Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Generac GP6500E Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$899.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock$899.00
No Sales Tax* (Except CA)
Visit Site
 
$899.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$909.58
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$899.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac 5941 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (15)
Reliable (13)
Price (9)
High Quality (8)
I'd Buy It Again (7)
Cons
Heavy (3)
Noisy (1)
A Bit Loud (1)
Beware However That It D... (1)
See Comments Above (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
94 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Henry S.
Cranbury, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/29/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased Customer
I was extremely happy with the way the salesman helped me select my unit. It was delivered within 3 days and brought right up to my garage. Assembly was easy and had it running in about an hour. It is a little noisy.

I had an electrician install an outside plug to my electrical panel. We tested it the other day and the unit held my entire house. It was a great purchase and would recommend purchasing this type of unit. Very pleased customer.
Henry Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jack E.
Central Square, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/27/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator!
We had a smaller unit that worked great however, it didn't have electric start so we decided to upgrade. It shipped and arrived SUPER FAST!
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, Fast
Jack Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul P.
West Monroe, LA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/30/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Generator
This generator was received in petfect condition ahead of schedule. It starts instantently and I have about 4.5 hrs run time on it. Initially I could hear a whine over the motor noise.. This disappeared after 2 hrs running. The generator is connected to a Reliance 100 amp whole house transfer panel. This works perfectly to switch from Entergy power to generator power and back to Entergy..

We have contractors working in the house and it has powered their saws and compressors along with the... more
Paul Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeff J.
Oklahoma City, OK
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Little Generator
I purchased this generator for my house along with the 10 circuit transfer switch. We simulated a power failure and it performed well.
I live in Oklahoma (Tornado alley) and we have had several power failures over the past few years. This should work great when this happens this year. The only thing I don't like is the battery charger. You should be able to plug it into the 120 volt outlet on the generator and charge the battery when you test your generator every month. The generator... more
Jeff Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
James M.
Berlin, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/31/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
I did a lot of questioning and research before making this decision. We had an 8k Generac in the house we just moved from. This unit is for our daughter that lives in a more country setting. Looses power several times a year. Ordering the Generac GP 6500E over the phone was easy. Man knew his stuff. Delivered by tailgate lift helped by driver. I loaded the heavy box onto a movers 4 wheel dolly to get it in the garage. Set up on the dolly was helpful.

I installed full synthetic oil... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Cons: Muffler Should Be Quieter
James Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
James K.
Inlet, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/5/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Peasy
Generator arrived in perfect condition. Is a bit heavy to lift but having a horizontal dolly made it easy. Assembly was simple. Had trouble finding the model and serial number but that was me. Haven't needed it yet but am at ease knowing I have power.
James Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert C.
Alger, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/31/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Looking Generator
Generator arrived on the day it was supposed to. Driver brought the generator into the garage and product was in good shape. It took a couple hours to install wheels, handle, battery, and oil. Pressed the button for the electric start...and it started right away...and ran perfectly! Now all I need is a power outage to give it a good workout&#128077;
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Robert Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph B.
Lampasas, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/29/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lift Gate Service Was Great
This Generac Electric start fired right up so we feel like this is going to be a great item. The Lift Gate service was excellent.
We were not able to have item delivered at our home, so we meet the truck, transferred it to our truck and off we went. The price was also a really great deal so do not hesitate pick yours up today.
Joseph Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Chad T.
Champlain, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/28/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Buy
I am very happy with my Generac GP6500E. After shopping around locally nobody could beat the price. The shipping company was great to work with. The electric start is great. Once I had everything wired up the generator ran my whole house. It is a great buy for peace of mind.
Chad Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ted P.
Berkley, MA
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Unit
We bought our Generac 6500e three years ago and have used it several times after the power went out. We have an electrician friend in our town who wired it all in for us with the transfer switch and even grounded it. I start it once a month and let it run for about five minutes or so, so it starts when I need it to.

The generator is quit and runs a long time without refueling. The small problem we have is knowing when the power comes back on so we can turn the unit off, since we have no... more
Ted Recommends This Generac Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Ted,
If you need to know when the utility power is back on....check this out....Reliance Controls PowerBACK Utility Power Return Alert
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ted,
Thank you for providing us with your review. If there are any questions that we can answer for you regarding your purchased products, please do not hesitate to give us a call at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Also, don't forget to register your unit if you haven't done so already. Completing the registration process will allow you to initiate your product's warranty; this process can be completed online via the following link: https://register.generac.com/?cid=frm-105-aa . Again, we thank you for your thoughtful feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
M.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/2/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Generator, Great Price
After a lengthy in-store and on-line search for a generator that could handle my entire house's electrical need's in case of a power outage, I found that Generac garnered consistently high ratings and praise from other owners. Shopping on the EGD website was very easy and the price was the best I found. Even better was the free and timely delivery by truck with a lift-gate. I am confident that this generator will serve me well for many years to come, but if I ever need another generator EGD... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Price, I'd Buy It Again
M. Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/3/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Choice
I purchased this right after Sandy. It is replacing a Husky 5000. I ordered it on a Sunday and it was delivered on Thursday. The trucking service was great. They wheeled it into my garage and helped me lift it out of the box.

