Search
< Back to Product

Classic Accessories 79537 Covers (EGD)s Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$29.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$29.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$34.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Classic Accessories 79537 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
3/5
Quality
3/5
Performance
3/5
Value
3/5
Overall
3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (7)
Price (5)
Light Weight (3)
Easy To Store (3)
Durable (2)
Cons
Low Quality (4)
It Is What It Is (1)
Heavy (1)
Packaging (1)
50% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
40 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Ronald W.
Pottstown, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/14/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cover For My Portable
Good fit, good quality for the price. Assembly was easy but I could not put on one wheel spacer due to incorrect welding jig setup on frame also the wire and connector for the battery charger was broken off before shipping i replaced the wire end and now use a battery tender. That should be included instead of the charger that is with the unit to replace the battery when needed will be a pain.
Ronald Recommends This Classic Accessories Product
Ronald's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping and delivery were very good."
 more
Was this review helpful?
03
Wilbert S.
Aptos, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/5/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Generator Cover
Not worth the price, cheaply made.
Wilbert Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
14
Robert L.
Rowe, NM
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/29/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Fits Well
Good cover. Fits generator well. Needs fasteniners to prevent wind from blowing cover away.
Robert Recommends This Classic Accessories Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Thomas S.
Bliss, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/9/15
Total Reviews
13 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Buy This Generator Cover
This cover is junk. I do not have place to store this generator. I got the cover to protect the generator from the weather. The wind blows the cover off the generator. I love chasing the cover around the yard. Nothing to hold the cover on the bottom of the generator. The wind gets under the cover and off it comes. I payed $50.00 for usleess junk. Now the water and snow can get inside the the generator and short every thing out. I am afraid that if I start the thing it WILL SHORT OUT It has... more
Thomas Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
A portable generator really needs to be protected from the elements as much as possible when not in use. If you're storing it outdoors, in an area where it rains and snows, even with the cover on, greatly reduces the lifespan of the generator. If you want the generator to be reliable and start when you need it. Consider storing the generator in something that will provide more protection from the elements.
more
Was this review helpful?
04
Christopher C.
Forest Falls, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/15/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
As Advertised
I bought the Generac GP6500 generator. The large Classic Accessories generator cover model # 79537 fit well.
Christopher Recommends This Classic Accessories Product
Was this review helpful?
04
Wendell G.
Manila, AR
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/16/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Suckered Again
I thought maybe a cover would be nice for the new generator and there was this one for only $29.99. I added it to my order. This should cost about $4.99. It is very thin and light weight. Someday maybe I will learn. Don't buy this.
Wendell Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Wendell,
We have been selling this cover for years and although it is thinner than some other covers it does a great job at protecting the generator while being stored inside a garage.

