Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Generac Guardian 5883 Standby Air-Cooled Generators Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$2,457.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac Guardian 5883 Reviews
10 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jitu B.
Capistrano Beach, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/7/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Piece Of Mind For Unexpected Outages
Installation was easy. The plumber and the electrician did a professional job. I haven't had an occasion for it to kick in but I do hear weekly 10 mins exercise cycle. I would be interested in additional soundproffing for the sake of neighbor without compromising air flow.
Was this review helpful?
00
Conrad L.
Belle Chasse, KY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/20/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
10kw Standby Generator
Installed 10 kw standby generator and 200 amp transfer switch, fairly easy installation. Unit runs very quiet, starts easy, programming was easy and unit runs every week remotely.
Was this review helpful?
00
Glenn
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/3/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New 10kw Set
All of the hook up was no problem once I found the schematic that matched the transfer and generator that I am using. The main panel which became a sub panel required some modification to the neutral and ground bus bars.

All neutrals must be on one bar and all grounds on the other with no bonding in the sub panel. The service entry transfer switch (200 Amp Generac) is where the neutral and grounds are bonded. It works like a champ.

I used some expansion foam to fill the holes where the... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris D.
Chester, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/13/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just In Time
The very next day, after finishing the generator install, the power went out for six hours- but not for us!

The Generac fired up automatically and transferred over smoothly. When the power came back on, it transferred back without a blink in the lights!

It has ran almost daily for two weeks now, since we live in Plumas County, and have been surrounded by forest fires. When it runs, it's about as loud as a lawnmower, and it's quieter than our neighbor's generators.

It was easy to... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chuck
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/13/12
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Generator
No problem with the installation or performance.
Was this review helpful?
00
Chuck
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/13/12
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Overall Ok
Works OK but not as much information as I would like to see. Not the same information as displayed on the generator. Also, it only records the history if it is on. It will not download the history from the generator.
Was this review helpful?
11
Bob
Aliquippa, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/14/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Highly Recommended
I was satisfied with overall build quality of unit. Several items I feel could be improved.

The termination block inside the unit for power and control wiring was not in keeping with quality of the rest of the unit, in particular I didn't care for the compression type terminations for AC control wires. The inlet cooling screen did not fit snug to the case and left a considerable gap around most of the screen, just perfect for yellow jackets to enter and setup up shop. I sealed the... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/13/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Install
We like it very much. Delivery was great.
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike
Indian River, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/16/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Waiting For A Power Outage
Recently installed 10kW generator. Propane powered, install took awhile, however carefully followed directions supplied by manufacture. Everything works great, and the unit looks great. Cannot wait for first power failure. We live in Northern Michigan and lose power frequently, gets cold very quickly, not this winter. So far very, very pleased.
Was this review helpful?
00
Chuck
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/13/12
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Installation
No problems.
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac Guardian 5883 standby air-cooled generator reviews.Compare our Generac Guardian 5883 ratings. Find the Generac Guardian 5883 standby air-cooled generator that is right for you.