Search
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 6437 Standby Air-Cooled Generators Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$2,897.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,897.00
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$3,169.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,607.30
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac Guardian 6437 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (15)
Price (13)
I'd Buy It Again (13)
Fast (6)
Quiet (5)
Cons
Heavy (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
Arrived With 71 Hours On... (1)
No Closure Plugs For The... (1)
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
34 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Kevin S.
Voluntown, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/3/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
Great generator I've connected many of them for customers. However the 12 circuit panel limits you to the number of 15 and 20 amp circuits you can supply to a customer to fit their needs, this panel needs to be a little bit more flexible in regards to sizing of circuits to be more accommodating.
Kevin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Kevin,
We are glad to know that you have had positive experiences with our 11kw Guardian Series standby generators. If you are finding that this particular combination of generator and transfer switch is not sufficient for specific installations, we would recommend purchasing the generator as a non-packaged unit and buying a properly sized transfer switch for the backup power needs of the configuration that you are working with. To confirm the compatibility of two particular products in association with your local codes, we would recommend working with a local inspector and/or independent authorized dealer. To locate an independent authorized dealer closest to you, please use your postal code for searching purposes here: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?cid=frm-105-ab . We thank you for your positive feedback and encourage you to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722)if you have any other comments, questions, or concerns.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gene C.
Cleveland, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/8/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wonderful Piece Of Mind With This Generator
Ive dreamed about having a house generator for years but either didn't have the money or used what i had on other toys. Finally I made the move and bought this Generac. Its perfect in power, uses propane as I wanted and came in a complete kit. The downside is there is a lot of electronic circuit boards which worry me in the event of an EMP and I'm not sure if the generator case will help shield it at all. Would love to know. It runs once a week to test itself flawlessly. I'm actually hopeful... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Propane
Gene Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Gene,
In regards to your question about the generator enclosure. I would contact Generac directly 888-436-3722.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack D.
Auburn, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/6/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Second Purchase Of Standby Generator
In 2000, I purchased a Generac 10K generator for my rural lake home. I completed the physical installation and my son-in-law (an electrician) made the electrical connections.

We reviewed the startup instructions and everything worked flawlessly. This model had a 120V convenience outlet in the battery area, so I purchased a thermo-controlled batter warming pad for around 8 or 9 dollars and placed it under the battery.

Since my home was dependent on electricity for water, the Generac saved... more
Jack Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Jack,
This should be covered under your warranty and would need to be handled by a servicing dealer. I'd suggest contacting Generac directly @ 888-436-3722 or Generac Dealer Locator
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard P.
Middletown, DE
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/15/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Customer Service
Jim Lustyk was outstanding, There were problems with the order and he straighten them, out quickly with no impact on me, the customer. Great job,
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger O.
Frazee, MN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/30/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Advertised
The generator and automatic transfer switch meet my expectations. The phone support was first class.
Roger Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Sidney H.
Lima, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Purchase
Now my wife and me have peace of mind in any conditions.Thanks for a great product.
Sidney Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas S.
Columbus, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/29/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Package!
The installation is complete. It all went very well. It REALLY helped to have access to all the installation manuals and owners manuals BEFORE I even bought the generator. I was able to study them and determine if I could do the job myself (I am a controls engineer at an automotive manufacturing plant). After reading ALL the documentation many times, I knew that I could do the job. I carefully sized the piping and the generator and transfer switch. I had all the circuits picked out and... more
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Fast
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Sidney H.
Lima, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/10/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Best On The Market
Our home is a bi-level 1824 sq.ft. and it will power everything but two spare bedrooms and a microwave. Glad to have this kind of security, especially at our age.Took only a day and a half to install & up and ready for service.
Sidney Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kevin J.
Charlestown, RI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/4/13
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Perfectly
Just finished installing last week and I woke up this morning the generator was running I had my computer running and after an hour power was restored my lights and computer did not even blink I could not be happier. Love it!
View Image
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Kevin Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Kevin Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very happy with Generators Direct"
 more
Was this review helpful?
143
Dave F.
Thorndale, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/22/13
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Go Direct
As a electrical contractor we put a lot generators in. This is the first time I used Generators Direct. They were great from ordering to delivery and cost. Thanks
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, Fast, High Quality
Dave Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
180
Christopher B.
Parkton, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/7/13
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
11 Kw Propane Unit
Very smooth transaction with great communication from the trucking company also .
Pros
Great shipping crate/ protection
Very complete wiring kit
Good directions
Nice looking , pretty quite unit.

Cons
No closures for the lifting holes ( to keep mice and critters out )
The lp/ng selector knob would not move , luckily it must have been on the lp setting ( it was hard to tell what setting it was on also ) because the engine started right up and ran pretty smooth.

