Your Cart @ Electric Generators Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Generac iQ2000 Recreational Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$799.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$849.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$859.43
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac 6866 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Features (3)
Quiet (3)
Easy To Use (2)
High Quality (1)
Cons
Will It Stand The Test O... (1)
None (1)
Unreliable (1)
80% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
31 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8476 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

The ultra-lightweight, fuel-efficient Generac iQ2000 inverter generator provides a practical, versatile machine that can go anywhere with ease.

With Selectable 3-Speed (Economy, Standard & Turbo) Operation the unit can run with less noise & better fuel consumption, w/ the flexibility to maximize power.

The Generac iQ2000 is also Parallel-Ready which means you can link two units together to Increase your available power without having a larger & heavier generator. The unit is... more
Jared Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
28567
manufacturers review image

Tim Land
Account Manager
From The Manufacturer
Iq2000- Quieter, Smarter, Beats Honda
Generacís iQ2000 inverter power generator is third-party tested and proven to be quieter* than current market leader Honda, ensuring hunters, campers, even tailgaters can savor the sounds of nature without compromising power. And Generac didnít stop at sound: End-users also benefit from the intuitive, fully functional LED dashboard that shows fuel level status, remaining runtime and wattage use.

The ultra-lightweight design is specifically engineered for easy portability. Select from three... more
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
11227
Timothy M.
High Falls, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/4/15
Total Helpful Votes
36 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quieter
Quieter than my dads Honda. I think it might have a little bit less power than the Honda though. Was tripping breaker running the toaster in our camper.
Timothy Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
366
Robert C.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/2/16
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
50/50
Bought two with the coupling device. One works perfectly. The second shows no gas or time to run even though both were setup exactly the same. Contacted customer service on Monday.

Under heavy load both are quiet. Setup was easy. Dissatisfied with issue on second inverter.
Cons: Unreliable
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
We apologize for the initial issues that you have experienced with one of your two units. Give us a call at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) so that we can address your product's issues in more detail.
more
Was this review helpful?
123
Randy S.
Modesto, CA
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Searching For The Best Portable Generac Iq2000 Is It!
Move aside Honda and Yamaha Generac iQ200 is better and Quieter yes I said quieter and it has more features. The best thing it's 300 dollars cheaper. Going to buy another so I can parallel 2 together, I left something out its also lighter .
Pros: Quiet, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable, Price, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Store
Randy Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
James T.
Woodstock, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Iq2000 Troubles
Purchased my IQ2000 on April 25th and received it about 5 days later. Didn't open box until the weekend of May 15th. Used it on camping trip and it worked and functioned great. I was satisfied. Next use was Labor Day weekend. All electronic functions were no longer functional and the unit was leaking gas. Returned home and tried to reach Generac where no one would answer the phone.

After hours of effort, finally found someone that did warranty service on Generacs. After driving across town... more
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
James,
We're very sorry to hear about the problems you've experienced with your generator. Hopefully this will be resolved quickly.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
James,
We're sorry to learn of your frustrating experience. So that we can address your issues in an expedited manner, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the serial number of your personal unit. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Lawrence L.
Ida, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/6/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Generator
This is the perfect generator for the average person with small electrical power needs,. It's very quiet and reliable and easy to start. The fuel economy is unbelievable. It's light weight and very portable, perfect for tailgating or camping. I would say Genreac has hit a grand slam with this one.
Lawrence Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald R.
Sevierville, TN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/13/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Generac Iq2000
Bought this 2000W Generator as a back up to our 10KW house generator. The 10KW burns to much fuel to keep it running all day. You can run the 2000 for up to 8 hours on one gallon of gas and it keeps the "normal" things going.
Then turn on the dual fuel 10KW for the pumps and water heater, etc. I liked this Generac iq2000 so I bought two more as Christmas presents for my two kids.
Donald Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael K.
Saint Cloud, MN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/17/15
Total Helpful Votes
32 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Iq2000
I bought the generator mostly for camping, powering my popup camper. I have used it 3 times and put about 25 hrs on it. I can honestly say I could not be happier with the machine. It's quiet as it says, efficient and the led lights and gauges are so valuable. The best part was when it was cold last weekend I ran the generator for the camper and I placed it close enough to the camper that I could see the time remaining on the tank that when I would wake up in the middle of the night I could look... more
Michael Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
We are thrilled to learn of your satisfaction with the iQ2000. Thank you for providing us with your thoughtful feedback. Please do not hesitate to give us a call at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) if there are any questions that we can answer for you regarding your personal product. Also, if you have not done so already, please be sure to register your unit to initiate your product's warranty. For your convenience, the registration process can be completed online via the following link: https://register.generac.com/?cid=frm-105-aa . Again, we thank you for submitting your review, and hope you continue to put the iQ2000 to good use!
more
Was this review helpful?
324
Ashley H.
South Mills, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/24/15
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Class A Motorhome
Bought this generator to run the TV so I wouldn't have to run the on-board generator I was very surprised how quite it is compared to the, Honda and the price is cheaper. I will buy another so I can run the ac and it uses less fuel than the on-board generator.
Ashley Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
281
Brent D.
Grand Rapids, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/9/15
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tailgating Power
Right out of the box, filled it with gas and oil for tailgating and it was ready to go. Powered all electrical needs throughout the entire day. Easy one pull start and very quiet.

