Your Cart @ Electric Generators Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
Free Lift Gate @ Electric Generators Direct
< Back to Product

Honda EM5000 Semi-Pro Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Honda EM5000 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (1)
Cons
Unreliable (1)
Durability (1)
Heavy (1)
Low Quality (1)
Expensive (1)
71% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
15 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mike, the Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8475 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

Finally decided you need something better than an Emergency generator? Check out this model EM6500 from Honda that get's our "Better" recommendation.

If you're looking for something that is easy starting, fuel efficient and has a great warranty, this generator really is a perfect match. With its iGX commercial engine and IAVR technology, it provides stable power for sensitive equipment and increased wattage above the maximum for 10 seconds to start high amp load equipment.
more
Mike Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
3210
Larry K.
San Angelo, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/3/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
The EM5000SX arrived in mint condition, and I am so very pleased with the generator and the amount of time it took to arrive...would certainly order another generator from this company.
Larry Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert E.
Moline, IL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/28/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet And Perfect
For a number of years (15-20) every time it would snow or hail we experienced power outages that would last 2 to 5 days. Two and 1/2 years ago the news said we had a straight line wind go through our neighborhood. Bull, you could see the funnel from my kitchen window and it was coming right for my house. Well it missed by 9 houses but tore up trees and my pool. I had never had water in my basement.

All of a sudden we had no power nd my basement was filling up. For almost 3 days myself and... more
Robert Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike M.
Spirit Lake, ID
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/3/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Home Backup
Wanted to have a home backup when the power was out. This works great. Started first time. Runs quiet. Can sustain most things in our house. Great product
Mike Recommends This Honda Product
Mike's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to order. Answered questions promptly. Shipping was on time. Packaged well"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles J.
Lantana, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/22/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator
Very happy with transaction.
Charles Recommends This Honda Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul
Total Helpful Votes
45 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Em5000 Is Awesome!
I bought the 5000 early in the summer, and I already had a transfer switch from an older generator. I used this one for Hurricane Sandy.

I powered through the transfer switch: ¾ horse well pump, furnace including hot water boiler mate, microwave/convection oven, TV/DVR, 10 lights, and a fridge.

I knew going into this that all the items above would use about 4000 running watts, but they needed 6000 starting watts (if all started at the same time). Thanks to the iVAR starting wasn’t an... more
Was this review helpful?
455
Ed
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/10/12
Total Helpful Votes
26 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
When In Doubt, Buy A Honda!
I called on a Wednesday AM needing a new generator. I looked at other brands, but since I've used (2) Honda generators for 29 years, I couldn't make myself purchase anything but a Honda. The price was unbelievable, so I bought it.

I needed to get this by Friday so I could get the new generator into my truck so I could work on Monday morning- and Electric Generators Direct delivered. It arrived by Noon and was in my truck and running by 4PM.

This Honda seems to be as reliable as... more
Was this review helpful?
262
Vl
Staten Island, NY
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
82 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Beware
With the generator set on Eco mode it only puts out 39 hertz!! If you look at the specs it seems that it always puts out 60 hertz. It does not. So beware of using it on electronic equipment. And remember that even a refrigerator or house hold cordless phone can be effected by this.
I would definitely not use a computer powered by this. Buyer Beware
Pros: High Quality
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive, Eco Mode Is Only 39 Hertz
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Vl,
If you're only getting 39 Hz in eco mode, I would suggest taking the generator to a Honda service center. The EM5000 has a 3-Year Warranty so you can be assured Honda stands behind their product. Honda can be contacted directly @ 770-497-6400
more
Was this review helpful?
243
Dan
Myerstown, PA
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Hour Meter?
I just got an em5000 a few months ago and used it for 4 days during a storm. I love it. It sipped fuel and powered my whole house and then some. The only thing is was lacking was an hour meter. I got a b&s one for about 20 bucks and not have nothing to ask from it. It's worth every penny.
Was this review helpful?
201
Michael
Somerset, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/8/12
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Little Disappointed
I bought this generator as an upgrade to my old and very inexpensive ($400) generator. After reading some reviews and looking over the specs, I decided that this generator would be a great investment and should last me for a long time. The ordering process went thru without a hitch and Electric Generators Direct shipped it the same day. Upon arrival the delivery man brought the generator into my garage; and aside from the box having some water damage everything went smoothly (the generator was... more
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
Once you've done the break-in oil change, if the engine still doesn't run as you'd like it to you may want to give Honda Power Equipment a call at 770-497-6400. They may have some troubleshooting tips for you, or they can refer you to the closest Warranty Service location.
more
Was this review helpful?
191
Vito
Staten Island, NY
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
82 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Skip This One
I bought this generator in 2012, since then it has been in the shop 3 times for a total of 4 months.

The problems: carburetor replacement, electronic control board, auto choke, and on and on.....after getting it back from the shop I once again have a choke/carb problem. And no it isn't from stale gas.

Please note that if you get a large generator, every time it has to go to the shop you have to have them pick it up @ $65 round trip. Maybe I got a lemon, maybe not, but I would never buy a... more
Cons: Low Quality, Heavy, Unreliable, Durability
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Vito,
We are sorry to hear of the performance issues with your Honda generator. We would suggest giving Honda a call directly, it be the local servicing dealer or it could just be the generator. Honda makes a outstanding product, but like all products with engines, they can have issues from time to time. Honda can be reached at (770) 497-6400.
more
Was this review helpful?
151
Dave
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/16/13
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Portable Generator
I received the Honda Generator I ordered from Electric Generators Direct in good condition and it has operated flawlessly. I purchased the generator based on the reputation of the Honda products and have not been disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
159
Joe
Monroeville, NJ
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda Em5000
I purchased a generator for home use. The generator is perfect for home use. Sorry not much of a story teller.
Was this review helpful?
106
Zender Electeric
Fostoria, Ohio, OH
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Permanent Customer
Prices at Direct were great and very helpful and knowledgeable to talk to. A++++
Was this review helpful?
910
Clay
Garfield, AR
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Way Overpriced
Got this during a ice storm and all other generators were sold out. While it does a fair job it did kick out a few times with a overload. As stated I could have gotten 3 Honda powered generators at Sams Club for the price I paid for this one. Kind of what you get when you need one and they are the only ones around at the time.
Was this review helpful?
1720
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Honda EM5000 semi-pro portable generator reviews.Compare our Honda EM5000 ratings. Find the Honda EM5000 semi-pro portable generator that is right for you.