I tested it with my Reliance 10 circuit transfer switch. It powers 90% of my home- everything from furnace to the microwave with no hesitation. It's a good quality build and runs real smooth. Good value overall.

Power Equipment Direct was really is a pleasure to... more
View Image
Was this review helpful?
399
John H.
Coshocton, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/13/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Missing Battery Charger
I received the generator and it works great. When unpacking the generator, I noticed the battery charger was not included in the accessories. I called the number that takes care of missing parts and the lady said she would sent it out. That was two weeks past. I am sure there is a mix up, but it is disappointing.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging
John Recommends This Generac Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
John,
I verified with Generac that they submitted another order and will be shipping the missing charger to you. Please allow 3-5 business days for this item to arrive to you. Sorry about the delay.
more
Was this review helpful?
141
Harold C.
Crab Orchard, WV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/12/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sold A Gp5500 To Buy This!
Getting to be a senior citizen, and afraid one day I might not be able to successfully use the pull rope starter. Explored converting the 5500 to electric start and gave up, couldn't find enough data or parts. Sold it and bought this one. It started so easy, and I'm really happy with it though I've had no occasion to use it yet. I think it is perfect for my needs. I found exactly what I wanted in your web site. It even arrived one day earlier than forecast.
Pros: Features, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Harold Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
132
Wayne K.
Huntingdon, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/19/13
REVIEWED
APR.
15
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Generator
We LOVE our new Generator!! The only problem was I didn't know if the delivery company was real! The kept changing the delivery date. I kept calling the delivery co and your company (one time). I was worried because I never bought such a big item off line. But in the end we got it 5 days after the date. We are HAPPY!! My electrician came and now it is ready to go!! I will use your company AGAIN!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful?
110
Denis M.
Ransomville, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/6/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looking Forward To A Power Failure (yeah, Right!)
Did a "training session" to see how if the "start up" wattage was enough to kick in the furnace, sump pump, and freezer w/o faltering or tripping the breaker........no prob, Bob.
Pros: Reliable, Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
Cons: Would Have Been Nice To Have Lifting Lugs
Denis Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
100
Gilbert C.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/16/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
My Gp6500e Generator
The generator works fine. There should be a gauge for seeing the level of charge in the battery and a way to tell if the charger is working. Also we should be told the specifications of the battery in the event it goes dead and we need an immediate replacement locally. An ideal situation would be to have the generator charge the battery as is the case with some other brands. A weatherproof cover would solve the problem of weather.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: See Comments Above
Gilbert Recommends This Generac Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Gilbert,
Check out the GenTent, it allows you to run your generator outdoor during a weather even.

GenTent GT10KB00TB
more
Was this review helpful?
91
John T.
Westport, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/11/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
There Is A Lot To Be Said About Being Prepared
The electric start on the Generac GP6500E is a great feature particularly when I am at an age where I don't feel like pulling cords in emergency situations. The electrician who wired my transfer switch had highly recommended the Generac GP6500E model to me and he was spot on. During testing it worked perfectly with almost no interruption.

It's a tremendous value when you consider that it has value (peace of mind) even when not in use. When the power goes out, my home is not only without... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, High Quality
John Recommends This Generac Product
John Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The service was excellent and the generator shipped within two days. Delivery was exactly as stated and the driver was very courteous. He made sure that the generator was put exactly where I wanted it. I have recommended Electric Generators Direct to two friends so far. They were equally impressed with the quality, value and ease of use."
 more
Was this review helpful?
102
Robert M.
Spencerville, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gemerac 6500 Generator
Ordered the generator online. It arrived on time in perfect shape. The truck had a hydraulic tail gate which made delivery easy. Took less than an hour to add wheels. Set it up and it started easily. Power went out today, and first real test was positive.

Only surprise--the battery for the electric starter does NOT charge when the generator is running. It is important to keep the battery charged specially in the winter.

