Search
< Back to Product

Generac 5791 Recreational Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$319.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$319.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$319.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$349.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Generac 5791 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
3/5
Quality
3/5
Performance
3/5
Value
3/5
Overall
3.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 5
Pros
Light Weight (1)
Cons
Durability (1)
Unreliable (1)
56% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8905 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

The Generac iX800 is ideal for camping and other recreational events.

This generator may not be as quiet as the Honda or Yamaha but will give you enough power to charge a laptop and run a few lights.

If your looking for an inexpensive inverter generator that can run a few small items then this is a good recommendation.



Jared Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
6016
Denis K.
Colgate, WI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/29/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Machine
This is exactly what I needed. It does everything I bought it for. Could not be happier.
Denis Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Edwin
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/22/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
04
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Ix800
I have owned the IX800 for about 5 years with very little usage. It was purchased new and is now well out of warranty. In the length of time I have had it I probably have not run a full tank of fuel through it. I use fresh fuel each time I crank it and drain all remaining fuel from it after each use. Now I can not get the engine to crank or even sputter. The diagnosis I have received is that a faulty overload protection system is grounding the ignition and will not allow the engine to crank... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Edwin,
We are sorry to learn of your frustration. Please know that replacing the unit with fresh fuel is not the only requirement for long term storage. To ensure the long term quality of your personal unit, it is important to prevent gum deposits from forming in essential fuel system parts such as the carburetor, fuel hose or tank when the unit is stored. Also, experience indicates that alcohol-blended fuels (i.e. gasohol, ethanol or methanol) can attract moisture, which leads to separation and formation of acids. These acids can damage the fuel system of an engine while in storage.

If the unit is not going to be used for more than six (6) months at a time, the fuel should be removed and the unit should run until the engine stops from a lack of fuel. Alternatively, the valve on the carburetor bowl can be opened to allow gasoline to drain down the tube into a receptacle; discard appropriately. Also, be sure to close the valve once the gasoline has drained.

Additionally, we recommend draining oil from the crankcase while the engine is still warm and refilling the unit with an oil grade that is recommended in your unit's owner's manual. Removing the spark plugs and pouring about 0.5 oz. of engine oil into the unit's cylinders is also recommended. Cover the spark plug hole with a rag, pull the starting rope several times to coat the cylinder walls with engine oil and install/tighten the spark plug. Lastly, storing the unit in a clean, dry place after cleaning its outer surfaces is recommended to extend the unit's life.

Failing to run the unit periodically or follow these storage recommendations can negatively effect the unit's ability to operate. If you would like to discuss storage recommendations or your personal experience in further detail, do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722). We are available 24/7 and would be happy to provide any additional insight that you desire.
more
Was this review helpful?
71
Eugene B.
Delanson, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/8/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Generac Ix800
Used to charge batteries when camping. Worked well and quiet.
Eugene Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Derek B.
Mickleton, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/24/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
17
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Junk, Broke In One Use
Died after the first use. Seller would not take return. Off to Generac it went.
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Derek,
Sorry to hear about the issues you're having.Hopefully your local Generac service dealer will have the problem resolved quickly.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Derek,
We are sorry to learn of the issues you've experienced. So that we can learn more about the troubleshooting steps you were able to perform, discuss the unit's warranty coverage and identify servicing options in your local area, please contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722) at your earliest convenience.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas L.
Lancaster, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/8/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
Works as advertised.
Thomas Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott L.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/13/11
Total Helpful Votes
31 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Sad
Used mine 5 times. Possibly 20 hours total. Inverter died. New Inverter $500+ Sorry Generac will sell the until for $300+ and the inverter is $500+ I guess I've purchased my last Generac
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Was this review helpful?
312
Ken
Camas, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/29/12
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
21
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Generac Ix800 Review
My Generac iX800 sucks but I guess you get what you pay for. Its not as it was advertised, it is very loud and it vibrates so bad that it dances across the floor and the rpm surges up and down regardless whether there is a load or no load. I just get the runaround from Generac and cannot find any dealers in Portland that can repair it or return it for warranty, I will probably just sell it on Craigs List at a loss and get a Honda and tell everyone to stay away from these pieces of crap.
Was this review helpful?
281
Becky R.
Bloomfield, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/25/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
38 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Defected Generator
I was very excited about the new generator. However, when we experience the recent snow storm in Connecticut the generator only worked for two days. I was panic and think that I bought a defective generator. I contacted the company through email no-one ever contacted me. I feel that I have been given a product that did not work up to its potential. What can you do to help me? I am disappointed. If another storm comes I will not have a generator. Disappointed Customer!
Was this review helpful?
261
Charles
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Generator
I selected & purchased the Generac ix800 because of 1)price, 2)size, 3)weight, and Generac's reputation. However, I am somewhat disappointed with it. Upon opening the box, I discovered a side plate cracked for no apparent reason (took 2 months to get the part from the dealer). When I filled it up with gas, I found it to be extremely difficult as about half full gas will overflow on the generator (takes forever to fill it and not spill gas). I added oil, tightened the oil plug, pumped the... more
Was this review helpful?
200
Professional
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/11/12
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
90% Of The Honda, For 40% Of The Price
I have a lot of experience with the Honda EU1000i, owned by a previous employer. When it was time for me to buy I didn't want to spend $800 for the Honda and thought I would give this Generac a try. Overall I am pleased with the Generac, I've put about 40 hours on it so far. It starts and runs as well as the Honda, it's very similar in size and weight, and it's nearly as quiet. I think it is 90% equivalent to the Honda, for 40% of the price.

