Your Cart @ Electric Generators Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
Search
Priority Shipments @ Electric Generators Direct View All In-Stock Electric Generators View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Ariens 986055 Portable Generators Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Ariens 986055 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Price (5)
Quiet (3)
High Quality (3)
I'd Buy It Again (2)
Easy To Use (2)
Cons
No Fuel Gage (4)
None (1)
Unreliable (1)
96% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Joseph V.
York, PA
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Happy
Purchased this generator, mainly because it's Ariens, secondly because of the Honda engine. within 3 days it was delivered with free lift gate service. Arrived in damaged on a skid. Put together easily. Started first time with 2 pulls. Runs nicely, not too noisy. Very happy with purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: No Fuel Gage
Joseph Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Jason P.
Mentor, OH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/1/16
Total Helpful Votes
11 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2016
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Disappointed
Purchased because unit had Honda GX390 engine and figured would not have any issues. Also liked the electric start features,and power rating. Fired up unit with fresh fuel after receiving, unit surged under no load and load, had to play with choke to get unit to try to run smooth, but choke will not maintain. It appears unit may have a defect in the carb. Unit is also extremely loud, beyond anything else I own. I called PED to ask regarding these issues with customer service being of no... more
Cons: Unreliable
Jason Does Not Recommend This Product
Jared, the Portable Generator Expert
Product Expert
Jason,
Very sorry to hear about the issues you're experiencing with your generator. You were referred to Ariens because this unit is covered by a 3-year warranty. They would be able to provide you more detailed information regarding their product and where to locate one of their servicing dealers. Hopefully this is just a simple fix. Ariens can be reached directly @ 920-756-4688 or www.ariens.com
more
Was this review helpful?
116
Van E.
Moran, WY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/26/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator
Best Generator for the money, Honda GX engine is a big plus, starts every time. if you don't buy this its your lost.
Van Recommends This Ariens Product
Van's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"VERY HAPPY, WIFE IS VERY HAPPY..........."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Nancy B.
Mount Vision, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/16/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
Great generator, great price great company.
Nancy Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg B.
Street, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 1/22/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Ariens 7500w Gen/honda Gx
Great valued generator. I've used it twice with no initial problems. The electric start switch seems a little flimsy. The noise level is moderately loud, but acceptable. No problems with running my well and oil furnace at the same time.
Greg Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Elaine G.
Port Ludlow, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/6/16
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Decision
As a single lady at 61 y/o, who recently moved to an area with unpredictable power outages, I was nervous about purchasing and installing my own generator. Buying the Ariens was the best decision ever. And with relative ease was able to complete the installation. It tested perfectly, started at the first push of the button! Of course,now there probably wont be a power outage for a while. I would have given the performance rating a 5 but have not had a chance to run it for any length of time.
Elaine Recommends This Ariens Product
Elaine's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was hand-delivered to my door step"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Matthew W.
Byron Center, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/14/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Magic Generator
I bought this generator and is has solved all my problems. With it's mere presence it prevents my power from ever going out! I'm not sure how they do it. Next item on my shopping list is a snow plow! Thanks again Ariens!
Matthew Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
52
John O.
Epsom, NH
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/20/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Generator At First Glance
Quick shipment and easy assembly. Started 2nd pull and ran smooth. I think the handle locks could be approved on but so far meets my needs.
John Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Kevin L.
Longview, WA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 2/20/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ariens 7500 Watt Electric Start Portable Generator W/ Honda Gx
O.K. got this, and put to gather, oil gas an such.Fired right up, the only thing I don't know if the battery is getting charged when running? Will do a voltage check to see if this is true or not. Looks like a solid machine, only got 3/10 hour on it and of course put a light load it until I run it some more.

Noise is a lot more quite than the one I sold.I am happy, and is this the only thing that matters?
Kevin Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Dennis
Garner, NC
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/1/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent.
I bought the ariens 7500 because I knew the engineers behind it at TTI. I also purchased the 10 circuit outdoor switch from Reliance, the Pro/tran 2 , 30 amp, and the 25 foot 4 prong from Centry wire and cable . I installed it and tested it and it did everything I expected. I received everything in 4 days. I'm happy so far. The real test will come at some point, but I'm confident I made the right decision.
Pros: Price, High Quality, Quiet
Cons: No Fuel Gage
Dennis Recommends This Ariens Product
Dennis's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast delivery and what I expected."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark H
Ely, NV
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/16/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda
I bought it because it has a Honda motor, plain and simple.
Mark Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Joe B.
South New Berlin, NY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 3/30/16
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda's Are Great
I think this will be a good tool to have ready here on the homestead. Easy to assemble
Joe Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Monroe A.
Wimberley, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/9/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied!
I received the Ariens 7500W promptly. I assembled the unit that day. That took about 45 minutes. I haven't used it yet.
Monroe Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bill P.