Overall very positive experience.
Robert Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you for your thorough review of the GP6500E portable generator. As you have alluded, running the unit does not charge the unit's battery. Please note that the unit's owner's manual states that charging the unit will require plugging the charging plug into the "Battery Charger Input" jack, located on the unit's control panel. After taking this first step, plug the wall receptacle end of the battery charger into a 120V AC wall outlet. Do not use the battery charger for more than 48 hours at a time. If you do not have access to your product's documentation, it can be located online, by using your unit's model or serial number for searching purposes via the following link: http://www.generac.com/service-support/product-support-lookup?cid=frm-105-ac. Should you require further assistance, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Lastly, to ensure that you have registered your unit appropriately, please provide the required information here: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa.
more
Was this review helpful?
92
Gregg
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/29/13
REVIEWED
APR.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product, Great Service
Ordered 6 generators for my business. Delivery was very organized and prompt. The generators are very impressive. The electric start feature makes the process a snap. It would be a great improvement if the battery charges automatically when the generator is running. I will buy from EGD again
Was this review helpful?
70
George
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/2/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Emergency Power Ready To Go!
I lost power a few too many times, so I finally bit the bullet and, after exhaustive research, bought the Generac 6500E from E.G.D. My 'must haves' were enough power to run my sewer ejector pump, two fridges, one freezer, and boiler; and an electric start on the generator This unit is just the right size for my needs.

The unit was delivered and unloaded as quoted with no issues. There were no problems at all getting the generator up and running. If E.G.D. would like some advice, I would... more
Was this review helpful?
70
Glenn B.
Jackson, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/1/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Customer Service
This is my second GENERAC product but my first experience with Electric Generators Direct. My generator was shipped to my door and placed in my garage. I unboxed and put generator together without any problems. Started right up. Price was great, no tax, no shipping cost. What's not to like, saved a bundle of money. Thank you E.G. Direct
Glenn Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
60
David M.
Barrington, NH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/30/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal
Got exactly what I wanted and cost over 10% less than other places, free shipping, minor assembly, can't beat it!
David Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Domenic D.
Waldwick, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/30/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Purchased A 6500 Electric Start
I wanted a generator that would allow me to run the basic items in the house when the power goes out. I also wanted one that had an electric start so my wife could use. I wired it to the house with an interlock kit that allows me to turn any breaker I want so I can have power in any room.

I quickly put it together, added oil and gas and started right up. I tested it on my home and was able to run many items including the heat, 2 refrigerators, internet fish tank and lights. I am very happy... more
Domenic Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Mark A.
Bucksport, ME
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/7/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Never Stopped
Christmas of 2013 it ran 75 hours straight non stop and it runs my whole house. Nice piece of equipment.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Price, Durable
Mark Recommends This Generac Product
Mark's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Buying was easy and shipment to my home was quick."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Russell
Enfield, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/31/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
6500e
I have had two problems! When the generator is first started it lopes badly. After a few minutes of warmup time the lopining is reduced but not eliminated! I am concerned that the erratic speed might cause voltage fluctuations and cause damage to my appliances. The handle does not have have the locking button. Both difficulties have been reported to Generac yesterday. I am waiting for an answer.
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Russell,
Rough idle usually is the result of Bad/Stale Gasoline. Gasoline with 10% ethanol can become stale within 2 weeks of purchasing it. Also make sure you're using a fuel additive to keep the gasoline fresh.
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Jeri G.
Monroe, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/8/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Battery
The battery charger that comes with the generator should have some kind of indicator light on it..otherwise it's a guessing game whether or not it should be charged. Have very less expensive tools that have such a feature.
Jeri Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Charles P.
Robbins, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/21/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mr.
So far, it's worked great and always starts when I need it to. I almost look forward to losing power so I can use it to power my home. In the meantime, I use it to power an electric chain saw to cut firewood. Love the product!
Charles Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Mark B.
Lincoln, VT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/2/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Reliable
We live in rural Vermont and lose power about once a month. The Generac GP6500E works perfectly when called to perform.
Mark Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
50
James B.
Gaylord, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/30/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
I purchased my generator for piece of mind. I've only test run the unit because I have not had an outage. This generator seems to be able to run anything that we will need in an emergency.

I live in a very snowy area (150" plus), and it often gets to -20 degrees (actual temperature). If I were to lose power, it would not take long for the house to freeze. I've been without water for a few days in the past, and it's not fun. Now I know I'll be warm and have water.
James Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
72
Ben B.
Aragon, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/2/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Deal And Fast Delivery
I was very pleased with the price and speed of the delivery of my new Generac generator. The delivery truck was equipped with a lift gate and it was brought into my garage on a pallet jack made it so easy.

