Price.
Worked right out of the box.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cynthia Recommends This Honda Product
Cynthia Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Package arrived when it said it would. No tax. No shipping cost. Best price I found--well worth it."
 more
Was this review helpful?
110
Robert F.
Orchard Park, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/27/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than Excellent
Much more useful than noisy, uneconomical, hard starting, poor running, new 4000W unit bought before this generator. Delivery was faster than forecast. Lightweight, easy to store, and better features than 4000W unit. Well worth the additional expense. I'd buy this again and recommend it to everyone.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Minimal Fuel Consumption
Cons: Wish I Knew About It Sooner
Robert Recommends This Honda Product
Robert Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Positive in all respects. Shipping deserves 6 stars."
 more
Was this review helpful?
122
Carmen L.
Saint Paul, MN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/3/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It Works Great
We needed a generator for heat while camping in Alaska. The 1000 works very nice but I wish it put out a bit more. I felt I had to get the 1000 because of the weight but the 2000 would have worked better.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Could Be More Wattage
Carmen Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Scott S.
Kearney, NE
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/5/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Products Are Great
Needed a smaller generator for keeping my RV batteries up and running on really cold outings. This one works perfectly. It does exactly what I needed it to do.

The shipping was ridiculously fast. I ordered it on a Wednesday morning and about an hour later I got FedEx confirmation that it would be delivered Friday! I actually had to delay delivery because I wasn't going to be around that weekend. Never thought I would experience delivery that was too fast. Wow!

I would order again... more
Scott Recommends This Honda Product
Scott's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"No one should order a generator from anyone else!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
102
Gerald F.
Palo Cedro, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/21/15
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Experience
After shopping around for a Honda generator, I found Electric Generators Direct to have the best prices by far. The free shipping and online experience was just outstanding! The unit came faster than the estimated delivery date.

As for the Honda Unit? It's a Honda, perfect.
Gerald Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Norman C.
Fordsville, KY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/2/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Christmas Present
I needed my generator to use anywhere my elect cords will not reach.
Norman Recommends This Honda Product
Norman's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"great for my farm. I put in the bed of my gator and use it for cutting trimming and all my elect needs!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Bruce
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/31/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Eencounter
Opened box, removed the generator, read the instructions, then started the generator without any problems. Runs great. Has not been used in service yet, but I have high expectations that the unit will perform well. I bought the unit to perform several power outage tasks.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Easy To Store, High Quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Bruce Recommends This Honda Product
Bruce Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Unit arrived in good shape, and on time."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Richard G.
Drumore, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/17/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet
I bought because of it's quiet & light weight. I have another generator, but it's so noisy I didn't want to use it in campgrounds etc. It starts easy first pull.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Richard Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Marianne M.
Panama City Beach, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/1/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
We use our generator for weekend tailgating. It is so quiet, easy to use. We love it . We are thinking of buying another one .
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Marianne Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
92
Donald H.
Rockland, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/7/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Lost At Sea With Out One
I thought it would be nice to have on my 36 ft sloop but when I lost the alternator it became a necessity in oder to run my instrumentation. I would not leave the dock with out one.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Donald Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
50
J
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/19/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It So Far
I had been coveting this generator for camping for over 3 year and finally bought one last month. We received it a few weeks ago but only fired it up last weekend. It was delivered in great condition - not a scratch on it. It started up on first pull (which was not a hard pull). We were very pleased with how quiet it ran and it was even quieter after engaging the eco switch. We will be putting it to the real test in a week or so when we go camping.
Was this review helpful?
94
Honorio
San Jose, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/27/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
How I Like My Honda
I like it, I have used it every night for the Xmas lights in the front yard. A full tank gives me approx 3hrs and 45 minutes, give or take 8 minutes or so. I have had to add oil every 4th day or so (is that normal?). It runs very quiet compared to my prior unit which sounded like a lawn mower. I am going to purchase another one soon for next year. I have a question, is there accessories like external gas tank?
Overall I am very impressed.
Was this review helpful?
83
Roger P.
Walnut Creek, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/23/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Price, No Bs, & Fast Delivery
I've been looking for a nice and quiet generator/inverter for a while. I usually get by on solar for my spring/summer camping trips, but come fall and winter, the sun declines and I have to turn to fossil fuels to power my camper.