You can always contact Classic Accessories at (800) 854-2315 and let them know of any concerns you may have with the quality of their product.
more
Wendell's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Not happy with this cover for this price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
15
James J.
Marion, IL
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poor Quality And Short Lived
This cover is very poor quality..The Velcro fastening leaves gaps in the cover to let rain and elements inside to destroy the generator. Very light material not suitable for anything but cosmetic indoor use. Wont keep dust out at all. For $20 its a poor investment. I am returning it.
James Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
James,
The Classic Accessories cover is a universal cover for many different generators and the fit will depend on the specific generator you have. If you have concerns about the Velcro or the quality of their product I recommend calling them at (800) 854-2315 for further assistance.
more
Was this review helpful?
52
Vince D.
Cranford, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/3/11
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Large Generator Cover
I bought it for a Generac 5500. It just about covers the generator and the material is not the best quality.
Cons: Low Quality
Vince Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
30
James Q.
Camden, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/12/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Cover And Generator
Fits perfectly. Nice cover Generator appears fine, but I only had it a short time. Tonight I will put it through a test. We are expecting a hurricane to come right over the top of us around 2 PM.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy, Packaging
James Recommends This Classic Accessories Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Dan W.
Conway, SC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/22/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Okay But Not What I Was Expecting
When I opened the package it looked a lot different from what is displayed on the picture online. The material is lighter whereas the one online looks like it's made from thicker material. However it does the job in covering over my large portable unit.
Pros: Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality
Dan Recommends This Classic Accessories Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Bob
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/18/13
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not At All Worth It
If all you want is a dust cover than this is fine. Other than that it offers NO PROTECTION. If I had to do it over again I would have never bought this and simply purchased a good quality tarp. The picture and description gave me a feeling that it was thicker and would protect the generator more. Not the case. Again, just an expensive dust cover.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Low Quality
Bob Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Bill R.
Bumpass, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/7/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Generator Cover
I really expected something more substantial, not sure this will hold up.
Pros: Price
Cons: Low Quality
Bill Does Not Recommend This Product
Bill Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"I really thought that the order process and quick shipping was of great value. I haven't had the chance to use the generator yet but in testing it it starts right up and seems to run with ease."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Donny
Atlanta, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/13/13
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Classic Accessories Large Generator Cover
Received this order in a timely manner. This generator cover protects the generator from dust and leaves provided the generator is stored inside a building or container. If the generator is left outside it doesn't take much wind to blow the cover off the generator leaving it exposed to the elements.
Was this review helpful?
63
Gene
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/3/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Not An All-weather Cover
I originally expected a heavy duty cover at least as heavy as the cover for my Weber grill, but it was actually a lighter weight nylon cover, good enough for storage in my garage or shed but clearly not heavy enough to leave the generator outdoors through the winter.

To be fair, it did not indicate that it was an all weather cover.
Was this review helpful?
85
Robert
Briarcliff Manor, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/28/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Check The Additional Photos For Actual Product
I ordered this cover for the Briggs & Stratton 30471 8000/10000E. I am a bit disappointed with the quality considering the price of this cover. I was expecting something more substantial. It is very thin and lightweight, and will not provide any bump-damage protection. I suppose it will be suitable as a dust cover for the generator while it is stored inside the garage, which is the main reason I ordered it.

The cover is water repellent - I tested it, so it will function as a rain... more
Was this review helpful?
63
Gary S.
Pueblo, CO
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Cover
Had to say it arrived fast, and reading the other reviews helped me out well, it is light weight, but will do the trick. The storage bag is sewn to side of cover, don't know if that is to never lose it for storage or what, but it hangs on outside. You can leave it..I cut it off, and looks fine, and will store in toy hauler when it is in use, cover later for storage time! Price was right..
Thanks
Pros: Easy To Use, Easy To Store, Light Weight, Right Price
Cons: It Is What It Is
Gary Recommends This Classic Accessories Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Paul C.
Beaumont, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/16/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good
Good cover.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Fast
Paul Recommends This Classic Accessories Product
Was this review helpful?
10
James
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/21/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Poorly Made
Very poorly made.
Was this review helpful?
10
Pauly P.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/8/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Armed And Ready
I purchased the Generac 5500 in August, along with a Powermate 30 Amp Convience Cord, and a Classic Accessories Large Generator Cover.

All said and done, it was a very good purchase experience with EGD, with accurate, fast shipping of all 3 products! I haven't even fired up the Generac as of yet, I just poured the oil in, put the cover on, and parked it in my basement. I've been very busy with work and the family, but it's nice to know that there's a back-up unit to go to when a power... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Stephen
Auburn, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/17/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
29
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
I Agree With Poster Bob "flimsy"
VERY flimsy and unfortunately does not look anything like the material in the one pictured. It comes in a small bag and total weight is probably 8 ounces or less. Something like a light summer rain jacket. I highly doubt this cover will last more than one season. Save your money.
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard
Mansfield, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/19/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Egd - Excellent, Generac 5747 - Not So Sure Yet....
First, I'm pleased with EGD and R&L Transport. My purchases were processed quickly, I was informed of the status, and shipping and delivery were as expected. I will definitely purchase from EGD in the future.

