Search
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 6244 Standby Air-Cooled Generators Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
Generac Guardian 6244 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (72)
Price (42)
High Quality (41)
Easy To Use (30)
Reliable (30)
Cons
Bad Instructions (16)
Heavy (9)
Low Quality (7)
Expensive (5)
Unreliable (4)
90% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
109 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Charles C.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/29/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Talking Generator
I purchased this generator in February 2014 and it was installed in March the same year. The instructions were very easy to follow, have not had any problems with this generator. The company Power Equipment Direct was very helpful in acquiring this generator and very prompt in shipping this generator.

I have found this generator as exactly as described and it has showed to service my house very well. I am well pleased with the purchase of this generator and the service of the company I... more
Charles Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Walter
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/2/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Smooth And Quiet!
It's truly working smooth and quite!......No screaming motor bouncing all over the place!.....When I started the engine, I immediately noticed that it is a very well balanced machine!.......Plus, its streamlined appearance would look good at any location!... I placed a regulator on the natural gas, 2 lb, 1" line at the rear of the generator like Jim suggested, to provide the correct pressure for excellent engine performance.

Everything worked exactly as engineered.........Every test... more
View Image
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Quiet
Walter Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Walter Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I didn't make my decision overnight. I really studied the matter because it is an investment in safety, security and comfort, that also increases the value of your home. I looked at every generator and every local and online dealer. After much time and deliberation, I made the wise decision of going with Electric Generators Direct. I can now say "wise" because I can look back at the experience with the satisfaction of knowing that the decision that I made was the right one! They were super people to work with and were knowledgeable about the product. The product was shipped quickly and safely to my location......And free shipping????.... How great is that???"
 more
Was this review helpful?
251
Mark G.
Ponca City, OK
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/17/13
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Okie Diy W/ Assist
Recently retired and made the purchase of the generator a priority. Ordered the generator and it was delivered right on time with no shipping & tax as advertised.+++ Poured the pad, ran the gas line, ran the electrical conduit and mounted the ATS, but took the advice from the reviews and had Generac do the final tie-in and make initial startup. All went well and the unit made its first exercise run this weekend without a hitch. I would and have recommended not only the purchase of a... more
View Image
View Image
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Lid Latch Seems To Be Only Issue
Mark Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mark Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great Experience!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
275
Walter
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/2/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad We Have The Security
The power went off and my Generac took over!.... My wife cooked lunch and then she dried some clothes. The air conditioner is working also, along with two TVs and several lights. Life remains normal with Generac. I am so glad we have the security provided by owning a Generac generator.
View Image
Walter Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
61
Vince
Wilmington, DE
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Don't Hesitate To Purchase
Model 6244 natural gas. Did a lot of prep work myself (designed layout, dug trench, poured 6 inch concrete pad, back filled trench). Had mechanical contractor pull permits for NG and installed piping. Master electrician, Rob at Connective Power Services in northern Delaware, Tri-State area, performed all electrical work and start-up and services it. Zero problems with excercise each week. First power failure, started right up. I highly recommend this generator.
View Image
Pros: High Quality, Price, Reliable, Features
Vince Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Brian F.
Spokane, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/24/14
Total Reviews
6 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Peace Of Mind!
I'm thrilled to be the owner of this new Generac standby generator. My brother-in-law lives next door, and we bought both of our generators at the same time. This is a very slick product and appears to be very well designed and thought-out. The overall layout and accessibility to the generator is very good, and Generac has put a lot of time into showing you how to install the generator and to maintain it for the long-haul. I haven't had a power outage yet, but it has come on every Saturday... more
View Image
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Seems To Have Been Designed With My Rural Modest Acreage In Mind
Cons: 2 Panels Excessively Complicated Single 400a Panel Overpriced
Brian Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger Nelson
Sargeant, MN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/6/13
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
67 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Customer
An elderly couple called and wanted a generator installed so they would not have to worry about a power loss. After several calls to wholesale houses I went online and Electric Generator Direct showed up first. A phone call later and talked to some nice people I had a generator coming.

In two days it showed up, the next day the cold weather kit came. Since this was a whole house one I had to cleanup the utility pole and build a batter board to mount a distribution panel and transfer switch.... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, Reliable
Roger Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
6432
Kim M.
Santa Fe, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/17/13
Total Helpful Votes
49 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Gen!
Well this project started as " I want a small generator to power a few things." Ended up with the standby. It was easy to install, (self install). We had placed one at a business prior. After installation and testing we placed it under a load. A/C unit, water heater, well pump & septic pump, lights, & fans. It did not skip a beat. I am ready for the next outage.

The only two bad things that happened: the box that the gen came in had been damaged and it scuffed the paint a... more
View Image
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Kim Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Kim Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to buy! Saved hundreds by buying online with no tax."
 more
Was this review helpful?
495
Chris
Ronkonkoma, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/19/13
Total Helpful Votes
216 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
Thats what its all about...Peace of mind! EGD website couldn't be easier to navigate through. 20kW Generac arrived sooner than expected. Hired my own electrician and plumber (which turned out to be a lot cheaper) and fired it up...Started without a hitch! Runs everything in my 2800sq ft. house. Couldn't be happier...Also purchased the cold weather kit and the mobile link...Both up and running as well...
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Chris Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
2165
Larry W.
Boswell, PA
Total Helpful Votes
108 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
27
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
No Service And No Customer Service
Purchased on 12-27-12 at Lowe's in Somerset, PA. Arrived with delivery to my residence in March without any owner's manual or installation guide enclosed. Installed using downloaded instructions guide from website by certified electrician and certified plumber (natural gas).