My constant camping winter neighbor in Yosemite has a huge trailer and a Honda 2000 to power everything. It is quiet and seems to always work. I have a very small slide-in camper, so I chose the Honda 1000. It is very small, somewhat quiet (as quiet as a... more
Was this review helpful?
72
Steve C.
Mercer Island, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/28/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Retailer And Product
We love this quiet, little generator. It is easy to move around and easy to start. EGD makes it easy to buy on line: their prices are competitive, there is no obnoxious freight fee, and, for us, there was no sales tax. The item arrived exactly as promised!
Steve Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Adam S.
Oxford, MS
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/13/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Extremely Quiet And Works Great
First of all, it's a Honda, so I wasn't too worried. And once again Honda lived up to my expectations. It cranks easily and runs very quietly, especially when it's in Eco mode.
Adam Recommends This Honda Product
Adam's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything was easy as could be. I kind of randomly found this site searching for generators. Never heard of them before, but I will definitely be using them again if I need any products they sell."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Jim
Gulf Breeze, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/25/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Value
The name Honda means you can expect great performance from their products. The value from Generators Direct is unmatched. Delivery came quick and it was easy to order.
Was this review helpful?
40
Mark L.
Hudsonville, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Thing Is Bad Ass!
I love this thing. It is proof you get what you pay for. I ordered it in the afternoon and it was delivered the next afternoon.

Would buy again, SUPER fast shipping and no sales tax! Eff the greedy Government.
Mark Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Larry K.
Cassopolis, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/16/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Quick Delivery
I ordered it from ElectricGeneratorsDirect.com about 9 AM on a Wednesday, I had it the next day before noon, with free shipping. Excellent Service!

As for the Generator, I have only used it a couple times, seems to be OK and it is real quite, especially with the energy saver switch on.
Larry Recommends This Honda Product
Larry's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered it at about 9AM on a Wednesday morn. I received it the next day before noon using free shipping. And I was hoping I got it by Friday. Can't get better than that!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Patrick H.
Chesapeake Beach, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/9/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thank You Generators Direct
We live in an area that experiences violent storms. We needed a generator to run the sump pump when we have heavy rains and the electric gets knocked out.

The Honda eu2000i is a wonderful solution to our predicament. It delivers the power needed to run the sump pump as well as a few other needed appliances and lights and does so quietly. It runs for hours on minimal gasoline. It's relatively light weight allows us to move it from storage to the area outside where we run it with ease.... more
Patrick Recommends This Honda Product
Patrick's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Professional help, friendly customer service and timely delivery along with great prices."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Frank N.
Manlius, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/21/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Unit Performs As Advertised
Starting was not effective until it had been run several times. it is okay at present.
Frank Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Richard S.
San Diego, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/13/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Eu1000i Genertor
I haven't had a chance to use it in the field yet, but it started easily and purrs like a kitten. Looking forward to putting it to good use.
Richard Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Josef G.
Valdosta, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/3/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
Added an external tank and a feeder hose to connect them, this thing will run forever and barely consumes gas. Great unit!!
Josef Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Juan S.
Bernalillo, NM
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/1/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Another Happy Customer
I received my generator just in time for our first camping trip of the year. It's super quiet, I slept with it on all night. I love it!!! Look forward to buying another one soon.
Juan Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/9/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I've Wanted One For Years.....
It is a fantastic piece of equipment.... Quiet, Easy to start, and gets the job done!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
87
Jacques C.
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value
Small, quiet and performs as expected... couldn't ask for more!
Was this review helpful?
43
Ed G.
Kshdksk, NE
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Generator
Doesn't get better than this. Smooth power easily runs a PC.

Starts quick drains easily for storage. Wish it was made in the USA.
Was this review helpful?
43
Alan P.
Lady Lake, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/13/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect For My Needs
It's so easy my wife even likes it.
Alan Recommends This Honda Product
Alan's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy - peasy"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David J.
Oklahoma City, OK
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Fast Service!!
Researched places to buy a Honda generator online, and this was by far the most user-friendly website I found. Combine that with good prices and it looks like a good deal.

The only unknown was the reliability of the company. This issue became a non-issue when the generator was delivered within a few days. I would not hesitate to buy anything this company is selling.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
David Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Tammy
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/10/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Daytona 500
We used our new generator for the 5 days we spent at the Daytona 500. This is a outstanding piece of equipment and powered all we needed. Very quiet and portable. GREAT on gas! The price offered from Direct is one of the best. At Daytona,Honda had their booth there to sell generators and Direct beat them by $50.00. When I told the sales rep this, he didn't believe me, since they took off $100.00 for promotional sales at Daytona. So in addition to this generator being just what we needed, Direct... more
Was this review helpful?
56
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Honda EU1000IKC recreational portable generator reviews.Compare our Honda EU1000i ratings. Find the Honda EU1000IKC recreational portable generator that is right for you.