Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Briggs & Stratton 30207 Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Freight$1,999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$1,999.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$2,439.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,299.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$2,199.99
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Briggs & Stratton 30207 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5
Pros
Price (3)
Reliable (3)
Easy To Use (3)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
50 Amp Plug Nema 14-50 (1)
Cons
No Voltage Meter (1)
No Hour Meter (1)
A Built In Hour-meter Wo... (1)
89% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
46 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Brendan O.
Sandown, NH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/27/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Generator
I've had several portables of different quality levels, this is one of the nicer units I've owned. Quiet and balanced compared to my similar Generac, which you'd expect from a nice B&S twin. My only real complaint was small, the oil drain is in a terrible place. Easily fixed for $25 with a drain extension fitting, which makes it all the more puzzling that a $2k generator ships without it and will drain directly on to the frame unless you add one.
Brendan Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Ralf S.
Fairfax, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/19/12
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful, Smart Generator
I live in an exclusively electrically powered house (2 heat pumps- 2.5 tons and 5 tons, water heater, cook top, oven) in Northern Virgina. This summer we got stranded without power for a week after the June 2012 Derecho storm. I had an 8-year-old smaller B&S (5.25kW) generator in the garage (bought after hurricane Isabelle for a different size house) that made the situation somewhat bearable. We had a fridge, some lights, a fan and TV (yes, cable lines were up even though power lines... more
Was this review helpful?
151
Bill H.
Morrisville, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/12/12
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
33 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Power During The Recent Superstorm Sandy
After going thru the storm with no power for 3 days, we said "that's not going to happen again". So, I looked for a generator and a manual switch, found both online and ordered them. Naturally they were both back ordered after the storm.

After receiving both my electrician wired it all together for me. All works great, the switch is very easy to use. However, I would have ordered the next size bigger with at least 10 circuits had I figured out the extra power of my generator and... more
Was this review helpful?
130
Theresa Spinali
Bailey, CO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/16/10
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Rocky Mountain High
I live at 9,000 feet in Colorado, and several times, mostly in the early spring, we have our heaviest snows and I have been without electricity for several days.

Not a pleasant experience when you do not have an alternative heat source other than a furnace. So I decided enough of that.

The generator was delivered to the trucking company within a few days of the order. The trucker was kind enough to make arrangements to deliver to a place other than my home, since the roads are not... more
Was this review helpful?
120
B K E
Alexander, AR
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/9/13
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Some Tips
This is the second model like this that I have purchased from Electric Generators Direct the first was a gift to my son 2 years ago and he loves it. I ordered the second unit and received it in about a week. Arkansas Best Freight was the carrier and they weren't kind to it, there were forklift holes in two sides of the carton. The card board box looked as if it had been dropped from a bomber! After close inspection of the unit overall everything made it in pretty good shape.

Two things you... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
B Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
B,
Thanks for the feedback about the freight company. We will forward that information on to out logistics department.
more
B Would Recommend Electric Generators Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Overall satisfied."
 more
Was this review helpful?
110
Bill H.
Morrisville, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/12/12
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
33 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally Hooked Up
After Hurricane Sandy, we decided not to be caught off guard again. I looked online and found the Briggs 30207, 10,000 watt generator to be a good deal for the money compared to the others. And yes- there are many.

I ordered it and a few weeks later it arrived. The wheel kit and foot rests had to be put on the frame. The wheel kit was a breeze as were the foot rests. The oil level was almost full , so after topping it off and adding a little gas it started right up, no problem.

I went... more
Was this review helpful?
100
Jeff
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/16/12
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
First of all I would like to thank EGD for their customer service. I had the generator in 3 days .... had minor issues after assembly and was taken care of right away. Thanks Chris.

After wiring the house with 6/3 with a ground .... I started up the generator and ran the house for 6 hours just to make sure the generator ... and my wiring was fine. Wanted to find out now ... rather than later ... that I might have had an issue and everything was flawless.

Generator ran great and was... more
Was this review helpful?
111
Mark
High Bridge, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 10/21/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product
Just purchased this generator and had a transfer switch installed at my house. Generator set up easy. The only thing is the instructions tell you to add all of the oil that is shipped with the generator when the generator is actually shipped full of oil. So adding oil is not needed. Other than that it started up the first try using the electric start so the battery was charged and ready to go. When I tested it was able to run everything I needed at my house.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable
Mark Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Brian
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Brian - North Jersey
Purchased the Briggs & Stratton 30207 following superstorm Sandy and have two comments to make. The unit comes with 30 weight oil which in my experience is fine for warm weather operation but not the best for sub freezing winter temperatures.