On May 13, 2013 unit was started and would not continue to run displaying alarm shutting down. Generac Service department refused to provide info indicating gas line was insufficient. Installed larger gas line with... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Bad Instructions
Larry Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Larry,
Since you generator is still under warranty. I would suggest contacting Generac directly @ (888) 436-3722 x5381 to find a servicing dealer in your area that can come out to you home for warranty service.
more
Was this review helpful?
10832
John O.
Center Valley, PA
Total Helpful Votes
53 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Homeowner View
After extensive research over the past 6 months I choose to go with the Generac product due to the after sale service support in our area. Many places in our area sell Generac, though I choose Power Direct for the information they provided on line and took the time to answer my questions I needed answered by phone when I was ready to purchase and with accuracy. The unit arrived timely and w/o damage, though this is not something I would recommend a homeowner to do without special equipment and... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions, Heavy
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
John,
That's a great point that I can't emphasize enough. Having the properly sized gas line is extremely critical to the performance of the generator.
more
Was this review helpful?
533
Dick G.
St.Joseph, MO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/28/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super High Quality & Service
I have grown tired of loosing my electric service. The last time was for 25 hours. Every time, in the past, this happened, I procrastinated about buying an whole home back up generating system. I bet you have too?? I recommend you do as much research as you can before buying. Electric Generators Direct has an excellent aid for determining what size you should choose. Be aware that the generator produces 2kW less output on Natural Gas than on Liquid Petroleum. The generators are advertised... more
Was this review helpful?
5414
Richard P.
Holmdel, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/5/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Terrible Customer Service & Quality
I installed this generator around three weeks ago . After installation I noticed a strong smell of NG coming from the unit. the solenoid on top of the gas valve is leaking a large amount of gas constantly. I called Generac customer service constantly and get a different story every time I call. At this point I totally give up. I have spent $4500.00 for a piece of junk that doesn't work. I have spent countless hours on hold just to get the run around when they happen to get on the phone. I was... more
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Richard Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Richard,
I would suggest contacting a Generac servicing dealer since the generator is already installed. If it is the solenoid, this should be covered under warranty. You can use the dealer locator....Generac Dealer Locator
more
Richard Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The purchasing was easy and quick, Unfortunately the product has a defective gas regulator and leaks gas constantly. Up to now the part is unobtainable through Generac. Generac's customer service is no help at all. I now own a $4500.00 lawn ornament. Just waiting for the power to go out."
 more
Was this review helpful?
366
Ce
Grove City, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/3/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electrical Contractor
Our company is based in Grove City Pa. We have been installing all makes and models of generators and the staff at generators direct have been great and have been very helpful with shipping and tech questions. We will be purchasing all if our generators from them in the future. Thanks very much to all staff members. Great job!
Pros: Durable, Features, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Ce Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
4016
Mark P.
Westport, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/4/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I'll Only Deal With Electric Generators Direct
The web site was a BIG help in choosing which generator to go with. I ended up with a Gen 20K and couldn't be happier. It powers everything in the house including two A/C units and electric stove, well pump, etc. not even a hiccup!

