Search
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 5887 Standby Air-Cooled Generators Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
Generac Guardian 5887 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (1)
Reliable (1)
Price (1)
Easy To Use (1)
Cons
Heavy (1)
14 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Andrew L.
Saddle Brook, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/8/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Business
As a electrical contractor with many instalations under my belt I highly recommend the 20 kW to take care of your power outage needs. Great service and delivery without any fuss. I have had units shipped to northern New Jersey with prompt reliable service. Thanks again as we continue to do business
View Image
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Andrew Recommends This Generac Guardian Product
Andrew Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"By far quality service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Leroy
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Perfectly!
I have had the system installed in my home for two years now. Several power outages later... No problems!

The system works just like it is supposed to work and electricity is restored to my entire home in 13 seconds! It handled two 4-ton air conditioners, two 3 HP pool pumps, two electric water heaters and many computers.

I did put the unit in a plastic building made by Suncast to protect it from the weather. See the photos.

I wanted to re-mount the transfer switch so that it... more
View Image
View Image
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward A.
Weddington, NC
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Home Owner
After extensive research, I purchased the Generac Guardian 20KW Home Standby generator. Two deciding factors were: 1. Generators are the only product of Generac and 2. The engine is pressure lubricated ensuring longer run life than splash lubricated generators.

Acting as my own general contractor, I hired a local electrician that I had experience with and knew could read the wiring diagram. The installation went without any problem. There was some initial confusion about the Heat Pump... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Nancy
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/23/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
My contractor installed a 20kw Generac Generator for me. Timing was perfect as we discovered a gas leak at the gas meter. A new larger gas meter was installed including a new underground line to the street. I also had my contractor install a 200amp transfer switch in place of my old 200amp panel. Now it's all in one and totally automatic. When power goes out the generator response time is under 30 seconds. When commercial power comes back on the generator runs for an additional 60 seconds and... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald
Westport, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/31/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Standby Generator Review
I'm very satisfied with this standby generator. No problems! Thank You
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark S.
San Francisco, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/17/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product But ...
I love the generator, the price, the great service and rapid delivery (beat the estimated time by a day) .

I think that this unit needs a simplified set up instruction sheet for the installer. I have installed in excess of 30 standby generator units but this one was the most confusing for a few simple reasons.

1. How to access the unit to install the battery - Lift the top, Remove the front panel by lifting up and pulling forward until the top anchor pins are clear then tip out and up... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Walter C.
Miami, FL
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Much Better
The 20 kv generator I installed is a replacement for a 15 kv generator that failed.

The 20 kv is operating much better and was an easy install; and the increased capacity is operating everything in my house where the 15 kv made it necessary to ration circuits.
Was this review helpful?
00
Sheri
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/12/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Found What I Was Looking For
Just What I Needed!
Was this review helpful?
00
Ralph
Titusville, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/12/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Florida Hurricane
Great price, it arrived within 5 days of placing my order, and was in great shape- just in time for our first hurricane.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/10/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Lcd Program Touch Pad
Electrician's BeWare....
As we went to do the start up on this unit after we did complete install the unit would not start or accept the program we enter onto the touch screen logic. I then read the instructions again to assure proper procedures, as I did the program again still no response for the unit to start on auto or manual.

We then started opening the logic board/lcd touch screen assembly to see what I had instore. As I opened it up to find a solid state electronic processor board... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim Jones
Mcdonough, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/21/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like It Should, Customer Is Happy
We created a packed gravel base for it to rest and then hoisted it into place. It's much too heavy to manually lift. With a couple of trips by my electrician and one gas connection technician we were running as promised. My customer thinks we are brilliant and we just followed the directions provided by Generac. They're happy and so are we. I'll be back.
Was this review helpful?
00
David Miller
Phoenix, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/2/11
REVIEWED
FEB.
24
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Price, No Sales Tax, Great Delivery & Product
We could not believe how well this order went. The generator was ordered on a Wednesday while your company was shut down because of the snowstorm. In spite of that it was shipped and we received the generator and transfer switch the first of the following week.

We had it hooked up and operational within a week with no problems. Good price, no sales tax, great delivery and product.
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike Kaufman
Lone Oak, KY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/26/10
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Fire House Generator
So far we are all smiles with our new 20k Generac Guardian. It was a simple set up and takes care of our needs in case we have another ice storm here in Kentucky.

Our Chief has decided to put one in our other station soon.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave
Hanover, VA
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Deal
Ordered my Generac a few weeks ago, got it a week later.

Could not get a better price from anyone locally, and it was delivered right to my door. Saved about $200.
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 5887 standby air-cooled generator reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 5887 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 5887 standby air-cooled generator that is right for you.