These are the issues that make up the 10%... more
Was this review helpful?
223
Gene
Houston, TX
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Generac 800
Do your self a big favor........Save your money and buy a Honda. My generac 800 did not even last a day. The circuit board fried and the dealer gave me a 1600 and I paid the difference. Well there was no difference in the quality in this one either, lasted a whopping 2.5 hrs before it broke. Going to take it back to the dealer Monday AM and then buy a Honda. I knew the price was to good to be true.
Was this review helpful?
191
Ray S.
Naples, FL
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Leaked Out Of Box
Unit was defective out of box. Significant oil leak from engine even when not running. Took to 2 authorized Generac service shops. Still leaks. Leak is where 2 aluminum machine surfaces come together. Still trying to get resolution. Generac customer service fair at best. Takes considerable time to reach a human being. The unit already looks 2 years old due to the handling by the repair people and I've never used it. Generac has still not offered to replace. They "don't make the... more
Was this review helpful?
150
J. Warren W., Ne4t
Pendergrass, GA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/8/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Emergency Equipment For Amateur Radio
As a ham radio person, you must be able to stay on the air regardless of outages of electricity and non-use of the car battery. Also I didn't want a cheap generator that produces dirty electricity that will quickly destroy expensive radio sets.

This beautiful generator is the answer for many projects including emergency power for amateur radios!! It can power those hedge trimmers easier than laying out 100' of extension cord and do many other jobs requiring 120 V service.

I cannot... more
J. Recommends This Generac Product
Was this review helpful?
131
Becky
Bloomfield, CT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/25/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
38 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2011
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Generator Malfunctioning
I recently bought my generator. I used it for the first time on October 30 due to the recent snowstorm in Connecticut. On Sunday and Monday we run the generator for 3 hrs and then shut it off. Tuesday, November 01 the generator worked well. However, on Wednesday the Generator stopped working. Every time we turned it on it kept shutting off. Our basement is flooding because we don't have electrical power because of the recent storm. We were basically using the generator for powering the pump to... more
Was this review helpful?
120
Harry
REVIEWED
FEB.
15
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Works Great, Covers A Big Load, But...
I have had the 2000 watt version for 5 years, and I was able to run a full fridge and a fan during a power loss for 24 hours. Just a year ago, the fuel tank cracked. I know it cracked because it all leaked out in the garage.
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Harry,
Sorry to hear about the fuel tank cracking. I recommend contacting Generac direct at 888-436-3722 to see if this would be covered under warranty or if they have a local service center who can repair the unit.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Harry,
We are sorry to learn of the issues that you are currently experiencing with your portable inverter generator. Whenever issues are incurred, we would recommend contacting an independent authorized service provider in your local area for diagnostic work and appropriate servicing of the unit. To locate an independent authorized dealer closest to you, please use your postal code for searching purposes via the following link: http://www.generac.com/dealer-locator?category=1-?cid=socialmedia-Resi-Locator. If you have any follow-up questions, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at 888-GENERAC (436-3722).
more
Was this review helpful?
91
Eddy
Smithfield, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/22/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Generator Review
I bought the 800W unit solely for convenience because I have a large 10K generator. The 800W unit certainly has its place, but all-in-all, its capacity is limited. This unit is great for running a few lights and small stuff in camp.

It functions very well, performs up to the specifications, and is super portable. Follow the instructions and this unit cranks and runs very well after a short run-in. It would be real nice if it had a 12V dc outlet.

I am very satisfied with this... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Keith
Clinton, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/15/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
18
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
Got this generator for camping with our bikes and trailer. It fits the trailer and does everything we need to go camping....

Great Generator & Great Site
Was this review helpful?
42
Harry
Eufaula, OK
REVIEWED
MAR.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generators
I am the Fire Chief for a small rural fire department in Oklahoma. We purchased 4 of these generators to light up emergency scenes with work lights. They have improved our ability to have a safe work area during times of emergencies.

These are one of the best investment we have made in a long time. The are very quite and do not impair our ability to communicate with each other either face to face or by radio.
Was this review helpful?
53
Dave
Rumford, RI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/30/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Hurricane
I love my Generator. I ordered it during a power failure and received it the next day. Used it that night and it was all I needed, except for the refrigerator. Ran most of my lights and 3 portable TVs. I thought it was a little loud but you couldn't hear it from the end of my driveway, which is not too long. It is certainly quieter than a generator. I'm ready for the next P.F.
I only wish it ran my refrigerator.
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Generac 5791 recreational portable generator reviews.Compare our Generac 5791 ratings. Find the Generac 5791 recreational portable generator that is right for you.