I believe a multi-grade would be preferable. The second comment concerns maintenance for oil changes. As delivered, the unit does not allow for a neat oil removal process. The crankcase has a plug which when removed allows the oil to drain onto the... more
Was this review helpful?
70
Thomas W.
Decatur, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/17/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Down Time
bought in February and used very briefly for a couple of days. Then would not put out any power. Been in shop now for over a month. Parts on back order.
Thomas Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Darren A.
Georgetown, IL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/24/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Product
Have owned this generator now for over three years. We own a concession company and go all over the country with this unit. We have used this unit non stop and have more and likely put over a thousand hours on it.

It has worked excellent in rain, snow, sleet or shine and temps close to one hundred degrees. If I had any complaint it would be that it is somewhat loud but most things such as this are with the price I paid for it. All in all I would give this product a very good rating.
Darren Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Bones
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Check The Oil Level
I haven't had to rely on the unit yet, but it ran smoothly on the first pull. Important thing to remember though, as another reviewer said a few months ago: Manual says to add both supplied bottles of oil (26oz. and 18oz.) to the engine which is supposed to be shipped without any oil. Well I could not even add the whole 26oz. bottle and the dipstick read full.

The engine is supposed to have a 48oz capacity. So I figured I'd run it a few minutes and it would occupy the filter, nooks and... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Robert
Acme, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/27/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Waiting For Next Outage
Jim was very helpful to me in making this selection. Unit arrived quickly but I had to meet driver a mile away from my home (no way a semi was going to make it to my driveway). Hauled unit home with ATV and trailer. Wheel kit and legs easily installed. Unit already had most of the oil in it so only had to add small amount. Engine started right up.

Two initial problems with unit that prevent me from giving a 5-star rating:

1) There were no nuts installed on the alternator shock... more
Was this review helpful?
51
Ronald C.
Temple Hills, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/9/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Customer
Assembly was easy and fast and I didn't have to wait long for a power outage.

When it came, my generator surpassed my expectations and powered my stove, oven, 2 fridges and lights- all at once. I was the envy of the neighborhood.

I am a happy customer.
Was this review helpful?
30
Randy A. Kohl
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2003
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Briggs & Stratton 30207 - 10,000 Watt Electric Start Portable Generator Review
We received our unit and couldn't be happier. It has double the power of our old Homelite, but run alot quieter.

It has been a pleasure to do business with you. Will be back when transfer switches are back in stock.

Thank You.
Was this review helpful?
30
Dan
Florien, LA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/17/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Happy Happy
Have had generator about 3 years now and every time I needed it to run it started easy each time even when used the pull rope. I start it every month for 1/2 hour and put load on it. I only use non-alcohol gas and 1 oz of Stabil for every 5 gal of gas. This generator powers my whole trailer with 2 window units.

It is big enough to not be loaded at max which means longer run time on fuel and not heat up The electrical components. To change oil I have it cool and just use a 1 gallon zip lock... more
Dan Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Dan's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to deal with! Like the free shipping, the order process was easy, shipping quick on every item I have ordered. Good Job."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Thomas G.
Colrain, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/11/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator Works As It Should
I arranged to pick up the generator from the freight terminal, as semis can't maneuver on my narrow road in the winter.

After checking the engine oil, I hooked up the battery and it started right up. This is a very dependable engine, which I'm quite familiar with as it's the same one on a greensmower that I operated for almost 18 years.

I did a test, running my house circuits, and all it well.

Regarding the machine not leveling properly: 1/2 inch is not going to impact the oil... more
Pros: Reliable, Price, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: A Built In Hour-meter Would Have Been Nice
Thomas Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Edgar
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/29/09
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Waited 4 Years For Isaac
I purchased this generator about 4 years ago for emergency use. I finally had to use it this week for Hurricane Isaac and it did the job flawlessly.