The natural gas company wanted to rape me with service fees to change the size pipe and meter. No matter, I turned a switch on the generator and installed it as a propane generator. No special conversion kits needed. So convenient! You won't be sorry to deal... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price
Mark Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mark Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Oh.... their shipping company they use R&L Carriers were extremly helpful and professional. Do yourself a favor and order the lift gate when delivered, it is a heavy unit."
 more
Was this review helpful?
171
Richard P.
Holmdel, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/5/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
A Let Down
Very bad gas leak at main solenoid gas valve. Authorized service repair never called me back. Product is unable to be used at this time. Hope there are no power outages in the near future.
Pros: Features
Cons: Solenoid Valve Leak
Richard Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Richard,
Sorry to hear that you're having issues regarding the leak. If you're still having issues with the service center, I would suggest contacting Generac directly @ (888) 436-3722 x5381
more
Was this review helpful?
141
Robert P.
Pahrump, NV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/6/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Difficult Install
I had a professional electrician install the 20kw unit. This company is the one used by Home Depot for installs, if you were to buy from them. They know what they are doing...? After the wiring, they could not get the engine started. I am running on LP. We turned the dial from NG to LP but it still would not run. The folks that set up the 325 gallon LP tank and ran the line to the generator figured it out. The knob that goes from NG to LP not only turns from left to right, it also goes up and... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Quiet, Fast
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive, Ac Shedding Does Not Work
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My Electrician is not happy with the Generac company. It has nothing to do with Power Equipment Direct. He is upset that Generac has not kept him updated through memo's about the up-grades in newer units. My unit is an updated model with some different electronics that they were not familiar with. They had a difficult time trying to get any help from the Generac tech people. Once again I would like to emphasize that Power Equipment Direct was not at fault. Their end of the deal went flawless. I guess this is kind of a ding on the Generac company although I believe that when we do finally get things squared away, I will be very satisfied with the unit......"
 more
Was this review helpful?
131
Valerian D.
Coshcoton, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/5/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product And Service
Haven't had to use it yet, but during testing every thing seems to be in order. I installed it myself, very easy instructions to follow.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Fascia Could Fit Around Generator Better
Valerian Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
121
Robby M.
Midlothian, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/23/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Installation
The generator was not very difficult to install other than having to run a gas line and electrical line in the attic across the house. You will need some buddies or a lift to move the generator because it is heavy. Overall I was pleased with the installation and everything is working great.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Features, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Robby Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robby Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience buying this generator and excellent technical help from the crew."
 more
Was this review helpful?
100
Theodore H.
Green Lane, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/24/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Self Installed
It was delivered when they said. No problems with install. Quality product.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Theodore Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Theodore Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Installed most of the generator myself. I paid an electrician to hook transfer switch up. cost about 2500.00 to install most of it myself this includes first fill of propane tanks which gas company installed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
134
James B.
Rusk, TX
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wonderful!
This unit after you get it installed and set up is great! It runs once a week for 15 minutes and is always on standby. 12 seconds it powers up and runs till the power comes back on. Then it swaps the power back and shuts down with no intervention from yourself, Great!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
James Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
91
Glenn G.
Armstrong, MO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/17/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bad Support
Switching from natural gas to LP sounds easy. The knob is not in a convenient position. After the LP provider hooked it up I wasn't sure if he had rotated the knob. The manual doesn't specify the correct final position, only the direction to turn. Called Generac and was told the knob tends to turn hard. After trying again I called back. Was told to put pliers on stem below plastic knob. Called a third time and reassured it is tight and will have to be snapped loose. Yep it snapped the ehole... more
Cons: Bad Instructions, Difficult To Use
Glenn Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Glenn,
To minimize any problems during installation, we always suggest having a home standby generator installed by certified Generac installer. If you're still having problems getting a replacement part, please don't hesitate to contact us.
more
Was this review helpful?
81
Julie H.
Scotland Neck, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/20/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
New Control Panel
Had an electrician install the generator. It has the new style control panel. The control panel is defective. Have a warranty claim in for two weeks and cannot get a response. Very dissatisfied.
Pros: No Pro
Cons: Bad Instructions, Difficult To Use, Warranty Help Does Not Exist
Julie Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Julie,
Please let us know if we need to get involved with Generac to get this issue fixed. Your satisfaction is our number #1 priority.
more
Julie Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Not a problem with you but major problem with Generac."
 more
Was this review helpful?
92
Darrel J.
Malvern, AR
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/5/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No Accessories Required
I bought the 20kw Generac and to this point I have been satisfied with the quality. I did not like the fact that I bought their battery that arrived with a small pin hole in the side, which showed no damage at delivery. I called after noticing the wet card board packaging some days later and was basically told it was all on me. It's a free $100.00 for them. Buy your generators from them. No problem there. Buy your battery local.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
Darrel Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Darrel,
We're sorry about the issues you had with the battery. Any damage needs to be reported ASAP, because the window to file a claim is only 15 days. You notified use after that window of time had passed and we were no longer able to file a claim.
more
Was this review helpful?
93
David G.
Westport, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/23/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience
Would just like to say i am very satisfied with the Generac generator. I have already told many people how much i love it. Looks great and runs good. Can't wait to lose power and my house won't skip a beat. When we are on vacation or not home, we don't have to worry about the house losing power and freezing or flooding, or my security system not working. Now I have peace of mind.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
David Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was a good experience dealing with your company, iI had heard a lot of horror stories but not one problem with you guys. I was pleasantly surprised at everything. Thank you, I will be advertising for you."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Thomas F.
Cape May, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/18/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
44 & Counting
I have purchased and installed 44 20KW Generacs in 3 years. I have one at my house. Enough said.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, High Quality
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
83
Bruno
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/3/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Company
Love dealing with Jim and the whole crew they really know their stuff. No B.S. company. Generator is the best and great instructions on how to hook it up. I installed it myself with no problem!
Was this review helpful?
116
Norman D.
Wilsondale, WV
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Bad Brushes
My unit went down with bad Brushes after only 200 hours, and took over a month to get repaired! Generac didn't want to deal with the problem until Lowes, where I purchased it got involved!
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
Norman Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Kenneth F.
Owasso, OK
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/31/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electricity Insurance
We live at the service territory edge for an electrical cooperative. They have worked hard to maintain good service. However ice and high winds create problems that affect large areas. We experience short outages (a few minutes to several hours) until the electrical service is restored.

We live in a new area and noticed that new homes around us are installing Generac units as the house is being built. I started talking to the neighbors and convinced myself to install one as well. Soon... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Kenneth Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Kenneth's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Called a couple of time with questions which were answered either right away or by email. Shipping was fast even though there were winter weather issues. The unit arrived in perfect condition, not a scratch or ding on the unit. Boy was it heavy. We used a manual fork lift and four of us transferred it from my garage to the concrete pad that we constructed to hold the unit. Overall, very pleased with the entire transaction. Would do it again and would not change a thing."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Billy M.
Stonewall, LA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/25/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Home Generator
No big story, installed it myself, easy directions, fired right up. Loving it!!!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
Billy Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Billy's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Purchased 20kw generac generator for my home, quick shipping. It is heavy so you will need some help moving. I used a utility trailer, just backed it up to my slab and slid it off on to slab. Instruction were easy to follow, I did the set up myself, no issues, fired right up on first try. It has already had to come on and kept house lit up for 2 hours. If using natural gas, make sure that you have a dedicated line for your generator. So far, loving it!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Doris R.
Fallston, MD
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love, Love, Love My Generac
Had my 20 KW installed the March following Hurricane Sandy (we had lost power for 5 days). Only had a couple of small outages till a few weeks ago (February) when one of the many snowstorms came through and knocked out the power. Within 10 seconds my Generac kicked on and everything was back up and running.

It ran for 2 1/2 days and ran like a champ. We even had our next door neighbors plugged into this bad boy - a very long extension cord stretched between our homes. Save them from rotting... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Reliable, Features
Cons: Unit Is A Little Louder Than I Thought It Would Be
Doris Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Terry P.
Waukee, IA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/14/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I Expected Bettery Quality
When I unpacked the generator, the top would not lock due to poor alignment. I fixed that by widening out the slot for the catch. Then the electrical installer found a broken transfer switch, hopefully will be replaced under warranty.