So far I have only load tested the generator but we are now ready again for that occasional ice storm or summer storm caused power outage.
Ben Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
94
Wm S.
Olympia, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/4/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy & Disappointed
Arrived quickly, delivery with hydraulic lift suggested, but VERY disappointed to find it lacks a power cord!!
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Beware However That It Does Not Come With A Power Cord
Wm Recommends This Generac Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Wm,
Only the portable generators that are part of a kit (generator & manual transfer switch) included a power cord.
more
Wm Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Be sure to order a power cord as it is NOT included !"
 more
Was this review helpful?
72
Kevin
Plymouth, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/15/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Happy!
Great service and the generator fired right up, first try! Delivery was quick and assembly was easy! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful?
61
Phil
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/22/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Planning Ahead
Since the north country ice storm of 1998 during which we lost power for 12 days I have always had a back-up generator on the premises. My prior generator was a rope pulled recoil start generator which was always well maintained. But, as the years have gone by, my physical strength has diminished and this electric start GENERAC is just what I needed. Prepped and started right up in about 20 minutes out of the box and with only the touch of a button. Appears to be just what I needed to take... more
Was this review helpful?
72
Gene
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/2/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gen 6500
Filled it with gas, followed the instructions in the booklet, it started right up. I back feed through my welder outlet in the barn after shutting off the main in the house.
Was this review helpful?
61
Gilmer B.
Mount Pleasant, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/27/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Needed This
I am a polio survivor from 1954. I use a bipap vent 24 hrs a day. My backup generator was a 40 yr old Onan. The Generac takes no effort for my nurses to start and use. Thank you for a great product.
Pros: Easy To Use, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Gilmer Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Steve
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/1/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gets The Job Done
I bought this generator late in the season because the 4000 watt I have owned for years just didn't have enough to handle my needs. I only used it a few times because we use it to power the trailer we use every weekend for car racing, it seemed to get the job done with power to spare.

I hoped it would be a little quieter but without spending a lot more money I don't think you are going to do any better.

Electric Generators Direct had great communication and the shipping was very fast.... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Anthony
Enfield, CT
REVIEWED
NOV.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sandy And More
I bought this because these storms seem never-ending. It arrived a couple days later than advertised, but the delivery time and drop-off went good.

I put it together as written... it took about 1/2 hour. I pressed the electric start button and it ran on the first try.

I need to get a transfer switch next and a large gas can, then hopefully I'm ready for next one.

I recommend this generator. 2 of my friends have it also... and they love theirs.
Was this review helpful?
40
Mickey D.
Blandon, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/19/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 6500e Purchase
In support of installing a transfer switch in my home I purchased a Generac 6500E. The device was delivered just a few days after the order was placed and I immediately performed the handful of assembly steps - all relatively easy and simple.

Only one issue was encountered when the spring-metal ring that was supposed to be on the end of the chain holding the gas cap was found to be detached and in the gas tank. With some effort I was able to retrieve it using a telescoping magnet tool.
more
Was this review helpful?
40
Nicholas F.
Swansea, SC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/25/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sc Flood Of 2015 -12 Inches Of Rain And Power Out
We used this Generac GP6500E - 6500 Watt Electric Start Portable Generator 6500 for power along with our Briggs & Stratton Heavy Duty Convenience Cord for Portable Generators (20-Amp Duplextoand we were comfortable and actually able to enjoy the internet to keep our minds distracted.
Nicholas Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Patricia O.
Levering, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/9/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Appears Great
I like all the features except it is a bit noisy, haven't actually used it for a backup yet.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Noisy
Patricia Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
41
John O.
Kresgeville, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/26/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfaction
I was very impressed with the durability of the generator. Although it was heavy but once the wheels where on it was easy to move. I had to charge the battery but when it was hooked up it started quickly and ran very smoothly. I am very pleased with my purchase.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy To Store, Durable
Cons: Heavy
John Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Ralph
Jackson, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/2/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Didn't Break A Sweat
I ordered this generator on Nov. 2 and received it on Nov. 7 just as promised. Living in Ocean County, New Jersey and after Sandy, I was surprised to get it at all, much less when promised...

This unit didn't even break a sweat powering my modest 2000 sq.ft. home, handling 2 refrigerators, furnace(heat), hot water, lights, TV, computer, etc...

I am very happy with my decision on who I bought from and what I bought. I did not want to be at the mercy of the big box stores and have to... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Diane
Lee, NH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/18/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good & Bad
easy to buy, fast delivery, easy to assemble but it didn't work. The part that holds the spark plug was broken. Called for service, was referred to 2 places. I took the unit to a service center and there it sits. With calls back and forth it was confirmed the work has been completed BUT the service center will not release the unit until it gets confirmation that the service is a covered item. If we loose power, we will go down to the service center, pay the tab and take the unit home but all is... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Kevin
Western, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/25/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Gp6500e
After the October Northeast snow storm and 7 days without power I spent several weeks researching generators. Went to many different web sites and stores and decided EGD was a good choice to buy from. The process of ordering the generator was no problem and the site was easy to use.