While others were without power, I was able to power the entire house, even the 2 - two ton ac's.
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael
Kingman, AZ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/14/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
19
2011
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not A Good Story
Have owned this generator for 3 months and all but 5 days it has been in the shop. Unit was delivered by an angry driver because he couldn't find our place. The unit had minor cosmetic damage. Engine starts easy and runs well, but the voltage regulator only seems to last about 1.5 hours @ 9 amps load of 240 vac.

Briggs customer service is practically non-existant. Instead of replacing the whole machine or at least the generator end, they keep changing pieces, ie: stator, carrier bearing and... more
Was this review helpful?
42
Don
Grayling, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/1/10
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Some What Satisfied
I'm happy with the generator over all but some issues with quality control. One 120 outlet does not work. One motor mount rubber is split three quarter of the way down. The axle was short for the space of tabs that axle goes through. I had to bend them inward with a hammer to make axle work. I have to return generator for warranty work.

I have to say performance of generator is excellent. I still think I made right choice in generators for the money.
Was this review helpful?
20
Paul G.
Pound, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/2/10
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2010
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Disappointed
Initially I was very pleased with the 30207 Briggs and Stratton generator. Assembled and test ran unit. Operated just fine. 2 days later I started generator and attempted to use it. Engine started and ran at idle speed but would not increase speed when load was applied. . I contacted my local Briggs and Stratton dealer and was told that they do not work on electric part of units. The next closest service center is 60 miles away and I do not feel that a person should have to load and haul a... more
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
B & S, like most manufactures will not cover transportation costs for warranty service on portable generators. Many dealers do offer pick/drop-off service for a fee if you are unable to bring in the generator yourself. You would have to contact a dealers directly to see if that service is available and the cost.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Daniel L.
Swansea, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/13/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looking For A Portable Whole Home Generator
I have been looking to upgrade my generator setup for some time. I had looked for a while before ordering B&S Elite from another vendor. It came damaged and it was a nightmare to return. I ended up buying it here at EGD and love it.

The price was not only better, but the service was 100% better. Just a word to the wise, don't fill the oil all the way like the instructions say. While the manual states total volume is 48oz, the start up is only about 32oz.

More than that and it... more
Daniel Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Daniel,
We are glad to hear your upgrade has worked out well and if any issues arise, please do not hesitate to reach out to us: http://bit.ly/15oObYS
more
Was this review helpful?
10
William M.
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/11/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What The Doctor Ordered! Superb!
My previous generator for 17 years was a Coleman 5000W (6250W Surge) w/10HP engine. Although it still runs great, it just didn't have enough oomph. This one powers my entire house with watts to spare! Two features I insisted on having, in addition to 10KW capacity, were a (1) 50 amp plug NEMA 14-50 and (2) Manual Rope Start. Murphy's Law says that when you most need the generator, the battery will be dead. The only assembly required is to mount the wheels & two support legs.

The... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Manual Rope Starter, 50 Amp Plug Nema 14-50
Cons: No Hour Meter, No Voltage Meter
William Recommends This Briggs & Stratton Product
William's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great web site! Great shipping service! Generator arrived within a week of ordering in perfect condition!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/16/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Happy I Bought This One From This Vender
I bought this in September 2012
We went through hurricane Sandy and performed great.
I didn't have my 50 amp circuit installed yet so I used the 20 amp and back fed a 20 amp circuit with the main off line. Ran fridge, freezer, oil burner, and several lights. We had heat, warm food, hot water, and some lights.

I'm installing the 50 amp circuit , a propane conversion kit and a 3/4" propane feed from my 500 gallon propane tank.
We will be better prepared for the next one. It should be... more
Was this review helpful?
10
John L.
Spring Lake Heights, NJ
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/19/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Check The Oil Level!
I put this together following the directions which say to use both bottles of oil supplied. I added Stabil to my gas and fired her up. It took a few minutes to run without smoke pouring out. I ran it for 15 minutes, waited until it cooled down and checked oil level. It was way over the crosshatched marking so I emptied about 16 ounces via drain plug.

The moral is this had some oil in it and didn't need both bottles shipped with unit. I hardwired a PB50 inlet box to a 50 amp sub-panel in my... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Victor G.
Putnam Valley, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/3/10
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Would Buy Again
It starts right up on the first try, every time, runs strong, and has plenty of power for the whole house. After 2 years and a few power outages ranging from 2 hours to 5 days, I wish it had a bigger gas tank and a bigger muffler.