Re: my XG8000E Experience:

It was very difficult to start-up and keep running at first. The oil level was correct, there was gas in the tank, fuel shut-of was "ON", seemed to be spark, but wouldn't start-up. I found a "U" bend in the gas line at the fuel... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Barbara
Whitehall, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/5/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Briggs And Stratton 30470 Generator
I was a little nervous. I knew that Briggs & Stratton 30470 was an excellent unit at a great price. I just wasn't sure how many pieces I had to put together. It was a piece of cake. 5 minutes and I was set. AT MY AGE (67) YOU CAN NEVER BE TOO SAFE.
Was this review helpful?
10
Bob
East Rockaway, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/24/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
18
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Cover Not Worth The Money
Generator was delivered promptly and in excellent condition. Have not had opportunity to use it yet. However it is ready to go. The only negative was the accessory cover. Very light weight and is not really set up for this generator. Cover definitely not one that is pictured. Cover not worth the money.
Was this review helpful?
10
Tom P.
Palmyra, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/18/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Thin As Saran Wrap
Very cheap material for price.
Tom Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Tom,
We are sorry of you dissatisfaction with the material the cover is made from. You can always contact us at 800-710-7499 to see if maybe we have a better option for you. The manufacturer would probably value your opinion as well. Classic Accessories can be reached at (800) 854-2315.
more
Was this review helpful?
33
Sheldon M.
Rindge, NH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/12/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Value For The Price
The cover came in and was installed very easily. The storage bag was a nice extra. It will help keep out Powerhorse 9000 safe and clean, ready to run in a short notice. Great product!
Pros: Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Sheldon Recommends This Classic Accessories Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Brien S.
West Babylon, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/13/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Does What It's Suppoded To Do, No More Nor No Less
I bought this to protect a new generator while its stored in my shed. The delivery was prompt, the cover was in good condition, and easy to use of course. It has no moving parts.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, Easy To Store
Brien Recommends This Classic Accessories Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe
Toms River, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/12/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Perfect Fit For The Gp6500
This cover is a perfect fit for my Generac GP6500. It easily fits the genset and hangs down to the ground for maximum protection. I wish it had grommets along the bottom edge so I could secure it with bungees to prevent the wind from blowing it off when stored outside.
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric
Carmel, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/3/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product
I bought this generator during the Hurricane Sandy Storm because my power was out for 11 days. I wasn't fortunate enough to have it during the outage, but now that I do it's peace of mind. I paid extra for expedited shipping and lift gate service. The shipping took an extra 8 days instead of 3. The box was all banged up but the generator wasn't damaged. ( make sure you check it before the delivery driver leaves and if there is damage you write it down on the slip)

The generator started... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/11/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Lightweight & Not Worth The Price
Despite negative reviews, I ordered the large generator cover. EGD, if you cannot offer a better product than this, don't sell any cover at all. The quality does not match that shown in the picture. Most disappointing.
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Steve,
We used the picture provided by the folks at Classic Accessories.The Classic Accessories cover is one of the few available, and comes with a 1 year Factory Warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Danny W.
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/3/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Generator Cover
I received the cover in an amazingly short time. I was using a very large garbage bag to cover the generator until now. I got to thinking...boy that's pretty tacky after what I've spent on the generator, so I checked EGD and bought the size cover that was recommended and I'm glad I did.

The cover fits perfectly and the holes for the handles with the velcro make it very easy to take off and put on. I don't store the generator in a dirty place, as a matter of fact, I keep it inside a... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger E.
Spanish Fork, UT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/11/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No Problem
Sorry for the delay in writing...

From the moment I ordered the generator every thing went just as you said, the driver called when he was about 10 minutes out from my home. He was a very pleasant guy who unloaded the generator pushed it onto my drive, and helped me take off the wrapping so we could check for damage.