Only issue I had was one of the rubber feet ripped off during the transport, but called Generac and they have already shipped a replacement.

This was one if my better purchases from GD! Would highly recommend this newest version from Generac
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Brent Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
271
Peggy C.
Muncy, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/13/15
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like
First camper and generator ..works great and easy for me to start. Quiet too.
Peggy Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
231
Mathew M.
Chino Valley, AZ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/20/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Review
Generac delivered as promised with a efficient, quiet generator at a reasonable price. Use it in the pits at drag races and I don't even know its running, wish the other racers had one.
Mathew Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
222
Roger K.
Plano, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/28/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
Ran the generator for twelve hours while tailgating without having to refuel or guess how much time was remaining. Love the digital readout so the guessing game is a thing of the past.
Roger Recommends This Generac Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Roger,
That's wonderful. We're very happy to hear that it's worked out so well for you. Thank you for sharing your experience with other online shoppers.
more
Was this review helpful?
2910
Randy B.
Arvada, CO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/30/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Winner!!!
I have both the Honda EU2000is and the Generac IQ2000. So far the Generac is more quiet and has better features like the time remaining on fuel at any level of power and an output readout when demanding current. I'm very impressed.
Randy Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
150
Natalie G.
Arlington, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/13/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Had Leaky Gas, But Replacment Performs Great
The unit shipped had a gasoline leak when running. Called Generac and they shipped a replacement which doesn't have the problem. They said they're experiencing quality issues at the moment. That can happen to *any* vendor. Their response was very good, and the replacement performs very well with great features.
Natalie Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Natalie,
Thank you for providing us with your candid submission. We're sorry to learn of the issues that you experienced with the generator that you initially purchased. While we are glad that the provided replacement is performing admirably, please know that we are not experiencing widespread issues with these models. As indicated by your personal experience, we are always happy to address isolated incidents if/when they occur. We apologize for any inconvenience that your initial experience may have caused, and thank you for providing us with a review regarding your satisfaction with the product and the customer service that we were able to provide.
more
Was this review helpful?
184
Gow V.
Brooklyn Park, MN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/13/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator
Great customer service, great item.
Gow Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
163
Danny L.
Pauls Valley, OK
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/20/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Would Recommend
The generator is very quite and fuel efficient. I've only ran 2 tanks of fuel through it and so far I couldn't be happier. Very easy to start...
Danny Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
2917
William F.
Venice, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/29/16
REVIEWED
APR.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator Very Satisfied For Emergency Communications
Very satisfied with Direct sent them an email and they responded with an answer to my question. Great service and delivery. With that said I live in Florida and I am a ham radio operator. Bought the generator for emergency communications for portable stations. I now have 19 Hrs on the unit and put it through some paces. I set up portable for National parks on the air and ran the generator for about 6 hrs before the rain and storms set in,on SSB and labtop computer no RFI, clean power on 20... more
Pros: Features, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Will It Stand The Test Of Time Honda A Proven Work Horse
William Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Jay
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Must Have Item
I work in television and film and we are constantly looking for generators that are super quiet. If I had to rate this generator from 1 to 10, I would give it a 9 1/2.
Jay Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Edward B.
Yarmouth Port, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/23/16
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product!
I received my Generator this morning. I followed the instructions and was very pleased with the quality so far. Easy to use and the instructions were clear. I tested the unit with low draw on economy and then on turbo with about 20 percent. The unit is very quiet and is simple to use. I ran the unit for 3 hours without a problem. We have used Honda's up at our camp but I am impressed with the gauges and time left indicators. Very quiet! Looks like a home run for Generac!!
Edward Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Joseph R.
Sebring, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
I was very satisfied with everything about this generator. I have only run it a bit, real tests will come in the summer. I will say it is even quieter than I thought..Everyone I have dealt with at Electric Generators Direct have been been very courteous and helpful.
Joseph Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Jonathon C.
Carmichael, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/20/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