You've got to like that it's well made, in the USA (well, mostly).
Was this review helpful?
10
Chad
Mohrsville, PA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/2/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Generator Review
So far, so good. I haven't had to use the generator for a loss of power yet. Just received the generator about a week ago. Arrived in good condition for the most part. One of the tires needed air and seems to be holding fine. Took about an hour to set up which isn't bad. Started right up both electric and pull coil. Please check your oil upon receiving before starting. There was a little bit of oil in the generator, but needed about a quart which was provided with the shipment.
Was this review helpful?
10
Gene
Shelton, CT
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ordered On Friday, Received On Wed Next Week
My $3500 Honda water cooled generator crapped out. Hardly used it. It was an ES6500, 13 years old. Decided to get a new generator and researched all types. Settled on the gas 30207 at 10KW. Got it on Wed and installed the wheels and supports. Fired it up with no problem and put a load on it. It worked fine.

The instructions said to add the 2 bottles of oil that came with it, but the generator already had oil in it. I checked the dip stick first. There was no need to add oil. ... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ken
Westchester, NY
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Amazing Product
Fired up generator for the first time when Irene knocked out the power. Generator was running for 3 days non stop with no problems. Was able to run 2 refrigerators, TV/cable, an AC unit and lights for half the house. Great product!
Was this review helpful?
10
Ken
Tyler, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/18/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
An Excellent Upgrade!
We have had a 5Kw portable for many years. It has reliably powered corded tools, work lights and most recently a pump on a deep well. Startup on that 1Hp pump was about the limit of its capacity. So when we began talking seriously about purchasing a new generator with greater capacity, the research project began. After much study and discussion we settled on the 10Kw Briggs model 30207 to use as our home emergency power and when needed, to give the old 5Kw a break.

Here at EGD the selection... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles
Gate City, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/17/10
REVIEWED
FEB.
12
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wonderful Combination
I got this generator to augment a 5,000 watt generator. The model 30207 generator is very well built, much better than I expected it to be.

The electric start is a great addition. I wired it to the Q510A transfer switch by way of the PB50 power inlet box. This combination is wonderful and with some wiring knowledge does not really require an expert electrician to preform.
Was this review helpful?
10
Bill
Yelm, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/12/11
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Delivered As Advertised
As I searched for a generator, I came found your site. Compared to other sites that advertised discounts there was no comparison, this site beat them all!

The generator was delivered to my house when promised, in great condition and started the very first time I tried it. I would recommend your site to anyone who is interested in buying and learning about generators!
Was this review helpful?
10
Charles Bullock
Gate City, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 12/17/10
REVIEWED
JAN.
07
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Set Up
I recently bought an additional gen-set. Service was fantastic and the generator is very well made, already had a PowerMate 5,000 watt and this new generator is build even better.

Easy to set up and use, wired it to a transfer switch and it is a dream combo. Again great service.
Was this review helpful?
10
Ray
Renton, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/24/10
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Briggs & Stratton 30207
I received my generator on time,and with all it's advertised accessories. This was also in spite of a cold spell here in the Northwest which was greatly hampering all deliveries by road. I ordered it delivered with a lift gate truck, and R&L Carriers unloaded it right at my garage door.

The generator was in perfect condition upon arrival, and after some minor assembly work, ( installing the wheels and adding the supplied oil), it started immediately, and ran very well for 15 minutes, at... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Eddy
Smithfield, NC
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looking Forward To Putting It Through Its Paces
My generator was received exactly as promised with no hitches. The truck driver was very friendly and accommodating. The assembly was easy, and once I added the oil and gasoline, the electric starter fired it up in seconds.

I have only tried it on a very small space heater to verify it was putting out electricity, but I am looking forward to putting it through its paces and I fully expect it to perform without any problems.

The second time I cranked it, it ran for a few seconds then... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Doug Mcafee
Glendale, WV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/19/10
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Shape
Good price. Generator arrived quickly, in good shape.The delivery person was nice and helpful.

Haven't had the chance to use it fully. Our power has not gone out since we got it.

I'm sure it will work great.
Was this review helpful?
10
Td Jenkins
Hopewell JCT, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/28/10
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Customer Service Was Friendly
This is actually my second generator from Electric Generators Direct.com.

The first generator was delivered damaged with a couple of the circuit switches broken off and a dent around the electrical board. This probably happened in shipping.

