Search
< Back to Product

Generac EGD-5943KIT Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$1,298.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,298.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Generac EGD-5943KIT Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (10)
High Quality (7)
Easy To Store (6)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Durable (4)
Cons
Heavy (4)
Expensive (2)
great (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Serge H.
Chicopee, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/21/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Awesome
Works Awesome!!
View Image
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
910
Roosevelt L.
Waldorf, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/17/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worth Every Dime
I pulled the generator out of the box. I then followed the easy instructions to install the wheels, the battery, and handle added the oil and gas, she fired right up.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Store
Roosevelt Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Chris P.
Sussex, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/29/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Upgrade From 2500 Watts
I made it through 10 days without street power when Sandy hit NJ and although the northern inland part of the state didn't get ravaged like the coastal communities, I still had to keep 3 freezers cold, two furnaces running, charge the cell phones and keep my amateur radio station up for emergency traffic via the OEM. All on 2500 watts. What a circus.

This purchase represents what I already knew - 2500 watts is paltry for my needs but that generator was free and has come through for me over... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Easy To Store, Quiet
Chris Recommends This Generac Product
Chris Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Ordered, shipped and recv'd in less than a calendar week. Excellent communications with the carrier and prompt delivery. The whole experience from start to finish has been stellar and you have a new customer - I couldn't as for more. Thanks for your service!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Stephen G.
Huntington Station, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/26/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Generator
I purchased the Generac 7500 generator with 30 amp transfer switch as a package. The generator and installation was a snap to install and get running. I am very happy with the purchase, and I Am now ready for this years storm season. Thank you, Generac and direct generators.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Stephen Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Kelly P.
Sand Lake, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/22/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
7500 Watt Generac Generater
My husband installed it ... Started right up. Very impressed .. Powers my whole house. Love it!
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations, Quiet
Kelly Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Dave G.
Frederick, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/2/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
We live on a road with overhead power lines and in 2012 we lost power for 3 days. So after the storm we decided to purchase a Generac GP7500E - 7500 Watt Electric Start Portable Generator w/ Power Transfer Kit. I had my electrician hook up the essential circuits and test a black out scenario. Since installed we have had 2 big power outages. Both outages the generator and transfer switch performed flawlessly.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Durable, Features
Dave Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Leroy N.
Loft Creek, WV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/18/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Customer
Everything we were looking for.
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Durable, Reliable
Leroy Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Carolyn W.
Belair, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/5/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
I wouldn't buy my equipment any where else.
Pros: Durable, Features, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: great
Carolyn Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Jiri
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/16/13
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Generator
The above generator has been recommended by my brother-in-law. As I put its wheels on, I noticed that the 7500E is well made. My brother-in-law hooked up the power transfer switch and I fired up the generator. It started right up and it generates enough power for the circuit breakers that are connected to vital appliances in my house. So far so good. Ask me again after I have to use my generator during power outage.
Was this review helpful?
50
Jeremy S.
Perkiomenville, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/25/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Warm & Contented
It is now less than a week since our power was restored following Sandy's visit. Our power was out for 5 days. During that time I ran my unit 24/7.
Thanks to your electrical kit and my capable electrician, we had water, heat, full use of the kitchen, den and my man cave. The unit performed flawlessly.

All of our friends had stressful experiences. Thanks to your product and services my wife and I, both in our seventies, were warm and contented.
We couldn't be happier customers.
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Jeremy,
Please remember to do the scheduled maintenance outlined in your Owner's Manual.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Dan W.
Conway, SC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/25/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy So Far
The first thing I noticed about this generator was how well built and sturdy it is. I love the metal frame work and design. The wheels and handle bar were easy to assemble and I had my father-in-law install the transfer switch for me. I added the oil and filled it up with gas and it fired up like a charm. I tested it out for about 10 minutes just to see how it performs with energizing my house.

So far everything seems to work with the exception of my air conditioning unit in the back. The... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Easy To Store, Durable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Dan Recommends This Generac Product
Dan's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I really like the customer service of EGD. They are very quick to respond to your question and very knowledgeable about their products. I'll be buying my power equipment from them from now on."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Gary A.
So. Dennis, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/15/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Product
Generator was delivered on time and as directed. No damage. Had electrician install transfer switch ( which he said was very easy) added gas, oil and it fired up right away. Have not had to use it yet but if it runs as described it couldn't be easier. Thanks
Pros: High Quality, Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy
Gary Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Ira
Dix Hills, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/17/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Emergency Power
Did some research, shopped around, called with questions. All questioned answered, subsequently ordered Generac with transfer switch. Shipped promptly, received quickly. Electrician installed transfer switch. Ran simulated blackout. Performed as expected. Very satisfied with my purchase & the price paid.
Was this review helpful?
40
Brian M.
Southborough, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/5/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal
Brought it for my father, he loves it now he can warm when he loses power.
Brian Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Jeremy S.
Perkiomenville, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/25/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Experience
When gas flow opened, a terrible leak began at carburetor. Thanks to my farm-reared neighbor's expertise (tapping on the carburetor) the float was unstuck and the leak disappeared.

Since that bad start everything has been good. My electrician was impressed with the wiring package included. The generator starts and runs smoothly and its running power (7500 watts) is enough to easily provide for our oil burner, well pump, kitchen, den-TV room and my man cave with TV and computer.

I... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Brian
Suffolk, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/6/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Disappointed
Waited 1 year to finally order a generator. Did research and came across EGD and liked the prices. I planned on transfer switch and roughly 7 circuits. Did the numbers and came across the GP7500E kit with everything I needed. I really planned on the XG series due to being made in the States, but when I spoke with a representative they said the GP series was best. I am old enough to stick to my first choice, but I went with what the GENERATOR EXPERTS know. Very WRONG choice.

Generator... more
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Brian,
When shutting down your generator after use, always remember to turn the fuel supply to the off position. The GP7500E is covered by a 2-Year Warranty from Generac. For more information, Generac can be reached directly @ (888) 436-3722 x5381
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Gene D.
Dauphin, PA
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Model # Egd-5943kit
Order this product on line on a Tuesday, was ready to be delivered to me on Friday. Could not believe how fast it came. When I received it put wheels on & handle on filled oil & gas.

Hooked up battery and tried to start no go. battery dead, put charger on for 30 min. and it started right up. Great product. Very easy ordering thru PED. Would order again.
Gene Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
20
James C.
Cranston, RI
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Generator With Transfer Switch Combo
Bought mostly for home backup use, haven't really used it for long extent yet. Happy to be ready for power outage. Time shall tell.
James Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Aa
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/21/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Exactly As Advertised.
This generator was delivered quick, simple assembly instructions, and started right up and went to work. Powers all the lights in my house plus the electric water heater and a/c. All that plus the tv and fridge just about maxes it out. Transfer box is very simple to install. Didn't even need an electrician. Just connect the wires and install.

Con- needed a longer power cord and there was very little space for the wires in the transfer box.it would be nicer if the generator offered 40 amps... more
Aa Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Walter D.
Yorktown Heights, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/15/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy To Start
Easy to install wheels and handle, directions are very good. Delivery does require a power tailgate if you do not have several people to unload. Starts easy after adding oil and gas. Good value for the price.
Was this review helpful?
31
Andy A.
Hagaman, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/9/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Got A New Generac 75000e With Transfer Box/outside Pug
Handle design sucks! cheap wheels! should have 4 wheels. The outside plug setup is cheap. It will invite mud wasps or hornets nests. Should be enclosed to defer unwanted pests. Plastic enclosure is it uv proof? or else it will break down quick.The transfer box comes with conduit tubing that will not bend and hard to connect to coupling. Instructions to hook up not to good.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Andy Recommends This Generac Product
Andy Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"You guys are spot on and quick to respond. Great follow up."
 more
Was this review helpful?
54
Frank S.
Westport, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/20/13
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Retired Engineer
We lost our power for three days and Imade up my mind this wasn't going to happen again. I hired an Electrician to installed manual transfer kit. We tested the Generac and it worked with ease. Don't need any more storms but we (my family will be ready). Thanks for asking.
Was this review helpful?
10
Phil
Cross River, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/19/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Lifesaver
I am in the midst of the aftereffects of Hurricane Sandy. I haven't had power since the day of the storm.

It is now 3 days later. This generator has made it possible for me to stay in my home while the power has been out. I have been running it since the day of the storm. The installation of the transfer panel, which I had done by a professional, took only 2 hours.

The generator starts on the first push of the button every time. Gas consumption is slow, which is fantastic since... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Mike
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/23/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Time Purchase
The product arrived earlier than expected, even though it was backordered.

After filling the oil and gas, I connected the battery and was fired up in a few seconds!

It runs great and did not even sneeze at the load I put on it. I would recommend this generator to anyone looking at this size!
Was this review helpful?
10
George
Pine Island, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/24/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Breeze (no Problems)
It took a very short time to put the wheels and handle on and then start it up. I was amazed by the simplicity of it All! Hopefully it will start and run just as smoothly when the chips are down I still have to wait for the electrician to install the transfer kit But so far so good I just love this feeling of independence!!!
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/17/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good
I had a very good experience using Electric Generators Direct. My order was here in 3 days, and the delivery service did an excellent job.

I received the generator on a pallet without a scratch or tear in the shipping material.
Was this review helpful?
01
Rick
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/26/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
09
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Setting Up The Unit
I opened the unit up finally after looking at it for 3 weeks- no time, you know. I followed the quick start guide and it was easy enough except for adding oil. The instructions told me to add oil to the fill line, but there was not a fill line on the dipstick.

I put gas in and it started up right away. Now we should be good to go... I am still cleaning up from last Halloween.
Was this review helpful?
02
William H.
Firth, ID
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/18/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Need To Trade Mine In For A Bigger One
Bought the wrong one, called up an I wanted to get the 10000 watt but the lady said we could not send ours back! What a bummer for me!
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Heavy
William Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
25
Bradley S.
Ashaway, RI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bad Carburator
I received the Generac 7500E very quickly and was quite pleased. But after assembling it and putting gas in it, as soon as I turned on the gas valve, gas poured out of the carburetor. The generator is now at the repair shop and I am hoping no storms come.
Bradley Does Not Recommend This Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Bradley,
We're sorry you're having issues with your generator. This model is covered by a 2-Year Warranty. If you're having an issues getting your generator repaired, please contact us.
more
Was this review helpful?
05
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac EGD-5943KIT portable generator reviews.Compare our Generac EGD-5943KIT ratings. Find the Generac EGD-5943KIT portable generator that is right for you.