The last complication helped extend out the time to get everything installed and working. However, I must say things seem to be working okay now.
Pros: Features, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: Low Quality
Terry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
62
Bryan J.
Tomball, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/7/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
9-24-13 Review #1
Generator delivered 8-22-13 on time no hassle. Trim kit was missing from crate but Electric Generators Direct (EGD) were very helpful and had one shipped to me at no cost with no hassle. Electricians and AC guys finished hooking it up 9-5 -13 and runs great but may have a warranty issue with the transfer switch as it is supplying 24 volts all the time (basically permissive all the time) but the green lights do not light up. I have three AC units and purchased a separate lockout for the 5 ton... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions
Bryan Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Bryan Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everyone I spoke with at Electric Generators Direct was helpful and respectful. Will see how the warranty issues go with the Transfer switch"
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Phillip S.
Harvey, LA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/24/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
This Generator Is Great
This is my second in house generator. The first one, 12.5KW, would not run both of my air conditioners. This one will. After the electrician hooked everything up it ran like a champ through all the testing. Hopefully I will not need to use my new generator, but I know have the insurance to keep my house running in storm or hurricane that is a VERY comforting thought having gone thourgh Katrina.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Features, Price
Phillip Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Phillip Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Your employees kept me informed from the minute I purchased it to delivery. I got on your website because I had some technical questions ie. size of gas line to run vs distance from the gas meter and was very pleased with the quick response less than 5 minutes. Three of my neighbors have also purchased generators from yall and they are very satisfied."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Tom K.
Semmes, AL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/17/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Backup Power
No more work to have backup power.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Cost To Run
Tom Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
95
Don C.
Alpine, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/17/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Tough Installation
This seems to be a good piece of equipment but the electrical is particularly difficult to install because of the way they built the generator. Access to the electrical hook up is NUTS.
Cons: Difficult To Install
Don Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Rosemary L.
Gilbertsville, KY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/16/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Is Good Insurance
The battery was dead and had to be charged. Initially, the charger indicated an internal short in the battery, however it corrected and went on to charge. Don't know yet if this is an indication of bad battery as it has only been installed long enough to go through one exercise.

Also, the locking system is not working. The right lock on the base does not lock into the top and the key in the left lock was broken off in the lock while trying to get unlocked. Other than those two items we... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Quiet, Features
Cons: Dead Battery And Cannot Lock
Rosemary Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Rosemary,
Sorry you're having issues with the locks. I would suggest contacting Generac directly @ (888) 436-3722 x5381. It sounds like something that should be covered under warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Steven O.
Staten Island, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/10/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Overspeed
The gen set keeps shutting down with overspeed error.
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Steven Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Steven,
Once an error code is present you must contact a local Generac service technician so he can diagnose the problem. You can find a service center by contacting Generac directly @ (888) 436-3722 x5381
more
Was this review helpful?
63
Mike K.
Berwick, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/4/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Tried To Atart Generator
Electrician tried to start generator and module was in a foreign language. Called customer service, was told to check the connection on a ribbon cable with a green strip on it. Told CS the only wires that were green are two ground wires. Electrician checked all connections and we could not find anything loose. At the request of CS I took pictures and sent them by e-mail. Asked CS if they received them and the reply was no. I resent the pictures three more times, replied by e-mail each time with... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price
Cons: Bad Instructions, Difficult To Use
Mike Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Electric Generators Direct did exactly what they said they would do. Followed up with e-mails on receiving payment, order processed and order shipped."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Jose G.
South Plainfield, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/26/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Be Prepared
Installed several, no problems so far. Easy to install. Shipped fast.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Jose Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Cynthia H.
Desallemands, LA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/15/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready For Hurricane
We purchased three Generacs for me and two of our kids. We Got them hooked up and ready to go. My daughter is still waiting for a computer board from Generac for hers, it was messed up. The power went out a few days ago and we loved being able to stay cool and comfortable for four and a half hours and when we went outside it was not so loud.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions, Was Not Told Needed A Generac Perdon To Enter A Code To Get Start
Cynthia Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Dennis
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Should't Rated 5 Stars
Generac has rotor and stater problems, they fail with very low hours. The repair cost are more than half of the price of new !!!! REALLY.... I know I own a now boat anchor,do more research, read about many, many people have the same problem.
Cons: Bad Instructions, Low Quality
Dennis Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Harold D.
Oriental, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/24/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What You Need
I live in NC kinda rural.Lots of power outages.Bought the 20Kw....Perfect !! Price was great, delivered on time in perfect condition.Would highly recommend EGD if your looking into a unit.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Harold Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Allan S.
Sherwood Forest, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/4/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What A Relief
What a relief to have our generator up and running if needed. We lose power frequently and finally decided to get a whole house unit. We needed to have the capability to run two air conditioning systems due to medical conditions. We have it now! It is so quiet - quieter than our old 3K gasoline generator and no cords are needed all over the house anymore.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Quiet
Allan Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Chester M.
Downingtown, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/16/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Price And Best Service
If you are looking to install a whole house generator, and you have looked at the usual Home Depot and Loews, be very careful at looking at price alone!!!!