When it was delivered everything went fine, I unwrapped the generator and had it assembled and running in about 45 minutes. I ran it about 45 minutes with a load on it and it ran nice and smooth. I actually... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Dick
Allentown, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/26/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Review
First of all Jim at Electric Generators Direct was very helpful in getting me the right generator and authorization to pick the unit up at R&L Carriers terminal in Hatfield, Pa. I live on a no outlet street and it would have been impossible to get a tractor trailer anywhere near the house. The delivery time was right on time and no problems with R&L Carriers. Dan at R&L in Hatfield was also very helpful for me to get the unit at his facility. By the time I got checked in at the... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Drew I.
Baldwin, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/30/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Overall Great
Purchased for the upcoming winter, delivery and drop off was great, placed per my instructions in the garage on a pallet.
Assembling wheels and handle was not difficult but the unit is heavy to handle with one person. During a test it didn't have any issue running hot water heater, well pump, and a couple rooms worth of lights. Seems to be perfect to get you through a few days without power.
Drew Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Walter M.
Deer Park, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/13/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Experience!!
Arrived earlier than I expected. Delivery and setup was a breeze. Have not had reason to use it yet but don't expect any problems. This is what on-line shopping is supposed to be!!
Walter Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
42
Stephen B.
Doylestown, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/20/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Service
Great website, easy to get around. Great follow-up. The generator started up after an easy set-up.

Runs great and instantly gave me a sense of relief with the pending winter.

Love this company and am looking forward to purchasing a snow blower very soon. thanks for everything.
Stephen Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Steve S.
Shelby Twp., MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/13/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good!
N story, just getting ready if needed.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Durable, Easy To Store
Cons: Heavy, A Bit Loud
Steve Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
64
Derek
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/29/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sold To A Personal Friend
This is a great little generator, it is able to power more than you would expect. I've always stood by the general line.

I've sold similar Generacs before and they always perform.
Was this review helpful?
20
Parvez
Cold Spring Harbor, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/3/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator And Excellent Service
I ordered this generator during the blackout from Superstorm Sandy. Power Equipment Direct was awesome with being prompt with the delivery- I got the generator right after the snow storm (nor'easter) and of-course I did lose power again. The delivery was within 3 days of ordering.

The generator worked very well right out of the box.

I am very pleased with this generator and I am especially very happy that I bought it from the PED. I will recommend this machine and PED to all my friends... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Tom
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/8/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hurricane Sandy Saver
I purchased the Generac GP6500E immediately after Irene, as I learned my lesson the last time we got hit here in New York.

The first real test was Hurricane Sandy and this generator performed flawlessly for the entire 24 hours the power was out. Kudos to my local electrician who installed my Reliance Pro Tran Outdoor, 10 Circuit Transfer Switch also purchased from this site.

This is a great combination that I just cannot recommend highly enough.
Was this review helpful?
20
Daniel G.
Levittown, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/5/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Flawless
Now I can write a review. Hurricane Sandy knocked out power for three days. During that time I used my GP6500E to power my home and two neighbor's homes. It performed flawlessly and used very little gas. I highly recommend it.

Also, my experience with Power Equipment Direct was excellent.
Was this review helpful?
20
Neil R.
Reisterstown, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/4/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Choice
I wanted a portable generator that could handle most of the appliances and the well pump in an emergency.

After much research and some consideration about price I chose the Generac GP6500E. It arrived a few days later with tailgate delivery and took very little time to assemble.

It would not start by battery but did start on the first pull of the manual cord start. It turns out the battery was stone cold dead on arrival and would not take a charge so I contacted Generac Service and they... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mike
Wilmington, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/21/12
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Beginners' Luck
I'd done a lot of research online, including reviews of customer ratings, before I decided on a Generac. I printed out several versions of running/peak wattage from several online sources and decided that 6500/8000 would be adequate for our needs should another hurricane leave us without power. We've been through 5 hurricanes here on the NC coast since 1996 the worst being Fran which took out electric power for 5 1/2 days. Now with all kinds of fancy schmancy window protection, bracing for... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Ryan
North Windham, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/5/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
14
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Pass On The Generac Brand
If you want a Generator that you have to wait months for parts..then Generac is your brand. Bought a 6500E at the start of September had it for about 2 days and had to bring into the shop for repairs due to leaking gas tank and hour meter not working. It has been in the shop for 6 weeks due to BACK ORDERED PARTS!

How does one of the biggest generator manufactures in the world not stock parts for their generators? Have called Generac 3 times to find out when they expect the parts but no one... more
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Ryan,
Due to Hurricane Irene and the Halloween weekend snowstorm, Generac has seen the highest demand for it's products in the history of the company. They have been experiencing extended lead times on all of their products and parts.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Diane
Demartini, NY
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2011
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Broken Part
My generator came broken. It must be from the manufacturer because the box was fine. A replacement part is being sent but I have to fix it. Not happy
Was this review helpful?
20
Reynaldo
Floral Park, NY
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My First Generator & Manual Transfer Switch
This was my first generator and first manual transfer switch, I waited a bit long time for the panel because it was on back order. I finally got the panel and it was simple to install. I removed the breakers that came with the panel and installed my own.