I found no damage so the driver left still smiling. I fitted the wheels and feet, put in the oil that was supplied added the gas. I checked that I hadn't missed anything and... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Randy
Hampton Falls, NH
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Preparing For The Future
During an unexpected early snow storm in New England October 2011, I lost power to my home. I decided to procure a portable generator to avoid the consequences and discomfort that the loss of power caused. I found Electric Generators Direct to have knowledgeable sales personnel who helped me with my questions. I tested my generator and found that it worked per design. The original cover went to a friend who lent me his generator while my power was out. I liked the look well enough to order... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Clayton
Palmyra, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/18/11
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Well
We lost our power 5 times in a matter of 2 weeks. I decided it was time to get a portable generator. I ordered a Generac model 5943 7500E. The experience was great with Electric Generators Direct. I received the generator two days later. The delivery experience was great with R and L carriers.

I just had a total knee replacement two weeks earlier so I couldn't do much. The delivery driver put the generator in my garage for me. I had to get out there and put the wheels and handle on... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Susan
Ligonier, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/13/10
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Made Grandpop Smile!
I bought this generator for my 86 yr old dad. He always envied the "dinosaur "Y2K generator we bought 12 years ago. NOT AN ELECTRIC START!

My son found this site on-line and EVERYTHING WENT SMOOTH.It was not only a professional buying experience, quick, FREE DELIVERY, but the accessories suggested take all of the guessing out of sizing(cover) and hook-up.

After consulting our electrician,he said the Reliance transfer case was a good deal,the cover fit perfectly. The electric... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Linda
Grand View, ID
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/8/10
REVIEWED
NOV.
29
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Is Quiet!
There is no better place to purchase a generator. The web site is easy to navigate, the reviews and recommendations are trustworthy, and the shipping is timely.

We bought this as a replacement for our 14-year old Homelite generator with Briggs & Stratton engine. We loved our old generator using it with our RV on trips and really used it the last four years working at our property which has no electricity. This new one, the 30471, went together easily and started the first time we... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian Knox
Lewisberry, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/13/10
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Purchase
Bought this generator to backup power at my house. The utility power tends to go out a couple of times a year.

This generator can handle all the power needs I have, including two 1500 watt heaters. So far, this is a great purchase.
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael Cappelli
Rye Brook, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/28/10
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ran Flawlessly
Purchased it 4 weeks ago. Easy setup. Started right out of the box. 2 weeks later lost power in our house for 3 hours. Ran the generator for 2.5 hours and it ran flawlessly.

Check back with me in 2 years to see how it is going. So far I definitely recommend and love this product.
Was this review helpful?
00
Gaynor C.
Flintstone, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/8/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy
l am very pleased with my generator in fact it is running as l write. lt's been running going on the 2nd day and last year it ran for 6 days and nights. Starts usually the first pull. No more than 2 pulls. Again l'm VERY pleased with it. Thanks for your concern.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Gaynor Recommends This Classic Accessories Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Robert B.
Barnstable, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/25/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
30
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Nothing But A Dust Cover
I was looking for a cover to keep over the generator if I needed to put it outside prior to a potential heavy snow storm. This isn't it. Nothing more than a dust cover for storing it inside, disappointed!
Robert Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
14
Thomas S.
Bliss, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/9/15
Total Reviews
13 Reviews
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Cover Will Not Stay On
This cover will not stay on the generator when it is windy outside. Wind blows the cover all the way off the generator alowed it to get wet. It needs a draw string on the bottom so it can be tied down,poor quelety. Cheep price. not worth the price. I also had to chase the cover around the yard, I allmost lost it.$44.00 for JUNK thats what it is. Materal is verry thin, it will not last verry long.
Thomas Does Not Recommend This Product
Mike, the Generator Expert
Product Expert
Thomas,
If the cover is the correct size for your generator, it should be a snug fit. You may be using a cover that is too larger for your generator.
more
Was this review helpful?
14
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Classic Accessories 79537 covers (egd) reviews.Compare our Classic Accessories 79537 ratings. Find the Classic Accessories 79537 covers (egd) that is right for you.