I took the time to carefully review all of the inclusions from DIRECT and compared them to what the others were offering and believe me, there is a huge difference. Loews only offers the centurian series, at a lower price, along with Home Depot, but what I found is that none of the needed Bells and Wistles were included, and the series... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Quiet
Cons: Heavy, Of Course It's Heavy
Chester Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Robert M.
Lahoma, OK
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/1/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy
Easy to install, easy to follow instructions. I have not had to use it in an emergency situation yet, but it starts up on time and runs its exercise program .
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Reliable
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
42
Charles S.
Franklin, WI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/11/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy, Happy, Happy
We were very pleased both with the generator and also with the shipping. The generator came in perfect condition and was installed with no problems.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Features
Charles Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Samuel P.
Washington, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/30/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement Generator
Works great shipped by good trucking company. Only complaint light surface corrosion on valve covers and attachment hardware, storage area? Great company to deal with.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality
Samuel Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
John A.
Key West, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generic Standby Generator
I recently installed a Generic Standby Generator 20kw. I am an electrician and found the installation was fairly easy to install. I tested it and put all the load of my house on the unit and it worked beautiful. I highly recommend this unit. Thank You.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
John Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I would recommend Electric Generators Direct to a friend."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Edward F.
Waretown, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/12/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 20kw Ng Back-up Generator
The most important thing is to get an experienced and Generac trained contractor to review all aspects beforehand of having a unit installed including functions, installation process and local permitting. Generac was chosen as the manufacturer based on research and numerous recommendations.

WiredUp Electric was chosen here in Ocean County, NJ as the contractor and EGD was the selected supplier based on past recommendations. Generac also has other area full service contractors in the area.... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Features, High Quality
Edward Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
20
George M.
Phoenixville, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/25/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
We had been bothered by constant power outages.. I researched generators and felt Electric Generators Direct offered the best value. What a pleasant surprise I had dealing with EGD. They provided quick prompt courteous service. My generator came as promised with no shipping charges. I found the best price, the best service and a great resolution to my problems. Now, when my power goes out my new generator switches on and I have all the comforts at home once again. Thank you Electric... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Reliable, Easy To Use
George Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John N.
Mount Holly, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/12/14
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Put To The Test
One week after I completed the installation and test of the 20 Kw generator, the homeowners called to tell me that they lost Power. Their new generator fired up and performed flawlessly...Made Me look Like a Hero!!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Easy To Use
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Cary O.
Hialeah, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/4/14
REVIEWED
APR.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Service
Thank you.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Quiet
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Cary Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ryan W.
Inez, KY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/30/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 20kw
Generator was an easy install and seems to be good quality.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Features
Ryan Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert M.
Victorville, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/9/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 20 Kw Stand By Generator
The product is awesome but the service I got was just as good,Rachael really responded in a timely matter with questions I had. Great job! Bob M.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Use, Durable
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ricky B.
Asheboro, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/13/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Customer Satisfaction
I purchased this unit to install for one of my customers. Great product, easy to choose unit , and prompt deliver. Why buy anywhere else.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Electric Connections Inside The Unit Difficult To Access
Ricky Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Ricky Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything I expected and more"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert W.
Eagle, ID
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/5/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product, Great Service And Received Promptly
Ordered the 20KW Generac generator had it professionally installed. My neighbors now all want one.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Robert Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered a 20KW Generac generator. Shipped next day and received a few days later."
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Frederick S.
Stewartstown, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/10/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looking For Value And Quality
Went to big box stores and local distributors. Grace Electrical Services, LLC John Burton recommended this site and I was glad I did it. Service in our area has been going out more amd more lately. So after shopping around Electric Generators Direct beat everyone got a whole house 20KV for thousands less than a 17KV. Also working with my gas contractor Gemmill Pumbing and heating it went very smooth. Now I have not had a power outage yet but have confidence it will perform. Would highly... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Quiet, Reliable
Cons: None So Far I Tested The System By Shutting Down 200amp Circuit
Frederick Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jerry C.
Waxahachie, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/7/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Emergency Generator
Excellent delivery time, hookup was straight forward with good online FAQs that helped to understand the instruction books. The generator so far works as advertised.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Features, Reliable
Jerry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark P.
Tallmagde, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/16/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Service
Very easy to install. I have used this generator on numerous jobs and have always been satisfied.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Reliable
Mark Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mark Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very Good Service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Gernot R.
Kensington, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/16/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dealer/installer
This is the best bang for your buck and I absolutely mean it, I have one installed at my house and I love it. Also get the mobile link, the best innovation yet.

To all the DIY folks that really have no idea what they are doing, almost all negative aspects to any generator system arise from a poor installation, there are so many parts that can easily be damaged because of ignorance! So stop doing it yourself, pay the pros to do it, you can still buy your system at this webpage for a very... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Best Bang For Your Buck
Cons: Low Quality
Gernot Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard M.
Goodrich, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/7/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Standby Generator Looks Great! But No Power Outage Too Date....
Headline says it all. When the power next goes out here, I'll tell you how good or bad is this standby generator. For now, it worked as advertised when tested on initial installation, it is quiet enough, it has all the features I was looking for. 'Till the lights go out...
Pros: Price, Features, Quiet
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Glenn H.
Montgomery, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/29/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad We Took The Plunge
We moved back to the Houston area in Ferurary and have been without power four times (thunderstorms), so we decided a permanently mounted standby generator would be a wise investment. A little internet research led to the selection of a Generac 20kw, and a little more research made the decision to go with Electric Generators Direct. Ordered on Monday, generator arrived on Friday, and we were up and running on Saturday. Very straightforward homeowner installation and the new peace of mind is... more
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Quiet, High Quality
Glenn Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Glenn Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivery was super quick and installation was very easy! The generator weighs 450 lbs, so getting it in place was the most difficult part. Couldn't be happier with the experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Daniel M.
Hazlet, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/16/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
Now my family has peace of mind knowing were protected.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Fast Easy Hassle Free Shipping Would Highly Recommend Egd
Daniel Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Daniel Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Love it, now I have peace of mind."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard B.
Rockford, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/6/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
We Are Very Happy So Far With Our Generator
So far everthing is working as it should. We havenot had a power outage yet so we havenot seen how it will act then. So far it comes on and runs every week on the day we have picked. The directions on how to set it up to run were a little confusing but we figured them out finally. We are very happy with it so far.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price
Cons: Bad Instructions
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Richard Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everyone was very helpful and the shipping worked out very well. It was packaged very well and received it just as we had directed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Max C.
Edgewood, WA
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power Went Out Morning After Installation.
My wife has Alzheimer's, so we moved in with our daughter and son in law and two grandchildren.