The only problem that I had with this panel was with the 3/4 inch flexible plastic conduit that came with the panel, †first off I couldn't attach the conduit to the panel. It was really really hard to attach that to the panel. So hard that... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Randolph
Wellsville, MO
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Installation Success
All purchases showed up quickly and in good condition. The pre-wired transfer switch w/ instructions were easy to follow and thorough to make the hook up with the main panel selected circuits complete.

After completion of the installation I did a test of the whole unit and we now feel more confident of not having a complete power failure in an emergency.
Was this review helpful?
31
Hubert B.
Knoxville, TN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/5/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wow, That Was Easy!!!
This is the second GP6500 that I have purchased this year. Both work fine so far. The important thing is how great EGD is to deal with.

Easy ordering, great price, fast delivery. The other purchase was from a big home improvement store. The short version is that after several phone calls and emails, I finally get my generator a month after purchase. Thank you Electric Generators Direct!
Hubert Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary W.
Feeding Hills, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/12/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Gp6500e
Ordered the generator 11/12/14, Weds. Annette the company rep very nice, courteous.. Rec'd it following Tues. Freight driver very good. Only downside was that on Cyber Mon. 12/1 the same machine was selling for $99.00 below what I paid.

Electric Generators Direct wouldn't do anything for me. Otherwise very happy with the experience and the product.

Assembly was easy and straightforward. Added Oil, Gas and it started with no problems.

We have a manual transfer switch in place, just... more
Gary Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Bob S.
Ronkonkoma, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/2/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Three Generac Gens
I bought three gens for myself and my two sons. I received them on time, actually early. I put them together, added a little gas, and pushed the Start button- and off it went.

I am very happy with the gen and the company.
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard G.
Damascus, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/2/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac Gp6500e - 6500 Watt Electric Start Portable Generator Review
I lost power for a week after Hurricane Sandy. I decided "not again".

Nobody had generators or accessories for them- no extension cords, no gas cans, no generators. I surfed the Web and found Electric Generators Direct. They had almost everything I needed in stock.

Delivery was fast. Price was pretty good. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael
Jefferson, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/29/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Generac Generator Buying And Operating Experience
I am really happy with this generator, which showed up sooner than I expected since I ordered it during Hurricane Sandy.

When it was delivered I added oil and gas, test ran it, and a few days later the power went out for 5 hours and it worked perfectly. It ran my sump pump, TV, some lights, and the fridge.

It is also not as loud as some other generators I have had to listen to.
Was this review helpful?
10
Henry
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/29/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hurricane Sandy
I used my Generator and cord during the worst storm ever- SANDY was a bad girl, she downed trees and poles.

We lost power for 18 hours. As soon as the power went out we started the generator and only shut it down to refuel. It was great to have lights, TV, and heat. You would never know the power was out.

This was a great investment and gives me peace of mind. Thank you.
Was this review helpful?
10
Vince
Gloversville, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/27/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Nice Quiet Generator
I bought this machine to replace a troy built, this one is bigger with electric start and a lot quieter than the old one. It was delivered and I set it up in a few minutes added some gas and pushed the start switch it started right up and was nice and smooth, quiet and a nice quality sounding engine. I can hardly wait for an outage to give it a run!
Was this review helpful?
10
Jimmy
Clarksville, TN
REVIEWED
OCT.
05
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Generac Gp6500e
I received my new generator about a month ago, and today was the first chance I had to unpack and start it up. It runs quieter than I expected, and started right up. FANTASTIC! Not one glitch. The only thing that I am having to work on is finding a "rattle" which bugs me. I would suggest this generator to anyone looking for one.
Was this review helpful?
10
Joe
Downingtown, PA
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Noise Rating - Almost As Quiet As A Honda
Generac does not post the noise rating for any of their models, however, this unit is almost as quiet as the similar Honda model. We rented the Honda EM6500 during Irene and really liked how quiet it was, but the price point is a bit steep. This GP6500E is just as quiet and easy to start, both manually (my wife started it) and with the electric start.
Was this review helpful?
21
Michael
Bethpage, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/3/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mike From New York
I orderd 2 of these generators for me and a friend. As soon as we received them we put them together and as soon as we pushed the button, they started right up. A friend of mine, an electrician, told me these were the best one's to buy. He was 100% right and as soon as he saw them, he ordered one for himself. I would recommend this gen. and this company to anyone who asks me where i got them. Right now, I'm going to order the cover for it. Thank You for your fast & prompt service.
Was this review helpful?
21
John
Dingmans Ferry, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/2/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Generator
The purchace was easy and very fast shipping. Easy assembly. Unit started right up after assembly. I hooked it up to a reliance 6 circuit manual transfer switch. The test run went without a hitch. Haven't had to really put it through a true test during a real power failure but I don't expect any problems. So far So good.
Was this review helpful?
21
Mick
Dayton, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/29/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
06
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Received Generator Just In Time
I ordered my Generac GP6500E last week and could not have been more pleased with the ordering or delivery process. R&L Carriers wheeled the generator into my garage, unpacked it and helped me check to make sure there was no damage - which there wasn't.

