Search
< Back to Product

Generac XG6500 Semi-Pro Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$899.99
(as of 06:07 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$1,139.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$1,199.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$953.10
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Generac 5796 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Reliable (2)
Easy To Use (1)
Easy To Store (1)
Features (1)
Made In The Usa (1)
Cons
None to display.
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
11 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Walter C.
Mountain Home, AR
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/7/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Usa Quality Built To Last
I spent quite a bit of time researching generators before buying this one as I wanted a well built quality machine that I could count on when I needed it.

The vast majority of generators on the market currently are made in China and I have not had very good luck with Chinese products, Tools and machinery in particular.

The Generac XG line is made in Wisconsin and is well built and worth every penny in my opinion. Everything about it appears to be heavy duty and built for long service.
more
Pros: Durable, Reliable, High Quality, Made In The Usa
Walter Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve P.
Terryville, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/11/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ready For Bad Weather
The generator was delivered very fast and arrived undamaged. Starting it was another story as I had to pull it several times without it starting. I ended up slightly pressurizing the tank to get the gas to the carburetor and once it made it there, it started right up. Maybe only putting a gallon of gas in the tank was the reason it was hard to start that first time.

It ran for an hour without an issues and powered everything I would need (furnace, well, lights, refrigerator and freezer) to... more
Steve Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Steve,
We're glad to know that properly preparing the unit for its first use solved the operational issues that you initially experienced! Thank you for providing us with your candid review. If you haven't done so already, be sure to register your unit to initiate the product's warranty via the following link: https://register.generac.com/?cid=frm-100-aa . If you have any questions about the registration process, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). Thanks again for submitting your thoughtful review!
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Demetrios
Spotswood, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/14/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
04
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Generac Xg6500 Review
I recently (3 weeks ago) bought this generator because of the last two major power outages we had in New Jersey. I selected the Generac XG series because I wanted a machine that would give me reliable performance for a extended period of time. When I received the machine it was delivered in a timely fashion with no issues. I filled it with oil and put the wheels on. I put one gallon of fresh fuel in it and attempted to start it as per the instructions. It didn't want to start at all. After... more
Was this review helpful?
90
Andy
Buffalo, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/12/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Generac Xg6500- Terrible Gas Fumes
I recently bought a Generac XG6500(model- 5796). Filled up the oil and added about 2 gallons of gas to test it out. Took many pulls to get it started. When started, it ran fine. I put a load on it and ran it for about 15 minutes. I was happy with it. I let it cool down, then put it back in the garage. After a few hours, I noticed a strong gasoline smell from the garage coming into the house(garage is attached). I checked it out- no leaks. The smell was coming from the gas cap. Is this just a... more
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Andy,
This generator comes with a 2 Year Warranty from Generac. We suggest taking your generator to one of your local dealers to have the gas cap/tank inspected.
more
Was this review helpful?
71
Ike G.
Hartselle, AL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/11/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Would Not Start
My generator would not start upon receipt. I have sent it to a Generac dealer, but they have yet to fix it or even tell me when I might expect it.
Was this review helpful?
71
Rich
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/8/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid
Very happy with my purchase from P.E.D. best price and the best availability.
I haven't had to use it in an emergency but I did start it up and made sure it was OK.
I think the problem people are having with starting this unit is the choke. I couldn't get it to start on full choke.You have to give it a few pulls on full choke then go to 3/4 or just a little in from full and she fires right up and runs like a clock.
I like the idea of the full pressure oil system.This engine should have a... more
Was this review helpful?
61
Connie
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/27/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simple And Powerful
Great generator and simple to use. I ordered the generator to replace a 5500 watt system. It was delivered with days of ordering and I wanted to have it ready for any emergency.

Setup was easy and the system is small enough to store in my garage. I have hooked it into the house and can power TVs, 3 Fridges and 6 ceiling fans and light. WITH lots of power to spare.

Very happy and I would recommend this system.
Was this review helpful?
51
Nebraska
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/30/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased With Generac Xg6500
This is the second XG6500 I have been around. The first has about 400 hours and is running strong. I like the pressurized lubrication system as this machine runs on the hottest days of the year in very dusty locations. The spin off oil filter is easy to change. The unit is easy to start (it takes a good pull, but we are talking about a 410 cc engine) and typically starts on the first pull. I have had off-brand units (this was purchased to replace one of those) and this starts, runs, and is... more
Nebraska Recommends This Generac Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Nebraska,
We are thankful for your positive feedback regarding the XG6500 portable generator and its associated features. Your thoughtful review is highly valued! If you haven't done so already, please be sure to register your unit with Generac Nation to initiate your product's warranty. To get started online, please visit the following link: http://www.generac.com/generac-nation-sign-up?cid=frm-105-aa . Again, we thank you for your detailed submission.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Bill Mcmanus
Wantage, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/15/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Start
This generator starts with one pull. So many people have stated that it is hard to start. The last generator I had was electric start and keeping the battery charged was a pain and that one had no pull start.

A gas engine in good shape and well maintained will start every time and most with one pull. Some people just don't know how to start a small gas engine the right way.
Bill Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Rich H.
Effort, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/8/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUL.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Watch That Choke!!
I see a lot of people having trouble starting this unit. I did too. Here's the trick pull 2 or 3 times with choke fully on then push choke in half way or so. Starts right up on the next pull every time! Then push choke in all the way. Generac needs to put this in there instructions. I have used this in a power outage, ran for 11 hours on 3/4 tank of fuel. I also run the unit every month or so to keep it in shape. Love it.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy To Store
Rich Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Garry
Tulsa, OK
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/18/11
REVIEWED
MAR.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Getting Ready For Nascar !!
I placed my order after a lot of research and thought it was going to be delivered 10-14 days. It was here within 5 days !!!

I read the manual and ran it for 30 minutes for the break in period. During this time I plugged in different electrical items to put generator under different loads. It's not a quite as I hoped for - but down at the camp sites at Texas Motor Speedway - there are hundreds of generators running and they are all loud - some more so than others.

I know my Generac will... more
Was this review helpful?
52
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac 5796 semi-pro portable generator reviews.Compare our Generac XG6500 ratings. Find the Generac 5796 semi-pro portable generator that is right for you.