We paid for a remodel which included a complete electrical up-grade to code, new meter, new switch box, rewiring outdated electrical, and adding the whole house generator using an upgraded natural gas line and meter.

The work took nearly three months. The morning after we moved in, the same morning after the completed install of the generator, the city power went out.

Since then, we have... more
Max Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles C.
Steele, MO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/29/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Talking Generator
I purchased this Generac generator in February 2014 and it was installed in March of the same year by myself the owner. The installation instructions were very easy to follow, and I have not had any problems with this generator. Power Equipment Direct was very helpful in acquiring this generator, and it was shipped right on time as they stated that it would be.

I found this generator to be exactly as described and it has showed to service my house very well. I am pleased with the purchase... more
Charles Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Charles's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything on the web site that I read I received from Power Equipment Direct. Very well pleased."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ben B.
Okeechobee, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/2/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfaction
While it took some time to get the suppliers (gas mechanic and delivery and the electrical company) to do their part, everything seems perfect. It has exercised at the proper time for three weeks.

The smart switch was checked and promptly switched to service from the generator instead of incoming service. No hurricanes this year and no outages for other reasons but it did start and run for a couple of minutes once then shut down.

Electrician said it noticed and anticipated low... more
Ben Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John M.
Jena, LA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/18/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
You Should Have Told Me!!
While I am pleased with my 20kW Generac system, I am very disappointed with the vendor who should have told me: Hey, wait only one more month and we can sell you a 22kW generac air cooled system for only about $500.00 more.

Instead, I now have a perfectly good generator, but it is 10% less capacity than one I could have bought just one month later.
I have been informed that there is presently no way to convert my 20kW to a 22kW, even though the motor is the same size. Apparently the six... more
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
John,
The Generac 20kW generator has been their best selling unit for years and they have re-worked it to make it a 22kW unit. Generac introduced these units to us and we were not able to sell them until the 20kW models were sold out.

There are very few changes to the 22kW unit and it only provides 9 more amps. Typically this will not come into play since it is not even enough to power a single 15-amp circuit. Generac simply was the first to come out with a 22kW Air-Cooled model and honestly for most applications it's overkill.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lewis M.
Vineland, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/23/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Install
Just finished the installation. Nice looking unit. Has only been run to test installation and first exercise run.

Excellent buying experience. Good price, quick shipment. Driver even delivered the generator to the installation site at the rear of the house.
Lewis Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Lewis's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Recommended Gererac & Electric Generators Direct to a friend. He bought one for his business and will be buying another for the new house he is building."
 more
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Lewis,
Thank you for the recommendation. We appreciate it, and we're so glad everything's worked out well for you.
Was this review helpful?
00
David K.
Somerset, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/2/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hurricane Sandy
I'd never like to be without a standby generator. Plus I don't have to worry about purchasing sky high gas too.
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry M.
Delton, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/27/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
I'am Not Happy
The generators frame is falling off the base. I through I bought quality. Very disappointed.
Larry Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Larry,
Sorry to hear that you are not happy with the quality of the generator. If you can supply us with more information including pictures and serial number we can have Generac look into the problem to get this resolved.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Gladene M.
Nacogdoches, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/7/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Am So Pleased With This Generator!
I live in an area that the electricity seems to go off fairly often. I live alone, and am not able to crank a small generator. So, I decided to get the standby one. This is the first day that my generator has needed to come on, and it did - just like a champ!

My electricity was off about an hour early this morning. Then at noon today was the time for the weekly test and the clocks didn't even blink! It is a wonderful thing to not have to worry about the electricity anymore! I just... more
Gladene Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Gladene's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"You were easy to deal with and had good prices. I worried some about the delivery, but even that turned out great!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/31/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
Have not had to use it yet, but the sound of it coming on to charge the battery is such a sweet sound. Just knowing that it is watching over our home is a great feeling.

Rumor is that we are going to have a bad winter, so I'm just daring the electricity to go off....now that I am prepared.
Mike Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Morris Lavi
Great Neck, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/26/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Generator
Great choice! This generator brings us peace of mind and lets us sleep at night.
Morris Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Morris's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"it is a great product"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Clifford M.
Cusick, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/31/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
I Did Not Pass Inspection
I need something to shed down to 83 amps.
Pros: You Shoud Tell People About What They Need
Cons: Bad Instructions
Clifford Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Clifford,
Generac does not offer a Load Shedding device that will handle the full 83-amps. They do offer the PMM Modules (6199 & 6186) which can be added to the ATS (up to four of them) that will allow you to shed the load on four additional high amperage items such as an electric range or a well pump. Below is a link to the Owner's Manual which will cover how they get wired and how they operate.

Generac 6199

Generac 6186

Owner's Manual
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Adam B.
Great Neck, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/5/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
I was so happy to hear the hum of the generator as we had the first black out after installing it. Thanks so much!
Adam Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John Smith
Fair Play, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/31/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exceptional System!
Easily installed, attractive, and fully functional full-home backup generator. The installation manual is excellent, but the owner's manual is a little light on how to interpret the alarm log (a "no-AC on charging circuit alarm that was generated during installation had us mystified until we learned it was only the most recent event, not an on-going one).