The real story is that two days after the generator came, we had a huge storm and were without power for a couple of days. I hadn't even started it before I needed it! But the little bit of assembly was very easy and the Generac... more
Was this review helpful?
21
Dale
Farmerville, LA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/10/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Job!
I ordered my generator this spring, and received it within a few days. A June tornado took out our power lines in the remote area where we live. My generator was connected to a transfer switch provided by the local power company. We switched off the 220 breakers, but with all the 110 breakers on, we managed for 2 days without any problems. Our eight ceiling fans kept us very comfortable. Our generator was never in a bind and the the gas consumption was very low. We are very pleased!!!!
Was this review helpful?
21
Paul & Robin
East Freetown, NY
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's The Truth! Couldn't Be Easier
Recently, after an electric storm left us without power for three days, we swore, (ok, I swore) that we would never be without power for an extended period of time again. My husband and I both did some research and although this was a large on-line purchase for us, we decided o give it a shot. The sales staff was helpful and delivery was when we were told it would be. We took it out of the box (ok, he did) popped the wheels on, filled it up and it roared to life. We are very satisfied... more
Was this review helpful?
21
Ray
Omaha, AR
REVIEWED
JUN.
07
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Review
I ordered my generator on a Monday and got it on Thursday.Great deal fast delivery. I am happy with order. Thank you.
Was this review helpful?
21
Vernon
Punta Gorda, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/22/11
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hurricane Ready
It has been a long, long wait, but I finally received my generator on 5-17-11. I ordered it on 3-22-11 and a few days later I was informed that it was out of stock and that the shipping date had been delayed. A few weeks later, I received another notice of an additional delay in availability. I was not in a great hurry, as hurricane season starts on the 1st of June, but I needed it sometime before storms become active. I had previously installed a generator power transfer connection, so I... more
Was this review helpful?
21
Judith K.
Bremerton, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/31/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love My Generator
I purchased the generator 3 years ago, and I have had to use it several times. I really like it. During a recent football game the power went out, and the neighbors came over to watch the rest of the game. I would recommend it to my friends and others.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Judith Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Paul H.
Roscommon, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/4/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Have Power Can Travel
Bought generator to power house if power gos out. Sure hope i never have to use it . lol
Pros: Reliable, Easy To Use, Price, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Paul Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Frank
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/11/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Service
The delivery went smooth. The trucking company called me the day be for delivery and they arived with a tail gate trailer. The driver put it into my garage. I purchaced it March 2013. Fortunatly I have not had to use it since. Start it every month. Its ready to go.
Was this review helpful?
11
Andrew
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/19/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
These Generac generators are great. Portable and stationary.

Electric Generators Direct.com couldn't be any easier to deal with. Quick response and super fast shipping.

We have bought several units both portable and stationary and they always arrive in pristine packaging condition. Kudos to you and your freight line!
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/27/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Started Right Up
So far I like it just fine, I've only had it about 3 weeks and have test run it once without a load.

Like other reviews stated, after adding oil and gas it started right up and ran smoothly.

Today (Sat - 8/18/12) I will finish the wiring to my home system and test it under load today or tomorrow. I'm anticipating complete satisfaction.

I would have liked there to be an electrical schematic of the system. After the test I will finish the questionnaire and send it in.
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill
Cabins, WV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/5/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
Exactly as advertised. Quick assembly, hit the start button and life is good.
Was this review helpful?
00
Ernest
Heathsville, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/8/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generac 5941
Great generator, starts very quickly. I am not a mechanically inclined person, but this generator is very easy to start and to maintain. I have already recommended this generator to family and friends and also recommended that they purchase it from Electric Generators Direct. Thanks for a great product and fast free shipping.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dick
Vernon, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/23/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Purchase Experience
Selection assistance by this company was very helpful. The unit was shipped before the projected date, and was delivered without any problems. The generator was installed by an electrician. Starting info supplied was very good, pressed the button and it started on the first press and supplied power to all designated areas. I have already recommended this unit and company.
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron
Storrs, CT
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lives Up To All The Positive Reviews
After suffering through 2 recent major storms without power for days, I bought the Generac GP6500E from EGD after doing extensive research. The generator arrived AHEAD of schedule...I was kept fully informed by EGD of its arrival date. The delivery gentleman carried the Generac into my garage and waited while I inspected it for damage (none). After reading over and following the assembly and start-up instructions, I had the generator running within 20 minutes (started up on the first press... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard
Manchester, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/22/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wife Started It The First Time No Problem
Started by ordering a 5940 without an electric start. Call, and the staff was fantastic, I was able to upgrade without a problem.