Dade City, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/2/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
#1 Great American Company
I was pleased to receive my new generator, right off the truck the box was in perfect condition not a rip or a dent anywhere. Shipping only took a few days after ordering 4 days and 2 were Sat. & Sun. This was a great purchase price that no one could mach. The generator runs perfect, powers everything I wanted it to and then some. I know it will last because its powered by Honda and made by Ariens who also make Gravely mowers which I have one and love it.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None
Bill Recommends This Ariens Product
Bill's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Perfect from start to finish."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
James D.
Smiths Grove, KY
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/2/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
Been looking for a generator with a Honda motor.This product was everything I was looking for.t he staff are very professional and helpful. Shipment came in just a few days,assembly was easy, and start up went great.
James Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Andre B.
Longwood, FL
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/28/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Generator
We needed a mobile application that was able to handle to loads generated by our equipment. The Ariens 7500 has performed beautifully. She has started up quickly and never faltered. And a great value compared to others with similar features.
Andre Recommends This Ariens Product
Andre's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"EGD did exactly what they promised!! I would definitely recommend them and will be using them in the future for my equipment needs!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jason V.
Bloomington, MN
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/26/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Worth The Price!
Assembly took about 45 minutes. Added oil & gas, started on the first pull. The main reason I bought this generator was the Honda engine. Where else can you find a generator with a Honda engine at this price? It's louder than my previous generator, but also has 3X the power. I love it! No fuel gauge, but that's a minor issue that is greatly offset by the low price. Highly recommended!
Pros: Price, Features, High Quality, Honda Engine Reliability
Cons: No Fuel Gage
Jason Recommends This Ariens Product
Jason's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"You gotta love the free shipping & no sales tax!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ken
St Louis, MO
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 8/2/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tired Of Power Outages
The power company in St Louis is extremely unreliable and they are slooooow to restore it when it goes out. I"m not concerned any longer with the purchase of this generator. Right out of the box I could see the quality of this product. The Honda motor was what drew me to this purchase initially but the Ariens brand has been around in the lawnmower business for years. 25 minutes start to finish was all it took to put the wheels and handles on, connect the battery and fill it with oil. ... more
Ken Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William R.
Moddy, ME
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/19/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Profesional
It was very nice the way you folks handle your orders. Will use you again as needed. It is in field working since we got it.
William Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles G.
Denison, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 7/11/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like It
It's a beautiful unit, well packed, great instructions. I have not started it yet, but I have confidence it's ready to save the day when needed. The delivery driver even moved it to where I wanted it, and refused a $ 20.00 tip.
Charles Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Virginia V.
Mechanicsville, VA
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/30/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressive
So far so good....bought this mainly because of the Honda .... Started right up. Now all we need is a power outage ...lol
Virginia Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dennis H.
Burlington, KS
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/29/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied
I purchased the Ariens 7500 Watt Electric Start Portable Generator w/ Honda GX Engine because it is Ariens and they take great care of their customers and because it has a Honda Engine which are very reliable. I have only had it a short time but it came very quickly and was very easy to assemble. It started on the first crank. I am very pleased.
Dennis Recommends This Ariens Product
Dennis's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I have purchased from Electric Generators Direct before and they are very good to work with and very fair."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Larry Pedrick
Houston, TX
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 6/6/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good First Impressions
I ordered the genset on Monday June 6th and was installing the wheel kit on Monday the 13th. The box arrived undamaged via R&L Carriers the driver was courteous and helpful in getting the 200+lb load up to my garage with his hand forklift.

The assembly was straightforward with all parts in hand. The directions are very clear - though presented in two different manuals for some clever reason. Frame, legs and wheels all seem sturdy enough for my local use - flat location with genset moving... more
Larry Recommends This Ariens Product
Larry's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"See my comments in the genset review above."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Buddy W.
Wilder, ID
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Nice Generator
Haven't used it yet. Started it up a couple time. Runs nice and not too noisy.
Buddy Recommends This Ariens Product
Buddy's Experience With Electric Generators Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Arrived in great shape no damage."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
David S.
Severn, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good...
Delivered three weeks ago..assembled today..I had a little trouble putting in the oil..it requires a long neck funnel..other than that and a tight squeeze to tighten battery connections, it was fairly simple and directions and diagrams were good. started right up..Will test it under load conditions after connection to house is wired. doesn't have fuel gauge
David Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Raymond D.
Halethorpe, MD
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/6/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Generator
I purchased the generator in April 2016, only used it a few times, and ran very well, no problems. I would recommend it to anyone.
Raymond Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Carl M.
Stamford, VT
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/22/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Machine
Just received and assembled in about an hour. Put in gas and oil started up on first try, no worries. Would absolutely recommend this to anyone. Most importantly is the ease of assembly.
Pros: Price, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Cons: No Fuel Gage
Carl Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bryan S.
Cheboygan, MI
Purchased from Electric Generators Direct
Purchased 4/15/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Honda's Are Awesome
Got it off the truck... Filled with gas and oil... Started on first pull... And has continued to work flawlessly.... Has ten hours on it now.... Still starts first pull every time.... Havnt even used the electric start yet. Thanks again P.E.D.
Bryan Recommends This Ariens Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Ariens 986055 portable generator reviews.Compare our Ariens 986055 ratings. Find the Ariens 986055 portable generator that is right for you.