Also, it appears that exercise dates and times set in the system must be more than 24 hours in the future, since the original times... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Bad Instructions
John Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard Mejzak
Washington Crossing, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/29/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Just Had It Installed
Too new to know since it just ran through its first short exercise period last week. Am finding it very confusing getting the proper service plan since most if not all service plans replace the oil and filter once a year, need it or not.

They all seem to think the 2Y/200 hours, whichever occurs first is not enough. I don't know who to believe, the Generac recommendation or theirs. Please help!
Richard Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Richard,
All of the Generac standby generators come with a 2 year filter and because of this the recommended oil change is 2 years or 200 hours. The generators are run for 25 hours at the factory and there is no need to change the oil after a break-in period like the older models from a few years ago.

The maintenance kits we offer have 1 year filters and therefore the generator needs maintenance once a year after the initial 2 year maintenance.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Vincent Bonica
Washington Crossing, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/28/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mind At Ease!
We have experienced power outages since we moved to PA. Some have been just annoying - lasting 2 or 3 hours.

However, two were over 4 days long. We understood the power outage after a hurricane, but last winter we experienced a 4 day long outage after an ice storm knocked down wires.

We were "surviving" with a portable Generac, but it required us to get gasoline and that was a problem when the closest gas station had no power. The solution for us was to have QPI... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Vincent Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Zot B.
Yellow Springs, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/18/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
As Ordered
I ordered a 20Kw Genrac generator. It arrived intact and soon we will have it hooked up. What more can I say :)?

Only thing I could add is that the website didn't give me the option of also ordering the cold weather kit. Would have been nice so I didn't have to make a separate order.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Quiet, Durable
Zot Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Zot,
We're sorry you had trouble placing both items on one order. We've looked into this, and it appears to be working fine now. Thank you for the feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph C.
Montrose, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/22/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly As Expected!
I installed a 17K at another location 8 years ago and with only one failure (the regulator) it has performed flawlessly.

The installation was in a remote location with only an unpaved road and up-hill drive. My request for a "box-truck" went nowhere and it was delivered by tractor trailer with a lift gate. Fortunately we were able to transfer the well crated generator and switch to my trailer and I had to complete the delivery myself.

I installed this 20K last week. The... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Reliable
Cons: Gaps In The Instructions
Joseph Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Myron H.
Guysville, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/28/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Satisfied Customer
Within a week after my generator was installed we lost our electric for about 11/2 hours, the generator started very quickly and performed like is designed to do. When the electric came back on it shut down which we did not know the electric was back on till the generator shut down.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Easy To Use
Myron Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth G.
Helena, AL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/11/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Problem Instructions
Had no trouble with delivery or propane hook -up with this unit . Problem came in when unit instructions did not show or explain how to hook-up the controller wires . It tells the sizing of the wires to use but not where to place them. Called my warranty service and told them I had a trouble code that stated no battery charger and could make Transfer Switch work manually only . Technician told me which wires went where and charged me $150 . Have had no problems with unit since, it exercises... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions
Kenneth Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Kenneth's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The instructions on how to wire the transfer switch controller wires are a little vague in the instructions . There needs to be a picture off these wire connections in the in the instruction sheet."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas K.
Washington Crossing, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/23/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ordering Was Very Easy
Has not been installed yet, awaiting township permit but installer has taken care of all permit applications.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Glen A.
Ash Flat, AR
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/30/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator
It's great. We've installed several on new houses we build!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Quiet
Glen Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Francis E.
Pottstown, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/9/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Produces Piece Of Mind For My Family
We live in an area where winter power outages can be as long as 9 days, so Generac provides us with an affordable and reliable option when power outages occur.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Features
Francis Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Francis's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I don't have much experience at this point in time, but the placement and electrical installation went very well. The generator automatically runs twelve minutes every week. I'm very confident that the unit will start running, if there are any power outages in my area and that gives my wife and me peace of mind."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark E.
Ada, OK
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Investment
I work out of town often and my family is home without me. When storms knock out the power the Generac does its job flawlessly. It is awesome knowing my family will have power when I'm gone.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Durable
Cons: Heavy
Mark Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David V.
Kennewick, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/12/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
American Made / Quality To Match And Quiet!
This beautiful 20k generator is certainly one of the best crafted and lightest I have ever seen! Electric Generators Direct sold this wonderful product to me and it had been damaged somehow in transit. There was no problem in getting another on its way. These people went out of their way to get the new one on its way. I cannot overstate how fantastic these people treat their customers. I have yet to find anyone so willing to make sure every aspect of the sale was perfect ! Thank you
more
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: Non Yet
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
David's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Never had a better experience with any vendor! These people went out of their way to make things right after receiving a generator that had been damaged somewhere along the shipping process. They were easy to talk to and were so helpful in getting a new one on the way! I would recommend Electric generators direct to anyone wanting a worry free buying experience withal of the technical help and support you could possibly imagine."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Terry S.
Prichard, WV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/24/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Worries About Power Outages
Love it, fuel cost about same as my gas machine without all the trouble of refueling and hauling. Also cleaner fuel.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Terry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Danny H.
Lemitar, NM
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/29/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tool & Good Reliability!
It has worked flawlessly since I've had it. Performs test every week on its own. Installation turned out nice and everyone that sees it compliments me about it. Delivery was extremely fast and service was good.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Use, Reliable
Danny Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Danny's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Really good service, answered all my questions, verry knowledgeable, and confident about their product and what they do!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert W.
Eugene, OR
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/3/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product, Good Price
I shopped local and distant dealers as well as the internet for months before buying. The best price was from "Direct". I saved almost five thousand on the entire project by buying the unit myself. My only poor experience was the company that brought the unit to my house. They sent an 18 wheel semi to drive down my dirt road and driveway. The drive was extremely upset and dropped the unit off on the driveway, 250 feet from where it needed to be.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Delivery Was Poor
Robert Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Sandy R.
Aladdin, WY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/30/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Local Elec. Sent Me To The Site
It has been to cold to install, hope we can get it ready soon.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Features
Sandy Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Sandy Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast service and shipping for great price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
22
Jeffrey K.
Sands Point, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/4/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Highly Recommend
Background: I have a 6700 KW Mitsubishi gas generator hooked up to a manual double throw 200 Amp transfer switch. I had this set up for over 10 years and it served my needs until Sandy last year and the long gas lines.