They picked up the broken one and replaced it with a new one and it is doing the job I purchased it for.

The customer service was friendly.
Was this review helpful?
10
Paul Gilley
Pound, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/2/10
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2010
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
I Will Be Prepared
On December 18, 2009 a major snow storm hit this region. It was very wet, heavy snow after an unusually wet Fall.

Power and utility companies were not prepared for the devastation this snow caused. Power poles were broken by falling trees, roads blocked and made impassable by trees and snow.

We were without power, public service water, phone or any other utilities for 12 days. I had a 6000 watt generator that barely operated a few appliances if used separately. I had a deep well that... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Douglas
Le Roy, WV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/5/10
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Competitors Are Not Even Close
Let the BOSS know, my hat is off to your business! First Class Act!

I placed my order two days ago mid-day and received my generator set mid- day today.

I have been trying to order this set since our power was out for seven days, just before the holidays.

Your competitors are not even close to your level of service.

Thank You Very Much!
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas Mitchell
Ringgold, LA
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Working Great For 3 Years And Counting
I bought this generator after Hurricane Rita blew through and it came to my door in two days.

The wiring diagram was very easy to follow. It runs great.

I've only had one problem: the gasket on the oil sending unit on the motor was not properly installed at the factory. The first time I ran it for about 1 hour and it shut down, just like it was supposed to do! I traced the source and replaced the gasket, filled up the oil again, hit the starter and it started right up.

It has never... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Sean V
De Berry, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 9/2/08
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2008
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tx. La. State Line
Generator was received at a local freight distributor, for pickup, in only three days after online purchase.

Easy to follow setup instructions. Minimal assembly right out of box. Easy to roll after assembly. Battery had a good charge.

Added gas and oil, and the engine fired right up. Connected to home via 50 amp sub-panel after the wind from Ike knocked my power out a couple of weekends ago.

Seemed to work lights and refrigerator just fine. As soon as I got it up and running,... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Don Niles
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2006
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Briggs & Stratton 30207 - 10,000 Watt Electric Start Portable Generator Review
This is an excellent generator. It is solidly built and assembled. When I received the unit, it came with an extra oil filter, extra spark plug, and extra air filter. All I had to do was add oil (supplied) and gas (not supplied) and it was ready to go. One press of the starter switch and it fired right up. I ran my entire house and 5 out buildings for an hour and a half test run and it worked like a charm. The fold down arms make moving this hefty unit a snap. My 120 lb wife moved it... more
Was this review helpful?
10
William
REVIEWED
NOV.
27
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
I just got the generator about two weeks ago and have not have the opportunity to try it out in a storm. It was an easy set up and it started on the first crank.

I would suggest having a friend over when it arrives or have a dolly at the ready. It weighs 283 pounds and comes in a box with no handles.

I had an electrician set up another panel and outdoor plug. This avoids having to run extension cords.

I will eventually house it outside under some sort of structure that can be... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Mark
Cincinnati, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/1/11
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
10,000 Watt Generator Purchase
I had to take this into the repair shop the first week. It kept poping breakers under a load and runs with a constant "surge" which sends varying voltage to the equipment. Would not recommend. Stay with Honda.
Was this review helpful?
11
John Suozzo
New Rochelle, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/8/10
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Deal
I purchased this generator after a very bad storm in the New York Metropolitan area and have not used it yet but I will tell you that the delivery and customer service from Generators Direct is a class by itself.

And, after a prompt and FREE delivery (with a power lift on the tractor trailer) I inspected everything in package which included oil and several electrical connectors along with inflatable wheels and hardware and it was all A-OK!

I assembled the wheels on the generator, added... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Susan
Hopkinton, MA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 11/4/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Generator Upgrade
After two major outages in 2011 and Hurricane Sandy in 2012, our old 5KW generator just wasn't shouldering the load. Sure, it handled some household loads like the well pump and refrigerator, as long as we're careful about not turning on certain other loads.

We live in a wooded area set way back from the nearest road, so our outages tend to be longer than most- after the 2011 hurricane we were without power for 8 days, then the October 2011 snowstorm, another 4 1/2 days, and Hurricane... more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Briggs & Stratton 30207 portable generator reviews.Compare our Briggs & Stratton 30207 ratings. Find the Briggs & Stratton 30207 portable generator that is right for you.