One Worked The Other Leaked Gas
I bought 2 Generac IQ 2000's. One works just fine as advertised but the other one leaked gas from somewhere around the carburetor the first time I started it. I took it to a certified repairman and was told that it takes at least 6 weeks to get parts for these things. This seems way out of line to me. 6 weeks is way to long to wait for parts especially for a generator I just bought. That's a terrible way to take care of your customers.
Was this review helpful?
113
Mike F.
Brewster, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/7/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Arrived With Fuel Leak!
Not very happy! Item arrived with a cracked fuel line. Filled and oiled generator, saw it was leaking gas.
Took to service center for warranty, part is not available for three weeks! Glad I don't need to use it immediately.
Disappointed
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Mike,
Mike,
Sorry to hear about cracked fuel line. Please be aware that this is a brand new item from Generac. Which probably resulted in some delay of having the parts available for service. If there's any other issues, please don't hesitate to contact us.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mike,
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you have experienced with your recently purchased portable inverter generator. As we test our products for operation and quality prior to shipment, we are interested to know when the fuel line incurred damage. Moreover, we apologize for the limited availability of the parts that you currently require for your servicing needs. If you would like to receive an update on the availability of these parts, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with the serial number of your personal unit.
more
Was this review helpful?
1611
James T.
Woodstock, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/25/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Idle Speeds A Little Confusing
I have only used my generator on one camping trip. It did a good job powering my camp. While the gas, time remaining, and load usage features are handy, the three idle settings are confusing. Are they even necessary? Shouldn't the generator determine the power draw and adjust itself accordingly? Seems kind of senseless if it doesn't. None of the owner material addresses this. I am satisfied with the overall function. Two friends, one with a Honda and the other with a Yamaha, were booth... more
James Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Brian F.
Fremont, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/4/16
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Impressed!!! Old Model Is Better & Cheaper
Used this new model twice and tried to run a 1400w waffle maker and it overloaded twice and would not start again until next day!!!
don't buy this item.
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Brian,
In some instances, it could be the actual appliance you're trying to use that could be giving you the issue. Generac stands behind this product with a 3-Year Limited warranty. I'd suggest bringing it in to a local servicing dealer who can diagnosis the problem for you. To find a local service center Generac can be reached directly @ 888-436-3722 or Generac Dealer Locator
more
Was this review helpful?
96
Robbin B.
Mediapolis, IA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/1/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Buy Only Honda
Brand new, never had chance to use. All indicator lights are non working. Called Generac, they say to take to authorized warranty dealer to fix. So happens this dealer has always had problems with Generac and refuses to carry their product. It's been with this dealer for 3 weeks now and no solution(s) yet.
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Robbin,
Thank you for the feedback and we're sorry about the experience you've had with your generator. We'll definitely make Generac aware of this.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robbin,
Please give us a call at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) with your unit's serial number. Once we are able to obtain this information, we should be able to explore resolution options for your unit's issues in an expedited manner.
more
Was this review helpful?
129
Michael B.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/30/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Impression
Arrived a day early and in good shape. I waited a few day to try it out. Put in the oil and gas and it started on the 2nd try. Nice and quiet. Can hardly wait to go camping and use it there. So far, I'm pleased.
Michael Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Carlos C.
El Cajon, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/19/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love My Generac
Very good quality product.
Carlos Recommends This Generac Product
Carlos's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"They deliver on time"
 more
Was this review helpful?
31
David S.
Punta Gorda, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/5/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally, A Competitor
I have owned a Hondo 2000 for about 10 years. I have been disappointed that there seems to be price fixing because the price has stayed at $999 everywhere.

Finally someone, Generac, has come out with a competitor. I bought a 6866 as a gift to my daughter who needed a generator for her living quarters in her horse trailer. She loves it. It runs her ac, tankless water heater, and other loads all at the same time. Ordering was easy and delivery was quicker than expected!
David Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ronald L.
Goodyear, AZ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/19/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Iq2000
Product received quickly and in great condition. Seems like a great product though I have not used it yet.
Ronald Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac 6866 recreational portable generator reviews.Compare our Generac iQ2000 ratings. Find the Generac 6866 recreational portable generator that is right for you.