Search
< Back to Product

Champion 100165 Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$949.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$849.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$923.49
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Champion 100165 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Price (3)
Easy To Use (3)
Easy To Store (2)
Features (1)
Reliable (1)
Cons
Noisy As Hell Needs A Mu... (1)
Nois (1)
Louder Than A Honda (1)
92% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
13 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Electric Generator Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
103 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
8905 Helpful Votes
Electric Generators Direct Recommended

If you want your cake and to eat it too, this model is for you. This dual fuel portable generator from Champion allows you to run on gas or LP fuel. And the best part, they make it really easy for you to toggle between fuel types with fuel selector switch. Watch the video to see!

This model also comes with electric start making it really easy for just about anyone to start up and run during a power outage. 7500 Watts will give you enough to power to cover off a good chunk of your home if... more
Jared Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
27438
Richard B.
Colton, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/9/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like The Dual Fuel
The generator arrived in good shape and was easy to assemble. I picked this generator because I wanted a dual fuel and the electric start and was pleased to see it also comes with an Intelligauge Display. The generator looks well made and started on the first attempt. My first impression is that this is a very good generator and I would recommend it.
Richard Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
182
William C.
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/1/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
It Kinda Was Delivered On Time
Unit was weary easy to assemble. It started up easily with LP gas all was fine. It doesn't produce power. I have a tech coming out in a week to look at it. You pay your money you take your chances.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
William,
If the generator is not producing power, have you tried resetting the GFCI outlets? This generator is designed to shut itself off after 8 seconds if it does not detect voltage production. So if the machine is still running, it is making voltage. Perhaps you should give us a call at 877-338-0999 Monday through Friday, 8:30AM to 5PM PST so that we may assist you further. I believe we can resolve this rather easily.

Thank you,
Champion Power Equipment
more
Was this review helpful?
40
George G.
Beverly Hills, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/20/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Champion 100165 Dual Fuel
Good instructions and simple assembly. Hooked to lp tank and it started guickly and run fine. Have not tried with gas yet. So far I'm well pleased, but time will tell.
George Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
92
Daniel B.
North Little Roke, AR
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/22/16
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Seamlessly, Fast Delivery, Excellent Staff
After the nightmare I had with trying to get a big chain store Generac generator, waiting for weeks and then have it show up with a fork lift hole in the bottom and being told I would have to do a new purchase and wait for a refund tying up $4800 on my credit car without a generator, the response from this company was refreshing.

The next week after the order, we transferred the Champion generator from the 18 wheeler to my ATV trailer since it would have been impossible for him to... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store, It Is Dual Fuel Which Means I Don't Have To Use Gasoline
Cons: Louder Than A Honda
Daniel Recommends This Champion Product
Daniel's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The sales person answered all my questions and was then able to take the order over the phone which was delivered early the next week."
 more
Was this review helpful?
71
Steven M.
Vancouver, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/2/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Generator & Well Built
Came in great condition. The delivery driver was great and brought it right to the garage. Assembly was easy and straight forward. Hooked it up to a propane tank and started it took a couple of pushes of the start button to fire up, but ran great. Ran some power equipment to give it a test drive, so to speak, and it performed. Good generator and I feel will perform well when an emergency situation arises. It's heavy but what I expected after reading the specs. A bit early to give it a... more
Steven Recommends This Champion Product
Steven's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Will definitely buy from you folks again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Robert Z.
Middletown, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/17/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellant Machine
Very fast shipping 3 days from Il. to NY..The generator was in perfect shape on arrival..Had a couple of buddies help me unpack the machine and put the wheels and stand on..I poured in the oil attached the battery to the leads, and put in some gas..It started right up and ran smoothly..I tested all the circuits including the one which goes into my transfer switch..Everything went well.Today I attached a propane tank which started and ran just as smoothly..
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Robert Recommends This Champion Product
Robert's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Put in my order Sunday night the machine was in my garage Wednesday afternoon..Neither nor my friends could believe how fast it shipped."
 more
Was this review helpful?
61
Wilbert S.
Aptos, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/5/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Champion 100165-7500
Very pleased with purchase. Easily assembled if you follow directions. Started with first attempt using gas rather then propane. A bit noisy but that seems to be the only problem.
Wilbert Recommends This Champion Product
Wilbert's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Delivery was efficient, driver was efficient and brought the generator to side of house with no problem."
 more
Was this review helpful?
1814
Harvey A.
Newbury Park, CA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/24/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good With A Couple Of Negatives
I had an electrician install an outdoor 10 circuit transfer box...turned off power to house, and was amazed the entire house (whatever was turned on) worked great....However did have a problem (propane)...put a gauge on the tank which seemed to impair starting it...took the gauge off, and just attached the propane tank directly to the generator, and it started.....However it is louder then any lawnmower that i know off....is there some sort of muffler that can be attached??
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Features, Easy To Store
Cons: Nois, Noisy As Hell Needs A Muffler No Lawn Mower
Harvey Recommends This Champion Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Harvey,
Any kind of modification done to the generator will void the warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Alan E.
Vero Beach, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/8/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy
Well, it did everything it was advertised to do. It is tucked away until needed during a prolonged power outage.

The power output when using propane is considerably less than when using gasoline. That was not emphasized in the literature. Something to consider when buying a duel fuel unit.
Alan Recommends This Champion Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Alan,
While there is a difference in the power output when using propane vs gas, it would not be considerably less.

Gas: 7500W Running & 9375W Starting

Propane: 6750W Running & 8400W Starting
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Home Back Up Generator
Haven't had to put it in extended use yet, but the dual fuel generator fired up promptly using propane on the first try. So far I'm very pleased with it seems pretty well put together. The unit was delivered on time and the driver was helpful in getting it to the garage. Assembly wasn't too difficult - so far so good. I should be ready for the next power outage...
Richard Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
32
Ron
Silver Springs, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/12/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Generator
I have owned a 1500 Watt Champion for the past 3 years to run my DJ trailer. It has given no problems whatsoever. When it came to buy a bigger generator to run my whole house, it was a no brainer to buy a Champion.

Arrived right to my door with no damage. Put in gas and oil and it fired right up.

Runs my Well Pump and all other appliances needed without a whimper.

I say....Champion is the way to go when it comes to generators.
Ron Recommends This Champion Product
Ron's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Can't go wrong with Electric Generators Direct."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
North Palm Beach, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/22/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Delivered In Great Shape As Promised
Delivery was perfect. Delivery driver placed generator in my garage. Assembly was straight forward. Needed a "shorty" screw driver to install battery connections. LPG connection was easy. Generator would not start until I remembered to open the LPG valve. Once started it ran smoothly. I connected various devices to load generator on first run. All worked flawlessly. At this time i am awaiting permitting to install the "transfer switch" to power desired circuits in... more
David Recommends This Champion Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Champion 100165 portable generator reviews.Compare our Champion 100165 ratings. Find the Champion 100165 portable generator that is right for you.