Overall a really nice... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No Closure Plugs For The Lifting Holes
Christopher Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Christopher,
Generac does not make any close plugs for the lifting holes on their air-cooled generators. However, they do offer a Fascia Base Trim Kit. It will cover up those holes and provide a finished looked to your standby generator.
more
Christopher Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast complete shipping . Good communication from the trucking company also."
 more
Was this review helpful?
170
Frank K.
Mesa, AZ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/28/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
No Actual Generac Warrenty On 11kw Unit
I bought the generator. Paid to have it hooked up. It took over a month to get it installed. The generator ran for less than 1/2 hour and blew up. Generac doesn't pay the authorized companies enough to cover the actual cost of repairs so I had to pay the repair company direct. After paying $637 to have them come to my home I got an estimate of between $1500 to $4000 to replace the magneto half of this brand new generator.

A magnet separated from the flywheel and metal parts and dust are all... more
Frank Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Frank,
We are working with Generac to get this resolved for you.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Frank,
We would like to apologize for the issues that you have experienced with your automatic standby generator. To address your concerns regarding warranty coverage, we wish to assure you that any applicable warranty coverage will be provided to a unit if/when it is determined through diagnostic work that such coverage applies. Once diagnostic work and warranty work is provided, we will work with the service provider for reimbursement. So that we can discuss your personal case with you directly, we would like to request having you contact us at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) at your earliest convenience. We look forward to corresponding with you in the near future.
more
Was this review helpful?
151
Raymond P.
Orland, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/10/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
Called and ordered the Generac 11K unit late on a Thursday and it was delivered on the following Tuesday afternoon. Mo problems whatsoever. Had my own electrician and plumber install the unit and the job was completed in 4 hours. Test run the unit and all went well and now my wife and I have the piece of mind whenever a storm may hit.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Quiet, Price
Raymond Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
101
Irene M.
Ashtabula, OH
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Preace Of Mind
I live on the North Coast (Lake Erie) and power outages are common. I also have springs beneath my house that require a sump pump to run at at constant pace. One week after the Guardian generator was installed, we had a brief power outage and I heard the Generator kick on. I was so relieved to know that my basement would stay dry because the sump pump would continue to run and that despite the sub-zero temperatures my pipes would not freeze. It was the most welcomed sound I ever heard! Best... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Fast, Easy To Use
Irene Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Ed O.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/30/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
So Far...flawless
Sure, this unit has it's quirks. No deal breakers though. We had it installed by an electrician who has installed many. This really helped with locating the switch and wiring, and deciding what areas of the home to connect for protection in case of a power outage. Once the unit was connected, we disconnected the main power coming in to the house and this generator started immediately and provided power to all the circuits we needed in the house and garage. The unit cycles itself every... more
Ed Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Obie Obrien
Watertown, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/6/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Impressive
I was surprised on the price. Delivery in days, the driver was very helpful. He got it very close to my pad. The packaging was very solid. Instructions were easy, set up was not difficult. When hook up was complete, it ran like a top. Every sat at 2:30 pm, it comes on, runs for 7 minutes, and then stops.

The transfer box was very easy to install, very solid unit. I am very happy with your product. Since I have gas in my house, if I had 16 breakers it would have just about... more
Obie Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
83
Matthew M.
Augusta, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/8/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator
We built a cabin upstate NY and our new generator was installed less then 24 hours when we lost power. The generator kicked on within moments and we were still toasty warm, could use the water and we are Very HAPPY with this product.

Not only that it arrived 3 days earlier then we thought. You guys are the best. Thanks!
Matthew Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
40
James Connolly
Frazier Park, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/22/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Dream
Good morning, Our 11KW Generac installation was completed yesterday, In all it took about a month from order to delivery to finish install and inspection.

The unit arrived with no damage. It did add an extra week to get it to our location with the liftgate option as the trucker had to schedule the special truck to deliver in our area.