I have natural gas for my boiler and thought a switch to a home standby unit made sense.

Purchase: After much research and reading of hundred of reviews, I came to the conclusion that generators manufactured by Generac, GE, Kohler and Omen were pretty much the same. ... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Features
Jeffrey Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Jeffrey,
In regards to your question about the initial oil change interval. The new models do not require the break in oil changes. Some of the models manufactured before a certain date may come with owner’s manuals that state the break in oil change is required, in which case we would ask that the owner follow instructions as listed in the owner’s manual.
more
Jeffrey Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Jim answered all my questions by email and telephone. Because of the service I received I bought from Electric Generators Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Evelyn O.
Califon, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/25/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 20kw
So far we are very satisfied. Had a delay in the plumbing holding up inspections. Finished now are hooked up to natural gas. Had to have a gas line hookup installed first.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Quiet, Reliable
Evelyn Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11
David R.
Laporte, IN
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thank You Generac
My wife and I just moved to Laporte Indiana and the best thing we did was invest in a Generac 20k generator. The power seems to go off a lot out here.....not any more for us. This generator has been running for two days non stop and purrs like a kitten. The best money we ever spent.... Thanks again for a great product.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Thomas P.
Southwick, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/5/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
Generators Direct was easy to use. It allowed me to compare generators and select the one I needed for my house. The installation was professionally done by a local electrician and generator service company. I took the opportunity to replace all the circuit breakers in the house at the same time. I like the peace of mind I have when I leave the home unattended in the winter. Should of had done it sooner.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Use, Quiet
Thomas Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dimitrios K.
Fort Lee, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/21/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Observations
The wiring area of the 6244 20kw Generac generator needs improvement in the wiring area. The large wiring hole needs to have plates for reducing the diameter to 3/4 size.. Need to state at the beginning of the installation that the code must be obtained first before trying activation. And whoever arranged the wiring design needs to have him install it fist before he submits the design for production.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive, Wiring Area Gets Congested
Dimitrios Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Dimitrios,
We always suggest having a standby generator installed be a licensed electrician or certified installer.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tn.
Price, UT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/3/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Confort
Now I can sleep in peace knowing I will have power.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Quiet
Tn. Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Earl G.
Waterford, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/18/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Delivery Of Outage Problems
Surprised at the quickness of delivery of my Generac Emergency Generator to offset the electrical outages in CT at shoreline due to service and/or weather (huricanes or snow). Now set to "combat" both.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Features, Quiet
Earl Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan B.
Huntington, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/4/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Product
Seems that the company has listened to owners over the years. I have a new 20kw and three neighbors have smaller older units that still work very nice..Little things have been improved..Battery in and out .etc
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Features, Reliable
Dan Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Dan Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"On the spot..Fast"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sheila R.
Driggs, ID
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/27/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
The staff at Electric Generators Direct was very knowledgeable and helpful with our purchase. The packaging of the generator was excellent. It was definitely well taken care of in transit. We purchased a two cylinder stand-by generator. At this point, our only negative is that it is louder than we anticipated. However, if it continues to work as well as it has, the noise is not a concern.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable, Durable
Cons: Not As Quiet As What We Expected
Sheila Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Wayne M.
Bowie, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/29/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Installed
Just had my 20KVA system professionally installed. Went well and the unit appears to be performing the weekly testing properly. No outages yet to verify the real operating capabilities yet. Can't wait though!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality
Wayne Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David P.
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Customer Service
This was my first attempt to learn about, and ultimately purchase, a whole house generator. I had excellent customer service from both Mike and Jim.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, High Quality, Reliable
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
David Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent customer service throughout the purchase and delivery experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim R.
Westerly, RI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/13/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Business Owner
We are a small family owned Electrical Contracting business where we do residential, industrial and commercial work. We install a lot of generators and just became aware of this site a couple months ago.

We can not by Generac Generators from our Electrical suppliers as a package deal.We have to buy them separately which figures out to an additional
$500 to $1000 dollars on some of these packages, which makes us more competitive like pricing people get from Lowes or Home Depot. Its easy to... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Quiet, Reliable
Tim Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry G.
Fulton, KY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/21/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Value
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Larry Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
11
R Lee
Clarksburg, NJ
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
I got mine after sandy hit and I'm glad I did. Power just went out again and the thing just started right up.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: None
R Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
R's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I ordered the day Sandy hit and got it 4 days after in the snow storm and the driver got it to my garage. Couldn't ask for more"
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
David P.
Huntsville, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/28/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seamless & Simple
The hinge on door over main breaker was broken. Then price of generator was reduced before I got it hooked up. Overall the generator was simple to connect, looks good, and the start up procedure for the warranty activation was seamless and simple.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Easy To Use, Features
David Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Chris
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Problems Getting Service?
If you want service after the sale, then buy from an authorized dealer and not an online sales outlet.
You can't expect a local dealer to support what he doesn't sell. You may pay a little more but service after the sale is what you are paying for.
Pros: High Quality
Chris Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Was this review helpful?
23
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 6244 standby air-cooled generator reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 6244 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 6244 standby air-cooled generator that is right for you.