Received shipment ahead of schedule by half a month (Item was out of stock when I ordered it). Assembly was super easy, instructions are clearly written. Just to prove a point I asked the wife to start it for the first time. She followed the instructions, on the gas tank and it started and ran on the first shot. Measured the power output and it was spot on. I... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Stan
Shelton, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/23/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gp6500e
The generator seems to fit my needs perfectly. I purchased an EMERGENCY unit since it will only receive limited duty but will have excellent care and maintenance. I do expect longevity of this unit using it as stated, time will tell. The customer service at EGD is nothing short of the best I've dealt with. Kris is extremely knowledgeable, polite, and most helpful with any and all questions asked of him.

The Century cable is capable of doing what it was designed to do.

The Transfer... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert
Danbury, CT
REVIEWED
NOV.
05
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Is Great
For the electric start which is a bit of a joke. The electric start battery does not re-charge while the generator runs. More the point, it doesn't always spin the engine up to sufficient RPM to start it. Having said that, the generator is great. Got it just weeks ago and then the freak snow storm hit the Northeast. We started it up and it ran - - mostly non-stop - - for five days straight. One fill of the tank lasts as long or longer than stated in the specs. Like all gasoline fueled... more
Was this review helpful?
00
George
Boonton, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/2/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy, Easy!
I received the box containing the Generator three weeks ago and it took me more time to read the instructions than put the unit together, everything fit perfectly and all the pieces were in the kit.

I decided not to put the oil in until I needed the unit so I waited. We were hit by the late October snowstorm in the Northeast this weekend, rolled out the unit, put in the oil and gas, hit start and bingo electricity.

Like I said, easy, easy.
Was this review helpful?
00
Bob
Salisbury, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/4/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Generator Review
My GP6500E was delivered quickly with good communication from the shipper. I assembled the unit in about 20 minutes, (I was missing one cotter pin and had to get one out of my cotter pin drawer it took me 5 minutes to find that. otherwise it would have been only 15 minutes to assemble, NOT a big deal.) I added the oil and gas, hit the start switch, low and behold it was running and I had electricity.

Now to wire up the transfer switch.. It will be and easy task. Very happy with the product... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim
Warrington, PA
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied Customer
So far everything is good. Installed the transfer switch with no problems. I have done a good deal of electrical work so it was fairly simple to install. The generator is a little noisier than I expected but we will adjust.

I cannot say enough good things about R&L Carriers. I was unable to be home on the delivery date so I went to pick it up at their location. Unfortunately, there was some confusion on the arrival date. I received a call from a manager apologizing for "their"... more
Was this review helpful?
11
Chuck
Nazareth, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/17/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looks Like It Will Do The Job Well
I bought this to use during power outages. So far, I'm very pleased.

It was delivered mid January, 2013. The R & L carrier rolled it right into my garage, I was very pleased. It was easy to set up- I put oil & gas in, pressed the start button & it fired right up. I tested with a small load & all was OK. Later, my electrician stopped by and we hooked it up to my panel and gave it a good test. It ran all it was hooked up to run, and the voltage tested right, so I guess I... more
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Chuck,
You may want to call Generac Tech Support at (888) 436-3722 x5381 to see if there is an oil weight that will work in your circumstances.

Routine maintenance can be done by a certified Generac technician. You can find your local Generac service using their Service Locator
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Nihad N.
Ridgewood, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/5/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
For Emergencies
I purchased the generator only for emergencies, in case of an outage.

I did receive it in good shape and had it installed and set up by an electrician. They tried it and vouched that it looks and operates just fine.

As I said, it is just for emergencies and although it cost me a bundle, I sincerely hope that I won't have to use it, or use it as little as possible.
Was this review helpful?
01
Richard
Cherry Valley, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/26/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Long-time Generac Owner
I have owned a Generac for over 20 years. At 84, I needed a generator with an electric starter. This one doesn't have quite as many features as my other but I am sure it will meet my needs.
Was this review helpful?
24
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac 5941 portable generator reviews.Compare our Generac GP6500E ratings. Find the Generac 5941 portable generator that is right for you.