We used the local electrical contractor that had installed Generac generators before. We also used a local plumber for the install of the gas line to the... more
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Features, Exceeded Expectations
James Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Luann W.
Mount Jackson, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/14/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Recommended
My electrician assisted me in choosing the most appropriate standby generator for my home. He has already installed (4) units this year for customers. He was shocked that my unit being new, had 71 hours on the meter. He mentioned all the units he has installed, had hours for testing during manufacturing but has never noted this many. Makes us wonder.....but for the meantime, it is working and on schedule to keep the battery charged, We are now waiting for a power outage.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Fast
Cons: Arrived With 71 Hours On Meter Is It Truly New
Luann Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Luann Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent experience so far, except for the many hours on the generator."
 more
Was this review helpful?
62
Dean D.
Cadott, WI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/7/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
11kw 50a Autoswitch
July 31st 2014. After waiting 3 weeks for my LP supplier to hook up the gas line, I am in business. I mounted the unit on a cement slab that was left over from an old satellite system, I used the mounting brackets that held the unit to the shipping pallet. drilling the cement and driving in cement bolts work fine. After start-up, everything works just fine, I am very pleased with the product and the service,and will recommend this company and product to anyone.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Dean Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Sharon S.
Imperial, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/10/14
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
We Are Ready The Next Time Our Lights Go Out
The last few years we have been having several power outages that we worried about the refrigerator/freezer and heating/cooling of our house. we have had this generator a month and have not had any but feel confident we are ready when we do. I did have a certified Generac maintenance man come to hook up the mobile link and make sure everything was in order. It now tests regularly and sends a mssg to my phone that all is good.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Fast
Sharon Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
63
George
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/15/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality And Installation Features
The generator and system installation went well. We had to make some adjustments because our electrical panel was installed in wall and the transfer switch was designed for surface mount. Changing generator to run from natural gas to L.P. was easy.
Overall quite happy with purchase !!!
George Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Meg H.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/18/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Purchase
Hi, I called this company and ordered my Generac directly which saved me taxes and they had it sent quickly via their truck delivery.

So far it seems excellent, but I have not had a power outrage to test it yet either. I would recommend them and use them again.

The only thing I was disappointed in was that they charged me a $95 fee for delivery since they said it was "out of the way" and I ending up having to have it delivered to my electrician as their truck would not come... more
Meg Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Meg's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"See above."
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
Anthony G.
West Chester, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/6/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Almost As Easy As Plug And Play
Really great experience buying the generator through Electric Generators Direct. Order taken professionally and delivered within days of placement. Received updates as to the delivery progress and it was delivered without a hitch. Carrier put the unit right in front of where it had to be located. Only problem I had was finding the manuals. Their location is spelled out inside the manuals. Dumb idea.
Anthony Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
31
John N.
Chestertown, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/23/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I Was Generaly Happy
The ordering process went well. The only small problem was the trucker did not give me the notice prior to delivering the items that was required. I was not at home when the generator was delivered.

I wanted it to be put on a trailer instead the driver put it in the driveway. I had to get it into the trailer which was not easy.
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
53
Karolyn Donner
Ormand Beach, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/11/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Communication!
Best price,and the shipping was world class!

I'm an electrical contractor and this is the only place I will ever buy a generator from again!

The shipper called three times within 24hrs to give me an exact ETA!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Easy To Use
Cons: Bad Instructions
Karolyn Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Karolyn's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Awesome company!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Patrick Q.
Smallwood, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/24/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Confidence I Will Have Power Now!!!
The installer completed the installation of my generator very quickly and with no issues. The Generac Generator came with all of the necessary parts to complete the job and all the parts are high quality components.

Both the Generator and the new electrical box look great and I love the fact that it has weekly scheduled self tests which gives confidence that everything will work as intended during a power outage!
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Durable, Reliable
Patrick Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
42
James C.
Albrightsvlle, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/6/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Purchasing For The First Time With Elec Gen
I appreciated the courteous service as well as the delivery and purchasing process they made the whole experience easy. I have since helped one of my neighbors purchase a new generator from them as well ,His experience has proved to be as good as mine ,I will recommend them to all my customers.
James Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary K.
Theodore, AL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/29/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Shipping
Ordered one day and it shipped the next day. Delivered in about 4 days.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Quiet, Hit The Start Button And It Started First Try
Gary Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard P.
Markesan, WI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/24/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Buying From Your Company Was An Excellent Experience
In addition to having a great buying experience I saved over $300.00 from what my electrician quoted me. I hope service will not be problem.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Features
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Dean
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/4/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Service
Fast Shipping
Dean Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tyler V.
Catalina, AZ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/3/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Efficient
It was easy to find online, order, and shipping was fast and easy.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Fast
Tyler Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
35
Robert W.
Newington, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/12/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's Great!
Received on time. Easy installation, Great features.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Features
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
36
Gerald H.
Hamburg, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/22/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Waiting
I gave 4 star rating based on recommendation of a friend who has one. I have not had a power outage to determine if the ratings are correct.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price
Cons: Heavy
Gerald Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Gerald Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"I liked the discount for sending in a check instead of using my credit card to purchase."
 more
Was this review helpful?
316
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 6437 standby air-cooled generator reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 6437 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 6437 standby air-cooled generator that is right for you.